Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Fabulous

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Had a wonderful stay. After 8 nights of camping on an airbed it was amazing to experience a couple of days of comfort and luxury. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the kids loved the pool, playing in it for hours on end. Experienced a fabulous meal - we went for the tasting menu and it was absolutely amazing. The only slight criticism is that although the hotel classes itself as kid friendly, you did get the feeling that you had to keep the children quiet due to the serene surroundings and we spent alot of time worrying if our children were being too noisy and disturbing other guests. On our first night we ate at the hotel outside on the terrace and although there was a children's choice it didn't arrive until half way through our tasting menu and by that time the kids were understandably hungry and whingeing. Once they'd had their meal they wanted to have a run round the grounds and it was probably a mistake to let them because we were asked to keep the noise down. We felt really bad and ended up giving the children dessert in their room. Moral of the story, don't eat dinner in the hotel with children or go into Chinon! I'm not sure if it is possible but maybe have a less formal eating area where parents don't have to worry so much about disturbing others. Or give them their meal at the start and then they can go back to their room. Anyway, we still had a wonderful stay and we would love to return - maybe for a romantic getaway without children next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cave Creek Arizona

Charming hotel, somewhat isolated, which we liked.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Solitude
Cons: Menu options for breakfast...other than full breakfast.
Location: Streets of Chinon well worth walking.
Staff most accommodating. Quiet bar area for per-dinner beverages. Dinner was extraordinarily good. Dinner staff offered impeccable service. We did miss the morning coffee and croissant. We do not do full breakfast, which I believe was the only choice, Totally would recommend this hotel to our friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Gorgeous hotel in a beautiful, peaceful setting.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Gorgeous setting, attractive chateau, comfortable rooms, excellent service and wonderful food ( evening meal)
Cons: Air conditioning for the level of hotel but not sure they can do that given the chateau's listing. Complimentary slippers Better toiletries
Excellent service from the staff and a very comfortable, spacious room and bathroom within the chateau. The Pavillion rooms are less grandiose but still quite stylish and well equipped. Luckily, our room had two very large windows which we had to keep open all night as it was so hot. It was almost like sleeping under the stars which actually was quite lovely. The hotel also provided us with a fan which we had to run all night, so we did sleep therefore managed the lack of air con issue. Are we all spoilt these days and expect it at that level? The building is listed preventing them from installing it. The evening meal was excellent and although pricey, well recommend to try. The setting is also rather splendid - on the terrace when weather permits. A few hours in the sun by the pool with the chateau as a backdrop was a very pleasant experience! If I had some advice for the hotel, it would be a nice touch to offer better quality toiletries and complimentary towelling slippers for the price level they want to market themselves. However, it didn't detract from our stay. We would visit again but not in the height of a hot summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bogotá, Colombia

Beautiful setting in the Loire Valley

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The main building, the gardens, the swimming pool...
Cons: I would definitely up grade the Annex or close them for good. In a luxury hotel you cannot afford to have five star rooms and two star rooms.
Location: Chinon is a very beautiful and attractive town only minutes away. Many of the mod important Chateux of the Loire Valley are less than an hour away.
At arrival we were not happy at all as we were given two inferior rooms in the Annex. Upon complainig at the Reception, we were given two better rooms, but not what we expected. It was only at the next day that we were placed in two excellent rooms at the Chateaux. We should recognise that Management was extremely helpful and cooperative. Having explained the above, Chateau Marcay i a first rate hotel in every sense of the word.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Wonderful base for Loire visits

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The chateau and its grounds are beautiful. The nicest staff.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Fairy-tale chateau set in picturesque rolling farmlands, wonderful restaurant, very attentive staff. Lovely lounges, bar and outdoor areas.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and grounds

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay. It is hard to list all that was nice -- so many things! Our 7 year old enjoyed the grounds, and we used the location as a springboard for exploring the Loire Valley. Thumbs up!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel set in magnificent grounds. Fine dining & wine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Palestinian Territories

Shabby Chic Chateau - An Oxymoron?

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Food, atmosphere, breakfast, grounds, pool, service
Cons: Room could have been updated but still wonderful
Location: Located a short drive from Chinon centre. So much to do! Wine exploration, the castle in Chinon, famous chateaux located nearby, Sunday markets...
My wife and I loved our 5-night stay at this beautiful chateau located a short drive from Chinon centre. The chateau and staff have a relaxed, informal feel which is really remarkable given the surroundings. We speak of chabby chic as a wonderful combination of relaxed and chic combined. Somehow this chateau does just that! Our room was a bit dated (carpet had a few stains and some wear and tear) but oddly that added to the wonderful feel of a place lived in, not an artifact from the middle ages. Our room was not in the chateau proper (by design) but in the adjoining wing of rooms (once the stables, I believe) that have outside patios which are very private and allowed us to read, relax and drink wine in a private setting. We could also access the pool and grounds easily from the patio area. We dined twice at the chateau. Highly, highly recommended (the sweetbreads and risotto were outstanding). We also spent each afternoon at the pool after sightseeing/wine tripping. The pool is fabulous and one can order food/drink there if desired. Finally, the staff are really quite wonderful. Friendly, gracious and welcoming, and receptive to our requests. They should be commended!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pure Awesomeness!

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
We truly enjoyed our stat at the Marcay. The place provides an unbelievable atmosphere that it's hard to match by other places. The closest town is Chino, and unfortunately food choices are limited when it comes to restaurants. But, the relaxation and enjoyment we had was worth the limited amount of places to eat. Cable was also limited and the tv wasn't at its best. I still think the place is awesome and would recommend it to anyone looking to relax and disconnect a few days from the stress of the world.