Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, Maryland. USA

A very elegant hotel!

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Hotel was very elegant and service was great! Loved the comforters on the bed! Very close to Chartres Cathedral & shopping. Needed a road map to find our room - numbering was questionable. The bathroom doors were a nuisance and couldn't figure out how to use the shower controls. Other than that we had a wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Beautiful hotel, with excellent friendly staff. Would recommend this hotel for all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2017
In center of town near walking street. Staff was very helpful. Glad it was air conditioned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Have stayed hear for several years and enjoyed every visit. Staff are excellent and are always very helpful. A very accommodating hotel. Will definitely returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Wonderful host and hostess in a charming, quiet location. Facility is a nice mixture of old-world charm and more recent renovation. Nearby village of Lissewege is definitely worth at least a brief visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weybridge

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2017
The Grand Monarque was the perfect stop-over for us, a real treat after 2 weeks camping in the south of France. Would recommend as a stop-over or weekend break, Chartres is lovely!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Had no room in parking lot, therefore had to park car on city streets, with considerable difficulty. Also overcharged us on per person city taxes, and have avoided answering my emails requesting partial refund.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel with a great spa

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Excellent location, close to the Cathedral and city centre Relaxing spa with sauna, steam bath (15€/day though) Rooms are clean but a little small Staff is very friendly
5 out of 5
by richard

A real gem

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect in every way. Couldn't expect anymore
5 out of 5
by Barbara

Female New York Business Traveler Loves Hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
This is my third time staying at The Grand Monarque. The location is excellent, bathroom and amenities great, good bed and sheets, friendly staff and lovely restaurant in an atrium. The breakfast is excellent, and I had lunch at the one star restaurant in the hotel which I never realized was there. It was superb! I think the decor in the halls should be updated. They give the wrong impression of the hotel. Other than that, I love it.