Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Comfortable and historic

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: History
Location: Quiet and relaxing.
Pat and Jack were gracious hosts. The accommodations were comfortable and clean. The grounds are lush with vegetation and secluded which makes the property surroundings quiet and serene. The wine and cheese hour is a nice venue for meeting other guests and to learn about the historic significance of Mayhurst. The breakfast was delightful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful B &B in Virginia

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Elegant and beUtiful
Location: N/a
The owners, Jack and Pat could not have been nicer or more hospitable. I will go back to stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Princeton, NJ

Excellent B&B

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Careful preservation of its history, and the warmth of the innkeeper's welcome
Location: Wine-tasting opportunities abound and Mayhurst can provide complimentary tickets. Madison's historic Montpelier is a 10 min.drive away.
Mayhurst Inn is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in during recent years. It is a lovely and historic home, lovingly restored by the current owner Pat and Jack, with period furniture and wall hangings. It really has the feel of a late antebellum manor house. Our room was comfortable and clean, meticulously kept during our stay. The Innkeepers were friendly and welcoming, offering wine and cheese every evening at 5:30, and joining the guests for friendly, informal conversation. The innkeepers also had a wealth of information available on things to see and do in the vicinity, restaurants, etc. Breakfasts were ample to the point of being lavish and were served personally by the innkeepers, with real linen and silver. A first-rate operation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We'll be back

Posted Nov 4, 2015
We stayed in the schoolhouse it was quiet and comfortable in the food and hospitality was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful breakfast!

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Very helpful hosts. Liked wine and cheese when we arrived.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

The Mayhurst Inn - Beautiful, romantic, memorable

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Romantic, lovely, historic, beautiful.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Orange, VA is a cute little town with lovely restaurants. We are looking forward to going back very soon.
The Mayhurst Inn is a beautiful, romantic place set among expanses of green grass with a plethora of beautiful trees making a canopy of shade for warm summer days. The home is gorgeous and is on the National Register of Historic Places - circa 1859. We stayed in the Italian Suite and it was lovely. The four poster bed was very comfortable and beautiful. We had a sofa, jet tub and fireplace in an adjoining room to our bedroom with a breathtaking view of the back yard. We opened the balcony door for a soft summer breeze. Jack and his wife are lovely and were gracious hosts with a nice happy hour with wine and cheese, helped us get reservations at a popular local french restaurant and made us a lovely Sunday brunch with delicious berries and pancakes. It was a weekend to remember in many ways. We highly recommend this weekend get away experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Large and comfortable rooms. History associated with the Mayhurst Inn.
Large and comfortable room. Excellent breakfast provided by the Innkeepers. Great recommendations provided for dinner locations and area historical sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington DC

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Excellent in all respects. Impressive to know that we slept at the same house where Robert Lee's daughter had her babe baptized in the presence of her dad and husband. Good southern history there. Not easy to find for Yankees like us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Beautiful location, friendly owners, attentive

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Apprise guests of breakfast menu prior to serving.
Location: Great
Fabulous! Loved it! Also, thanks for not requiring a two-night minimum. We were in a hurry but really wanted to stay there. We only wish that we'd had more time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern New Jetsey

Perfect Getaway!!!

Posted Oct 8, 2014
This was our second time visiting Mayhurst Inn for a long weekend, and it was as wonderful as the first time we were there in July. The Inn is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable and spacious, and the breakfast delicious!! Jack and Pat are welcoming hosts, and it was nice to have wine and cheese with them, and the other guests at the end of the day. The Inn is in a great location, with historical sites just a short drive away. We hope to return for another long weekend to escape the busyness of our everyday lives.