Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Lafayette Inn

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: I loved the fact that it's an old building with lots of history.
Location: We love to treasure hunt in antique and consignment shops and there are quite a few of those on Route 29 close to the Inn.
The room was comfortable and very spacious. Breakfast was included which was good as well. Staff were very friendly. The only concern I had was the guests who were staying directly above us were extremely loud and obnoxious. They kept the TV on until around 1:00 AM and it was loud. They got up around 6:30 and proceeded to be very loud again. We should have called the front desk but didn't.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Grand Junction, CO

Historic feel

Posted Jun 13, 2015 on Hotels
My wife, two daughters and I enjoyed the Tyler suite on a stopover between a visit to Monticello and the Shenandoah National Park. Felt historic; not like a generic hotel room. My daughters enjoyed the grits with their breakfast at the Lafayette Inn.
5 out of 5
by Rita from Parkton

Sweet stay at the foot of Mountains

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
Relaxing two night at this historic inn beats a stay at a generic hotel any day. The food at breakfast (included with the price of the room) was amazing. The staff was pleasant, informative and were just fun to talk to. The room was lovely, roomy and comfy. The location was delightful (minutes from Sky Line Drive or a short trip to Charlottesville.)
3 out of 5
by Scott from Leesburg

Nice and quaint

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
For the age of the building the room was very nice and accommodating, with modern amenities. Although with only 3 TV channels. Our dinner and breakfast were very good!
5 out of 5
by David from Arlington, VA

Glad it Is Not the Inn at Little Washington

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels
Planned this trip for my friend from Louisiana who's never seen mountains or small, colonial towns. The Lafayette Inn provided a great place to stop after visiting Shenandoah National Park to see the autumn leaves and hike, then stop in the country for dinner and to sleep before heading out again to see more of the fall leaves and visit wineries. The owners couldn't be nicer. And, the town is a quiet, quaint little Virginia town. A bit off the beaten path and maybe not as extravagant as the Inn at Little Washington, but being able to have a fancy meal or one of nearly 30 gourmet burgers made this stay all the better. I cannot wait to return and visit with the owners - just the nicest couple you could meet!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Great old hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Fireplace in room, very cozy bed & linens, spooky appearance at night/haunted history, nice innkeepers/chefs that opened the restaurant just for 2.
Cons: Add a DVD or Blu-Ray Player to the TV
Location: Close to wineries, Shenandoah National Park, Charlottesville
Great old hotel with plenty of character. Rooms were very cozy and comfortable, with recently remodeled bathrooms and gas fireplace. Arrived at night and it looked very haunted from the outside--indeed internet has ghost stories about the place, but no specters were seen or heard. Good restaurant and menu selection
4 out of 5
by Diane from Woody Creek CO

Cozy and quaint, a little less than expected

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels
The exxterior of the Inn was in need of paint and maintenance. Our room required us to go outside to re-enter, somewhat inconvenient in the cold.We did not get the room we originally requested. Beautifully furnished and we were greeted by the host warmly. the room was cold even with gas log fireplace and additional heater. Cozy in bed. Not well-lit and my daughter had trouble reading with any of the lamps. TV - only 4 or 5 channels. Dinner was excellent but mainly meat (2 lg chicken breasts)and no vegetables, a little pricey for what we got. We did not have any toiletries in the room and when we asked for them, they were brought to our table (at dinner) and we were told that we already had them so now we would have 2 sets. Never saw the original set.We enjoyed it but were a litlle disappointed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Major disappointment

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels
Arrived at 9 pm to find out that room reservation confirmed by hotels.com just a few days prior was not in fact accepted by this hotel who claimed that a server delay had caused the room to already be booked prior to our reservation being transmitted. Not sure why hotels wasn't notified in this case. Instead 2 emails were sent to me directly but were sent to spam. This snafu cost me about 2 hours of my time and $100 but I am not sure I have even got my refund yet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Southwest Michigan

Historic Inn close to Shenandoah NP

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Location, history, graciousness of owners & staff, reasonably priced w/breakfast incl., gas fireplace, welcome champagne & snack
Location: Only 10 min from Shenandoah NP Swift Run Gap entrance. Experienced rock climbing for the first time on the Bearfence Mountain trail.
We greatly enjoyed our stay at The Lafayette Inn and being so close to the mountains in fall splendor. The staff showed fantastic hospitality and the inn was well preserved and lovingly restored. I liked the history book provided in our room that told us more about the area and how the Civil War affected the town. The morning breakfasts were delicious and oh-so-filling!
5 out of 5
by Jo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels