Ratings based on 1,311 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Good, would stay again. Thank you for your hospitality. (Don't like that we have to continue to say more about the stay in order for my overall Good review to be summited. Should allow one statement.)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what i reserved

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Location: location is nice
The hotel room smelled like smoke, and i reserved non-smoking, the workers at front desk didn't seem to know about the reservation and such
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just what I needed

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Location: close to shopping and an easy drive to the University of Virginia
I wasn't in Charlottesville to spend hours in my hotel room. The amenities provided were just fine for me---I put a selzer water and sandwich from Trader Joe's (just down the street) in the room's 'fridge, set up my laptop on the desk to take advantage of the free wifi, and enjoyed the AC on a hot and muggy day. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will go back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Stay Only in a Pinch

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: See my comments in "Write about your experience."
Location: Arrived late so did not attempt to do anything in the area.
The hotel sign was off and so were the entry lights at night so that we drove by the hotel at first, not being able to see it -- clerk said it was because of a storm, but when we told her, she had no problem finally turning the lights on and it was my opinion that she should have checked the status of lights on her own. The clerk was as slow as molasses in January. She also had a negative attitude, getting sassy after I asked her if the form she handed me was a charge card slip (it looked like the old charge card forms back when it was a manual process), and I asked the question because I had pre-paid. She stated something to the tune of, well, do you want to stay here or not because that is the hotel check-in form; her tone was very nasty. She is the slowest in-processing clerk I have ever seen and I have stayed in a lot of hotels. Bad attitude and slow -- fire her.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Bathroom door falling apart. Cabinet missing drawer
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Move on

Posted Jun 5, 2017
This might have a cheap rate but move on to a better hotel. It was very dirty and stunk of ashtray and mildew.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax VA

Don't go here

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Had to leave immediately. The hotel stank. If you are a heavy smoker this may be for you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Gross

Posted May 16, 2017
When we checked in they had put us in a smoking room, the room stunk, there were holes in the walls, the drawers were all broken (the front wasn't even on them), the ac was also broken but functional, and there were literally no plugs to plug any thing in. We had to charge our phones in the bathroom plugs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted May 14, 2017
If you want to travel back in time to the 90's, this is the place to go. Needs a serious renovation. Febreze can be sued for not changing the smell as promised.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Twenty Minutes from Monticello

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Price
Cons: Get rid of smell in the room and make it easier to get in and out of the room by opening the back door.
Location: Monticello is only 20 to 25 minutes away by car.
Some what difficult to get in and out of room from the car with luggage. Rooms are down a long hallway and the back door did not work. Room had a strange smell to it.