Ratings based on 1,276 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale

Excellent Everything!

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING! Dining, shopping, movies a few steps away, UVA and historic downtown less than a 10 minute drive.
Location: There is an upscale shopping center just steps from the hotel which offers a variety of dining experiences from tap room to upscale Italian.
The front desk staff could not be any more polite or accommodating. They made you feel as though you were their personal guests at a boutique hotel. The lobby and dining area are decorated and laid out like a cozy living room, with plenty of space for groups of friends to gather, as well as smaller spaces to catch up with a friend. The breakfast was tasty, plentiful, and varied, and the serving and kitchen staff are as warm and friendly as the front desk. My room, a king, was large and well decorated with a separate seating area - think chic efficiency apartment, fridge, coffee maker and TV that swiveled from bedroom to living room - plus a nice Siamese desk with good task lighting. As a bonus, there is great dining, shopping and a movie theater just steps away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Not great

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Ignored at check in. Lady saw me and then turned around and walked off to let someone else check me in, making me wait several minutes to be acknowledged. Restaurant only had two items for room service, out of about 15.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice clean room and great location

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: The location was great for a girls weekend. We could walk to shopping and restaurants.
Cons: I wish they had a bar because they really had a nice seating area in the lobby. There was a small area to get drinks, but not an actual bar.
Location: Historic downtown Charlottesville, Monticello and wineries were all a very short drive away.
This hotel looks relatively new. The beds were comfortable and very clean. The location was ideal for shopping or visiting UVA or Monticello.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Clean and modern hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Wonderful stay! A shopping center is just feet away with shops, restaurants and a movie theater. Area nicely set up for a morning run/Walk. Hotel was clean and modern. The free breakfast included bacon, eggs, oatmeal, yogurt and more!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jackson, MS

Had a very nice stay at this hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Convenient location to visit UVA and Charlottesville, and away from main road traffic, modern facility, and nice room and bed and comfort.
Cons: None.
Location: Perfect location and convenient to visit UVA and Charlottesville areas.
We had stayed at this hotel twice while we visited our son at UVA in Charlottesville this year. During the 1st stay, we had some problems with noise in the room, and the staff happily moved us to a nicer room. We had no problems during our 2nd stay. Overall it is a very nice experience to stay at this hotel, which is newer and modern and close to shopping and UVA.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Close to UVA AND RESTAURANTS.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Location and comp breakfast. Nice hotel.
Cons: Mentioned above.
Location: Restaurants, stores within walking distance. Close to UVA.
Great stay. Only negative comments. Room 321 had mold on shower curtain and on tile. Will go back. Great location for football and basketball games. Gentleman who checked us in was outstanding. Greeted us every time we came in front door. Only comment was there were two people behind desk talking about other prospective jobs while this very nice man was trying to check us in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicel hotel near stores and UVA

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Good location
Good location- easy to get to UVA and restaurants and stores in walking distance. Everything you need in a hotel for a great weekend in Charlottesville.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jersey shore

Nice hotel near campus

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: location, renovation, spacious rooms, access to shopping and dining, overall value, full breakfast and pleasant staff
Cons: perhaps more variety with breakfast
Location: easy access to college, many shopping options, fine dining, and many other attractions
we had a nice 3-day stay visiting our daughter at UVA and enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt. It was a comfortable stay in a spacious room which was nicely appointed and well renovated. The breakfast was quite solid and staff was very helpful and relaxed. We would definitely recommend this hotel for its convenience and quality as well as proximity to shopping, restaurants and even vineyards. Parking was easy and we were back from the highway, which offered quiet and less traffic. This was a solid value and we will probably stick with Hyatt for future visits.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Ideal hotel if passing through Charlottesville

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Really good night's stay, friendly staff, nice room, everything good except very poor shower pressure. Nearby food option Burger Bach was excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

well located, friendly

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Hyatt Place in Charlottesville Va was just what we needed for the weekend of my mother's memorial. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was terrific. I like a healthy breakfast and there it was in a sparkling clean, sunny room. The location of the hotel worked VERY well for us. The hotel is an easy distance from the airport, set back from two major roads for us, plenty of parking, next to an adorable shopping street. There was a farmer's market on Saturday! We ate at two of the restaurants that were in easy walking distance and the food was great. And delicious donuts right there. (Not so healthy, but really fun.) Our two kids came in from the west coast and could sleep late, because the building was so quiet. I guess what I appreciated the most was the quiet, really peaceful, atmosphere created by the hotel. Thank you Hyatt Place staff.