Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palestinian Territories

Shabby Chic Chateau - An Oxymoron?

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Food, atmosphere, breakfast, grounds, pool, service
Cons: Room could have been updated but still wonderful
Location: Located a short drive from Chinon centre. So much to do! Wine exploration, the castle in Chinon, famous chateaux located nearby, Sunday markets...
My wife and I loved our 5-night stay at this beautiful chateau located a short drive from Chinon centre. The chateau and staff have a relaxed, informal feel which is really remarkable given the surroundings. We speak of chabby chic as a wonderful combination of relaxed and chic combined. Somehow this chateau does just that! Our room was a bit dated (carpet had a few stains and some wear and tear) but oddly that added to the wonderful feel of a place lived in, not an artifact from the middle ages. Our room was not in the chateau proper (by design) but in the adjoining wing of rooms (once the stables, I believe) that have outside patios which are very private and allowed us to read, relax and drink wine in a private setting. We could also access the pool and grounds easily from the patio area. We dined twice at the chateau. Highly, highly recommended (the sweetbreads and risotto were outstanding). We also spent each afternoon at the pool after sightseeing/wine tripping. The pool is fabulous and one can order food/drink there if desired. Finally, the staff are really quite wonderful. Friendly, gracious and welcoming, and receptive to our requests. They should be commended!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut USA

Felt Like a Queen

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Elegance at a fair price, friendly and helpful staff, grounds, clean and large room, the town of Chinon was wonderful.
Cons: A person who could not manage a deep tub will need to request a shower.
Location: Photographing the gorgeous scenery, visiting vineyards, dining, shopping, biking, horseback riding, and I received a wonderful massage at the hotel.
A little tricky to find Marçay and the chateau, but once you realize that the grounds of the hotel are part of the original plot of land which made up the entire village, you understand and keep looking for the highest building. We arrived down a road with over-hanging trees...horses on one side and vineyard on the other. Through a stone archway and there is the chateau with circular drive and gorgeous plantings of hydrangeas. We parked and entered the wide doorway to the reception desk and Sabrina. We registered, had a wonderful, young man carry our bags to our room, and found a large room, immaculate bedding, windows overlooking the pool and the beautiful fields and village in the distance. The bath was amazing, but our room had a tub and no shower. Fine for us, but someone else might want to request a room with shower. We returned to the reception area and was told the restaurant was closed on Tuesdays, so Sabrina gave us a map and recommendations in Chinon. Chinon has many fine restaurants, wonderful shopping, and friendly people. Our stay at the Hotel Chateau Marçay was totally delightful and highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by william from Bedford,Texas

Lovely Loire Valley Chateau hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at Chateau Marcay because it is close to Chinon. Our visit to the area was to taste the wines of Chinon, wines from the surrounding area, and visit the Loire Valley chateau's. The hotel was built in the 1500's and has been remodeled numerous times. The grounds are wonderful. It is very peaceful. The hotel has a pool, but warmer weather is needed to use. They also have riding stables and horses. The service was terrific. The staff could not have been any nicer. The breakfast is very nice, however the fee was 24 euros. There are no alternative breakfast choices except to drive into Chinon. The restaurant is formal and is wonderful. We toured the chateau wine cellar and tasted their wines. The sommelier Julian is very knowledgeable and we enjoyed his tour, tasting and assistance during dinner.We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Lawrence from Georgetown, Texas

Fantastic Food & Service

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Worth going out of the way for the food, wine, and comfort.
5 out of 5
by Jean-Pierre

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Claire from Stavanger

Excellent séjour au chateau de Marçay

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
Nous ne sommes resté qu'une nuit au chateau mais avons regretté de ne pas y rester plus longtemps. L'ensemble de l'hotel est très chaleureux avec plusieurs salons, les chambres sont très spacieuses (nous avons été surclassés sans le demander). Nous avons également mangé au restaurant et c'était excellent. Comparé à d'autres hotels/chateaux parfois plus chers, le chateau de Marçay nous a totalement séduit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent customer service

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: Attention to detail - staff service - authentic style
Cons: Make a lighter, bar-style menu available for guests who don't require a full dinner service.
Location: Close to beautiful Chinon and set amongst farmland and vineyards. Impressive approach to the chateau. Horse riding available at the hotel.
Friendly and attentive staff - couldn't be more helpful. Excellent restaurant. Amazing room with a separate bedroom in the turret. Shame the pool wasn't available but probably too early in the season.
5 out of 5
by Arnaud from Angers

Un château romantique

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
Cadre magnifique, on a l'impression de dormir dans un vrai château. Toutes les chambres ont l'air différentes donc les photos du site montrent la plus belle de chaque catégorie. Nous avions pris une chambre supérieure et nous étions un poil déçu de la salle de bain par rapport aux photos annoncées. Le diner gastronomique était génial.
5 out of 5
by JAVIER from Torrelodones

un château con servicio e instalaciones excelentes

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Muy buena habitación, grande y espaciosa, tuvimos un problema en el baño (había moscas) y lo resolvieron enseguida. Tranquilo y acogedor. El restaurante es excelente aunque un poco caro. Muy recomendable ¡¡
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Cons: Install showers in the bathrooms.
My second time at Château de Marçay after the first one almost 20 years ago. It's still lovely, with beautiful property right next to the tiny town of Marçay, just outside of Chinon in the Loire. Staff is excellent and helpful, the setting serene, the rooms lovely, and the views fantastic. The only thing that was odd was the lack of shower in the room. Whilst the hand-held spray head more-or-less worked, it was awkward for those preferring to have a shower as opposed to take a bath.