Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chaska, United States of America

Fizzle dizzle

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The location of the hotel was why we picked it over others. We were between homes for a few days and needed to be close to our appointments.
Cons: Chose this hotel because of the pool and hot tub. After checking in, went to the pool the first night to find the hot tub empty. The second night, a child threw up in the pool so it needed to be drained. The pool was not up and running 24 hours later which was unfortunate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable and quiet.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: I like how close it is in terms of walking distance to bars and restaurants.
Cons: Carpets need cleaning or updating but we didn't really mind that much.
We were on the 1st floor and found breakfast was amazing with how many choices you receive although the stations needed to be kept cleaner. The carpets to the hotel really need updating or better cleaning. The beds and pull out were comfortable and we had everything we needed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Avoid this facility

Posted Sep 20, 2016
My Expedia reservation was nowhere in the system. I was supposed to be booked Wed thru Sunday by Expedia. I was told by Hannah (who was really nice) I could have a room except for Friday and Saturday. (I was in MN from WA with no other option. Class reunion --I had booked in June. After 45 min was given a room. A friend Called twice on two separate days and was cut off because the desk person didn't know how to transfer calls. My friend worked out a system to have them ring me so I could call her on my cell. Not enough help for breakfast. No coffee. Ran out. Not clean. Run down. Lumpy pillows. Both Hannah and a 30 something guy were great. Chest in suite was missing knob. Staff needs training and more staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ND

I would not stay here again

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Claimed no registration in system, blamed expedia for it. They had a different room available and gave it to us for expedia price, but flat out told us if it was booked, we were out of luck. After finally dealing with that and then paying, THEN they tell us the pool area is closed for the weekend and it's beyond their control. In the elevator another guest asks us if it's our first stay and I said yes and asked how the hotel was. He rolled his eyes and said about the same as the front desk. We get to our floor and the hallway floors are dirty and the ice dispenser has a sign saying it's out of order. We open up our room and it's clean enough, but a tad warm (which I'm used to since I like it colder than most, no big deal) I go turn on AC and it starts up and makes the most loud noise while it's running. We realize it's the metal covering vibrating against the metal covering and jimmy it enough to get it to stop making the noise. We had arrived at bedtime and got into one of the hardest and most uncomfortable beds I've slept in in a while. Both my girlfriend and I woke up sore in the mornings with tossing and turning. In the morning breakfast was better than we expected because after all that we weren't expecting much. It still really wasn't that great and we went out for breakfast the second morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was fine but Expedia was NOT!

Posted Sep 12, 2016
I reserved my room through Expedia. However, when I arrived to check in at the hotel, the staff informed me that they had contacted Expedia to let them know that there were no rooms available that night. They then told me that Expedia should have contacted me - which of course, they hadn't. Luckily, the hotel found a "hidden" room and got me in. I had also booked a room at the same hotel for the following weekend at the same hotel so I asked the concierge person if they could check on that reservation. Again, they informed me that there were no rooms available that night and that Expedia should have contacted me. NOT happy with Expedia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philly

Not bad.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Everything about the hotel was decent. I was very impressed with the continental breakfast. The staff was friendly. However, the shower in my room was terrible. It was clean but the water pressure was terrible. I was in the shower for more than 20 minutes trying to get shampoo out of my hair. Otherwise, it was a decent, clean, friendly hotel to stay in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't Go

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Hot tub broke. Pool area had no lighting. Staff unfriendly. TV did not work- we had maintenance men in our room at 11 pm. 2 towels for a 4 person room. Pillows not normal size. No food on breakfast bar. I could go on........
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Looks see deceiving..

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Looked like a great hotel from the lobby at check in but the room was run down and in desperate need of a make over. The shower wall was broken, the shower head leaked and the bathroom sink was all cracked and old. The bed wasn't very comfortable at all. Honestly I have paid less for better hotels. I have stayed at a Grand Stay before but It must have been a newer one, so unfortunately I had high expectations when I booked this room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Franklin, OH

Attending graduation

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Though the room was clean, the hallway carpets and stairways were obviously soiled, and trash on the stairs remained for our 5 day stay. Our maid service was missed one day and the staff seemed surprised we were still there when we called to ask for towels. No apology given for the oversight. Their underground garage was very dirty and cluttered, tracking into the elevator and staircase. Trash on the patio was full for 3 days.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Dirty, not well cared for.

Posted Mar 18, 2016
I've always thought this hotel was cool. By the river, in Chaska and seemed neat. Stayed there on our vacation and found it horrible. Staff not friendly, dirty room, lobby smelled of smoke, pool not cared for, no hot water, and priced higher than the average hotel. Not happy with Grand Stay. Won't stay again.