Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in uva campus

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The room smell musty as soon as I opened the door - the carpet felt damp and the decor is 1970s. Room is dark. On our last night our door will not open and it took 2 trips back to the front desk and had to stand inline twice and then had to wait for maintenance person to fix the key card. It took 45 minutes for us to get in the room. The parking deck is so far from the hotel so it's quite a walk. Sorry, I wish I could be more positive with our experience. i think they could do better for the premium they charge for the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Quiet place on weekend but restaurant was closed. Built on a hill and floor levels are confusing. Clean and well maintained.
3 out of 5
by Ashley from WV

Nice hotel; terrible parking and luggage situation

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel room itself was clean with all amenities needed; staff was very nice if they spoke English. It was very confusing how to find where you check in. Once a room was assigned all my luggage had to be carried to my room then I had to move my car to the nice parking garage and park it myself. There was no help unloading all luggage and walking it to my room. The hotel is spread into separate buildings which is expected for a hotel on UVA campus! There was no help loading luggage upon checkout. I carried all my luggage up a hill on campus to the parking garage to retrieve my car. Shuttle service is very much needed and expected due to the expense of the room. I will not stay here again unless it is my only option! Very stressful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jason

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a Good Choice for Business Travel

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
I'm a frequent business traveler (~100 nights per year on the road) so I expected a good experience at the UVA Darden hotel, located adjacent to one of the top business schools in the nation. Instead, I found a convoluted, exasperating set up that required 3 distinct steps and a lot of walking aimlessly with my luggage to finally get to the room. You have to check in at the Gate House, which is NOT connected to the hotel. You have to find parking near the Gate House, check in and get your keys there, then move your car to the parking garage, which is about a two block walk from the main hotel. Then if your room is on the first floor, you can only access it from certain points in the hotel. I'll just say it took about 45 minutes walking with arms full of luggage to check in and get to my room. Lastly, my pet peeve is having the soaps and shampoos sitting on the back of the sink out of reach from the shower. Many business hotels have caught on, and put soaps and shampoos on the shower shelves. Instead, here I had to stop showering soak the floor once I realized where the toiletries were, which I imagine is the same experience of many guests. It's an easy fix, like having check in within the same building as the guest rooms, and like having signage for how to get to the first floor from the main entrance. I would definitely choose a Comfort Inn or Fairfield Inn on my next trip to Charlottesville. No one has thought like a guest here in a long time.
4 out of 5
by Edward

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by David from Lynch Station, VA

High quality

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Check in and check out was very easy; the desk attendants were very friendly. It was a little inconvenient for parking. But all in all a very good choice for overnight.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Few amenities, oddly distant reception staff

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: rooms were ordinary but good.
Cons: see above
Location: you need a car to get around.
I was surprised by the absence of any restaurant at all at dinner, and only a school cafeteria up the hill from the hotel. Everyone I met during my stay in Charlottesville was as friendly as you could wish, from the cab drivers to people who helped us in the street to the ladies who cleaned our rooms. The exception was the front desk staff at the Inn at Darden. We were not greeted with a smile, but a cold look. When I asked for a map of the campus, I was told, "the University of Virginia has no campus. Here is a map of the grounds." Checking out was similarly curt. In New York City, I might not have noticed this, but in Charlottesville it sure stood out, and not in a nice way.
5 out of 5
by Martha from Boston

Will stay here again.

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
Very gracious, friendly, helpful front desk staff and wait staff. Convenient for a nice business breakfast.