Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC.

Hotel Jean de Beauce, Chartres

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Located across from the train station, the Hotel is most convenient and very good value for money. It has recently been redone, combining a feeling of old chateau with modern amenities. My room was small but v. comfortable and provided all I needed since I spent most of my days outside the hotel. The breakfast was fabulous, the staff kind and attentive The walk to the magnificent Cathedral and other worthwhile sites is. easy, As President of American Friends of Chartres I felt lucky to have a room at the 'right' hotel for my needs, meet many Americans who had also come for the Festival of Lights, and enjoy a fabulous weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Anaïs, Hotel Management
Dear Dominique, Thank you so much for rating us and for leaving such positive feedback. We're so happy to hear that you loved the central location, our varied breakfast and the atmosphere of our hotel renovated 3 years ago. You are so welcome back to us soon again! Best regards, Anaïs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gulfport, FL, US

An excellent short stay

Posted Sep 13, 2017
We were booked for one night, on short train trip from our Paris holiday. Although we'd booked the cheapest possible rate through Expedia, we had a toilet "issue" in our small standard room. The staff cheerfully upgraded us to a much nicer room with no problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver B. C.

Good hotel near the train station and cathedral

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Easy to find , staff were helpful once we provided our copy of the Expedia confirmation , we didn't seem to be in their system. Standard room became a suite! Staff were helpful offering to help us with the rented AUDI nab system . Room was large and bright But the curtains are showing wear from being manually closed and opened Staff recommended reservations at a great restaurant beside the Cathedral
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Art Deco Jewel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: We had a spacious room with Art Deco décor. Very comfortable bed. On arrival we were greeted by a hotel employee who spoke English fluently.
Location: The hotel is directly across from the Chartres rail station, which was very convenient. The cathedral is a five-minute walk.
We stayed three nights at the Jehan de Beauce in order to have two full days in Chartres. Arriving on Friday, we attended a 9 PM meditation in the cathedral on a theme drawn from the stained glass images, with photos projected onto a large screen in the sanctuary. The Stained-Glass Museum was on Saturday's agenda, along with the amazing late-night illuminations throughout the city center. On Sunday we were back in the cathedral for morning Mass, an afternoon organ recital, and an evening performance by a Russian vocal ensemble. Chartres is a beautiful city and I'm glad that we had a leisurely visit, with the Hotel Jehan de Beauce being so close to the major sites of interest and an abundance of restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well placed

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel well placed for cathedral - no restaurant and we had difficulty finding one we could get in. Otherwise ok parking was tight but a reasonable charge. Would use again
4 out of 5
by Gail

Chartres Hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel has been renovated and the rooms are very nice. The decor is tasteful, rather than fussy. The rooms are very comfortable. The staff was exceptionally helpful. The only negatives were inconvenient parking (across the street at the railway station) AND that the hotel IS across the street from the railway station which is not the most scenic part of town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

It couldn't have been better.

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Location: It's right across from the train and bus stations. It's a short distance from the cathedral.
Very helpful front desk staff! Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Anaïs, Hotel Management
Dear Virginia, It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to our hotel. I would like to thank you, on behalf of our staff and management, for your comments. We truly appreciate your feedback and will continue to strive to exceed the expectation of all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best Regards Anaïs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in city centre

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Secure parking at rear of hotel
Cons: Scrambled egg at breakfast tasted like powdered egg
Location: Very close to cathedral. Chartre is a great city. Very buzzy.
Overnight stay on way back to Tunnel. Everything you would expect from a quality city centre hotel
5 out of 5
by Richard

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Handy location across from train station, convenient parking, and ten minute walk to Cathedral. Stylish Art Deco decor, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by Tara

Convenient, well priced, clean, older hotel.

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
We were only there one night, but it was a pleasant experience. The hotel is nice, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. the room was large and comfortable, if a bit dated. I would stay there again.