Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Hartley

Not just "a good stop," but the best possible!

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
A delight in every way: pool. roomy room, Michelin-star cuisine, friendly staff!
5 out of 5
by Michael from Harrogate

Well worth staying here- highly recommend.

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here mainly to benefit from Michelin star restaurant. Friendly, professional and welcoming staff. Definitely worth staying here. We plan to return.
5 out of 5
by Don from Escondido, CA

A VERY SPECIAL HOTEL

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
Never have we been treated with such care and devotion at a hotel! We didn't realize that this hotel is a member of the "Relais & Chateaux" group, so we were rather stunned when we saw the sign as we left the parking lot on arrival. The hotel was stunning and welcoming to say the least. Our room was large and well furnished (with character). Beds were very comfy. There were beautiful views from our room window, as this hotel was in a quiet part of the town with many trees. Landscaping around the hotel was lush, well kept, and lovely. We walked in the back "vegetable and fruit" garden, and then met the head Chef coming down the stairs in the hotel. He was very welcoming and friendly as well. "Nicholas" took care of us from start to finish and couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. The food was unusually delicious. We would stay here again any time we were here, or even if we were at some distance. Thank you so much La Bonne Etape for providing us with a spectacular stay.
5 out of 5
by TW from N.Vancouver, BC

Fabulous dining and setting

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels
We probably had the best meal ever - a must to eat in the gourmet restaurant! Their lavender honey ice cream for dessert was to die for. Our room was also fantastic with french doors that opened to a view over the pool and the hillsides beyond. Service was excellent. It was perfect!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing service, friendly staff, beautiful hotel.

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels
Best service ever, romantic balcony setting, pool was awesome. We will definitely be going back.
5 out of 5
by Robert from USA

Has always been excellent, now even better

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels
I have stayed at La Bonne Etape many times over the past 15 years. The hotel has always been excellent, and it is well maintained and clean. the staff is courteous and friendly. I speak French, but my son does not and the staff speaks English which is a plus for him. The breakfast is always fresh and the coffee great. The location is very good off the main street, so there is no traffic noise. Of course both of the restaurants are great. which one you cloose depends on whether you are in the mood for a quicker great meal or a fantastic gourmet dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by G&N from ottawa canada

Excellent all around

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Having arrived late the courtesy extended was exceptional. Superlatives all around. A wonderful & very relaxed stay,wrapping up our 2 weeks in Provence. Alps en haut a wonderful holiday destination. Thankyou
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colorado Couple from Denver, CO

A great time at "La Bonne Etape"

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Pros: Great location. Charming building. Incredible restaurant. Friendly staff.
We travelled to France in November 2013 and stayed one night at "La Bonne Etape" for a romantic getaway. We had a great time, and the culinary experience for dinner at the restaurant was amazing. Jany Gleize put together incredible menus. The entire staff was courteous and friendly. Service was flawless. We are already planning to come back during the summer or late spring. Highly recommended!!!
5 out of 5
by Robert from Reno

classic luxury with fantastic restaurant

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels
I have stayed at La Bonne Etape probably 15 times during trips to Provence and the French Alps visiting family. The hotel staff are always very courteous and helpful. The rooms are large and each has unique antique furnishings. The location is away from any traffic, so there are normally no sounds to disturb sleep. The gourmet restaurant is terrific, and the other restaurant is also very good. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good value at a nice hotel with good restaurants.
3 out of 5
by MRO from Bahama, NC

OK for Passing Thru on One-Night Stay

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels
PROS: (1) This hotel has 2 GREAT restaurants (a bistro & a fine dining restaurant). (2) The pool is well-maintained and an extremely pleasant aspect of this property. CONS: The hotel itself is in need of a complete systems replacement. Air conditioning was not working during our entire stay. Plumbing is extremely outdated. Bathrooms additionally should be updated. (Bathroom in our room was decorated with old red and gold - colored marble slabs. Fixtures and plumbing were 1980's vintage.) The beautiful one acre garden on this property is unkempt and choked with weeds (although still spectacular). SUMMARY: This property could be a really great and relaxing oasis if the deferred maintenance were addressed. This town has very little going on, and is not worth visiting as a specific destination.