Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sandhurst, Berkshire

Great hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, food, hotel style
Cons: Nothing just keep the standard you have.
Location: Docklands, shopping outlets
Hotel and 1940's experience weekend in Chatham was a gift from our daughter. The hotel was great location, staff welcoming, rooms clean, food great, breakfast fulfilling. We will be going back to stay there again. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brum

Beautiful hotel on the docks

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We had a great 1 night stay with dinner and breakfast. The building is a converted ship workshop and throughout the decor pays tribute to the heritage. Really beautifully decorated with interesting detail.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Midlands

Great position

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Perfect. Place to stay when visiting Rochester and Chatham Quiet comfortable room with restricted view of Marina. Very busy pub and restaurant but able to reserve a table and food good ,though menue was restricted as many dishes were "sold out It was a bank holiday weekend. Breakfast was excellent with a great choice of cooked dishes, Plenty of free parking
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Hotel staff were really helpful and happy. Room was immaculate but it was very hot,there were no large windows to open and no air con. There was a fan in the room but not ideal. Food was ok. Bar area smelled of stale beer and the corridors of the hotel smelled of stale kitchen/bin. Served its purpose of an overnight stay to enable us to visit Chatham dockyards the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Deceivingly Nice Hotel!

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Room, staff and service
Cons: The outside needs a little attention
We recently stayed at Ship and Trades overnight as we were attending a wedding nearby. Although the Hotel is on the Marina, from the outside it didn't really look that appealing. However looks can be deceiving. Our room was lovely. Much better than expected. It was clean, well decorated, had a lovely modern bathroom and a very large balcony over looking the Marina which was beautiful to wake up to. The staff were very friendly, especially the young lady on reception (think her name was Emily). Breakfast was included in our room rate and the menu choice was extensive. As we'd been to a Wedding reception the previous night and were probably still inebriated in the morning, needless to say we opted for the full English which was superb and certainly did the trick. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend this quaint little hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice close to restaurants

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Nice spot by the pier. Very convenient for my business trip. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is situated over a pub but it wasn't noisy for me and was a nice spot for a nightcap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne

Nice hotel. Historical dockyard

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Plenty of restaurants near by and nice outlet shops. Nice hotel very friendly staff. Nothing to much trouble if you need to change your food order. Very good choice of breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My review

Posted Jun 25, 2017
This was an excellent start to our stay in Rochester but please get a completely new street map showing Chatham and Rochesteram and all streets. The two maps we got were confusing
3 out of 5
by Peter

An Aussie in the UK

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
We are older Aussies traveling for 6 weeks.Hotels.com said that the room was air-conditioned but it was not and had a fan and a small louvre window in the bedroom.It was very hot.The WiFi was inadequate and I had to ask for it to be rebooted a few times during my stay and it was poor in my room and as we were constantly traveling we need the WIFI for communication.The staff at this pub were its greatest asset and could not be more helpful
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Very good location, shame about the neighbours.

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
A well located hotel with friendly staff and a good restaurant. Choose to either eat in the bar or the restaurant with no difference in the bill, just a change in the service style. My only complaint was the general store under the rooms, which seemed to encourage teens to gather and talk, loudly. I know, not within the hotel's control, but it does effect your stay. I suggest a room with even numbers as that should put them on the other side of the building. That aside, very good location, views and value.