Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Suffolk England

Ideal stopover en route to Southern France.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Situation in Chartres
Cons: I would have welcomed help with my luggage from the reception to my room.
The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Chartres. Parking is available close by in massive underground car park. Easy to walk up to the cathedral and plenty of restaurants to choose from. The hotel offers all you need. The breakfast is expensive but a good selection available and you can eat as much as you want.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

"OK" for a relatively inexpensive downtown hotel.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Good location walking distance from the Cathedral, with clean and modern facilities, but staff helpfulness was mixed, room was basic with strange sliding-glass-door arrangement between sleeping and shower/sink space, dodgy wifi, no shampoo or bath soap, etc. But relatively inexpensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

great location in Chartres

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: online
Cons: Did not like swinging bathroom door that banged and paper and plastic cups and glasses in rooms
Location: So central to everything and on the same level as the cathedral which was important as one traveller was in a wheelchair and some very steep parts!
Great hotel for location. Just think for a four star hotel a plastic glass in the bathroom and paper cup for tea or coffee is a bit poor!! Otherwise very helpful and friendly staff and overall good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
No parking available, but the hotel wa well located and nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent Location for visiting the Cathedral

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Location, location and location!
Cons: It does not have a restaurant.
Location: The Notre-Dame cathedral, the church of St. Pierre.
Centrally located in the historic city center, the hotel has good rooms, pleasant decor and efficient staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super location, staff and room

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Need to come back. So much to see! Front desk staff were EXCELLENT.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
The woman at the front desk on our arrival was welcoming, very helpful and informative. Finding this hotel on driving into Chartres is not easy, and only an underground public lot is available for parking. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate, and hotel location was an easy walk from all the historic sights. I would reserve at other Mercure hotel locations. Best to prepay for night's stay as they upped rate considerably for weekend nights, even though it wasn't the height of tourist season.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable clean and convenient

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable hotel, located close to the cathedral. Buffet Breakfast was tasty, lots of choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The breakfsast
Cons: Nothing
Location: Look at the cathedral, both outside than inside and by night
Nice hotel near the Catherdal and the downtown: the breakfast is excellent and complete. The hotel is easily accessible from all the autoroute. If Ask for a room looking at the street, the summer illumination is visible directly.
5 out of 5
by Christopher

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is a block away from the Sanctuary so it's very convenient for pilgrims. The rooms are clean and modern too. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your stay at Mercure Chartres Cathedrale and we are very happy to note that this one gave you entire satisfation. we hope to see you very soon. All the team