Ratings based on 435 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Staff is very courteous. Room is clean and comfortable. I will come back. I will definitely recommend to other people.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Hotel is very close to Monticello and has nice dining close by. The beds are hard as rocks. The hallways, stairwells and common areas were not kept clean.
3 out of 5
by Elaine M

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
All was good but room and bedding were incredibly damp...unsure if cause but we were so tired we just passed out!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize your stay was not everything we intended it to be. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the superior service we strive to provide.
5 out of 5
by kiara

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star rating! We hope to see you again soon! Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancaster,pa

nice hotel far from charlottesville

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: the bed and breakfast ! breakfast was what made the stay.it was a great way to start my day again before I head out to Monticello,which is very close
Cons: bath towels are too short
Location: no southern food restaurant close.i had to eat junk food dinner .location its like being out in the boon docks.very close to Monticello and schulyer
getting around Charlottesville is very difficult.i never ran into routes like this.total confusion and spent two hours looking the hotel.but,the people outside the hotel and the workers all gave clear direction..i don't know how the officials in va think their route signs are great.i give it a big fat zero..the room very clean and fresh smelling.pool I wish I had the energy to use,but to tired..the weird thing about the room is the toilet paper holder.you have to twist your body and reach as far as you can to rip the paper..if I was any fatter I would not be able to do that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Paige- Assistant GM, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about our property and friendly staff. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by China

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to rate our hotel. Your feedback is helpful to us to be sure guest satisfaction is achieved in each and every visit. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Maryland

close to wanted areas to visit.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful
Cons: At least two chairs in the room
Location: Easy access to Historical sites we wanted to visit
It would have been nice to have two chair in the room. Neither of us like to watch tv from a bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2017 by Assistant GM at Sleep Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
by TADASHI

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fred, va

Close to the hospital

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Check in was easy, floor was a little dirty, but was good just for a short stay and close to hospital.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Paige- AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your most recent stay. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and location. However, we are saddened to hear your comments pertaining to the cleanliness of your room. We are sharing your feedback with our housekeeping department to ensure we correct this for future stays. Again, thank you for bringing both positive and beneficial information to managements attention. We hope to see you again soon! Paige Franks Assistant General Manager Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello 434-244-9969
4 out of 5
by Carol

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Problem with leaky faucet and got moved to another room. Staff was friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback Carol. I'm sorry you had to be moved rooms during your stay due to the unforeseen maintenance issue that you encountered while you were in-house. I am happy to hear that our staff made the transition as smooth as possible as to not to inconvenience you anymore than you already were. Please accept my sincere apology and allow us to provide you the superior service you deserve on your next visit with us! Paige Franks Assistant General Manager Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello