Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Loire Valley Experience

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Charm. Peaceful setting. Pleasant staff. Excellent restaurant.
Cons: Partition or shower curtain in bath. A little more generosity with soap and toiletries in the bath.
Location: Excellent base for exploring Loire Valley. This feels like the country but is 5 minutes away fro Amboise.
A lovely time at this charming, ancient chateau, which served as an excellent base for exploring chateaus and wineries of the Loire valley. Every staff member with whom we interacted was exceptionally helpful. The Michelin-starred on-site restaurant was a memorable meal but was also a good value. We also enjoyed the breakfast, though that is somewhat pricey. Standard rooms are not huge, but are charming and have modern bathrooms (though a partition or curtain for the shower/bath would be a welcome addition. Nearby Amboise offers many good dining options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Stay in a real chauteau.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Personnel give warm service. Building is pretty with nice gardens. Pretty antique furnishing with modern bathroom. Bed is very comfortable. Close to town center. Enjoyed staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice chateau close to Amboise center

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Very nice chateau close to Amboise city center, great study room and guest room, nice garden, convenient to explore Amboise and nearby chateau
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast was terrible and expensive. But the hotel is beautiful with so much history. It's really magical. Just not a magical breakfast. And wifi was very spotty
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic!

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Truly awesome atmospheric place! Very pleasant to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L.A

Beautiful chateau

Posted Nov 10, 2016
We had an excellent stay here. The staff was so attentive and polite. Jerome made you feel very welcomed. The property was carefully maintained. The furnishings were beautiful antiques. We hated to leave because we felt so comfortable here. I miss the place already.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Black Diamond, United States of America

Loved this hotel!

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Location, beautiful gardens, comfortable rooms, very quiet, lovely garden to sit and enjoy the views.
Cons: Loved everything about the hotel. The only thing is that we were expecting a bathtub and did not have one
Location: Amboise is only minutes away by car. Lovely town to explore
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Black Diamond, United States of America

Exceptional hotel minutes from Amboise

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: We loved th history of the hotel and that it was outside the town. The restaurant on site was an amazing dining experience for foodies.
Cons: There was not a bathtub. We loved everything else about the hotel
Location: We did day trips to the Chateaus nearby and had a lot of fun exploring Ambois. Would suggest following the tips in the Rick Steves tour book for site
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels