Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Marie from Avon

Great Stay

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Relaxing. Loved the home tour and all the antiques. The four-course breakfast was delicious!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice Victorian style B&B!

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Vintage, but offered pretty much everything you would expect from a hotel.
Location: Beautiful countryside surrounded by lots of Amish influences.
Rooms were very nice and beds were extremely comfortable. Ruth Ann and her family are wonderful hosts and a pleasure to be around. Would recommend to anyone staying in that area. They have Wi-Fi, which was great and even offer to place a flat screen TV, with cable service, in your room if you so wish.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

The Best!

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Why stay in Lansboro when you can start at the Oakenwald just a short distance way.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Park Rapids, Mn.

Remarkable B&B with unique facilities

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: The furniture was Victorian style, the collections of silver and porcelain were unique, the staff was awesome.
Cons: The exterior of the building continues to need repair.
Location: A quiet setting, Jacs bar/cafe had excellent food. 20 minutes from Lanesboro (bicycling), Harmony (Niagara cave}, Spring Valley (4 daughters winery).
A great stay at this unique B&B furnished with collections of furniture and nick knacks from the life of Marion, the proprietor. The staff consisted of Marion, daughter-in-law Ruth Ann, and son Bob. They were extremely friendly and helpful and spent a great deal of their time showing you the facilities and making you feel comfortable, with stories about the house and its history, as well as themselves. The Sunday breakfast was awesome. Not a place for children or pets!
5 out of 5
by W Thomas from Minneapolis

Terrific Oakenwald

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels
Wonderful space, food and care!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

B&B in Chatfield

Posted Oct 13, 2014
The home was built in the 1800's. Very charming. The house could use some outside maintenance. Excellent breakfast! The bed and room was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent B&B!

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Victorian charm and beautiful setting.
Wonderful staff; great food, perfect week-end! Loved the historical stories.
5 out of 5
by Pam and Bill

Can't beat Oakenwald Terrace

Posted Jul 30, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed at Oakenwald Terrace for 3 nights, Friday afternoon to Monday morning. We were greeted at the door like old friends and treated to a tour of all the antique collections - dolls, dishes, clothing, photographs, etc. - in this great house. Mrs. Lovell's bedroom, where we stayed, is right off the front entryway, but we never heard a sound and slept like babies in the comfortable antique bed. Breakfast was a 4-course affair with one temptation after another - fruit, puff pastries, egg dishes, and dessert. (We didn't eat anything else until dinner at 7 or 8 p.m.) The screened-in porch was a breezy oasis from the hot weather and was further improved by long conversations with one of our three hosts - Ruth Ann, Bob, and Marion. We'll be back.