Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Convenient to M6

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Comfortable and good leisure facilities
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Close to M6 for passing travellers
Great overnight stay en route North. Enjoyed the leisure facilities. Breakfast pricey
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Bates Motel if Lancashire

Posted Jul 15, 2016
I booked a stop over night at the hotel based on images provided of the main foyer and rooms in the main building. I was unaware the hotel had a chalet complex attached with rooms that looked as if they were from the set of Hi de Hi! The room which we were given had a loosely fitting front door that lacked any real security bar a lock that I believe that could be easily forced open from the outside. This wasn't ideal as it looked out onto an outside path between other chalet rooms. The beds inside the room itself where comfortable and the linen was clean and fresh. Overall don't expect too much for your money, bar a place to rest your head.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2016
I'm a pageant finalist and had been invited to come and watch a pageant at this hotel. Of course I booked a room as well as I'm from Essex and it was a long journey. It was a lovely room with lovely hot chocolate haha 😂 I felt very comfortable and secure in my room and it was like my own little apartment!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Split personality

Posted May 29, 2016
While the main hotel/ Lobby was beautiful,, our assigned room separate from the motel was run down and old . It had bent window blinds and a very run down general appearance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
We are a family of three and we enjoyed a one night stay at this hotel village. Our room was outside the hotel and we had to go outside to attend leisure facilities, which were very good but on a chilly day a little off putting. We had lunch in the bar area, evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant, food was very satisfying.
3 out of 5
by Diana from London

Great place but could be better

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
The bathroom was lovely but very filthy floors Dinner at the lavender restaurant was absolutely great Very friendly lovely staff
4 out of 5
by Gordon from Hastings

Stopover.

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel lobby looked very appealing when you walked in. Once checked in we then had to drive around lots of buildings on roads riddled with potholes to our accommodation which were chalet type bungalows. Although the rooms were clean and comfortable I found the whole set up very weird. The leisure club and pools were ok but very chlorinated and cold. Breakfast was boos with a decent choice and the staff were very friendly. Overall for the price good value for money if you want a clean and simple stopover on your way North.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cracking hen do

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay for a daughters hen do. Medieval banquet was good fun. Only problem was we drove past it as no sign for hotel - as did other members of our party.
2 out of 5
by Rob from Rotherham

Not good

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Hotels like this really make you appreciate Premier Inns. Their rooms are larger and cleaner.
3 out of 5
by Gareth from St Helens

Its looking old now but still a nice place to stay

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Went for a nice family break. The room was OK, loads of space for all of us. I would say the site is looking dated now. Nice little swimming pool for us to take my son swimming. Lovely lake to walk around but not much else to do on site.