Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Welcoming hotel overlooking historic Chatham Docky

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Consistently high standards.
Cons: A free bottle of water in the room for each guest would be very welcome, especially when I arrive after the bar has closed.
Location: Many local attractions and good places to eat. Chatham Dockyard is a fascinating look into British maritime history, Rochester, Upnor, and lots more!
Always enjoy staying here, clean, comfortable, with helpful staff. Plenty of car parking space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sandhurst, Berkshire

Great hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, food, hotel style
Cons: Nothing just keep the standard you have.
Location: Docklands, shopping outlets
Hotel and 1940's experience weekend in Chatham was a gift from our daughter. The hotel was great location, staff welcoming, rooms clean, food great, breakfast fulfilling. We will be going back to stay there again. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brum

Beautiful hotel on the docks

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We had a great 1 night stay with dinner and breakfast. The building is a converted ship workshop and throughout the decor pays tribute to the heritage. Really beautifully decorated with interesting detail.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Midlands

Great position

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Perfect. Place to stay when visiting Rochester and Chatham Quiet comfortable room with restricted view of Marina. Very busy pub and restaurant but able to reserve a table and food good ,though menue was restricted as many dishes were "sold out It was a bank holiday weekend. Breakfast was excellent with a great choice of cooked dishes, Plenty of free parking
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Hotel staff were really helpful and happy. Room was immaculate but it was very hot,there were no large windows to open and no air con. There was a fan in the room but not ideal. Food was ok. Bar area smelled of stale beer and the corridors of the hotel smelled of stale kitchen/bin. Served its purpose of an overnight stay to enable us to visit Chatham dockyards the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Deceivingly Nice Hotel!

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Room, staff and service
Cons: The outside needs a little attention
We recently stayed at Ship and Trades overnight as we were attending a wedding nearby. Although the Hotel is on the Marina, from the outside it didn't really look that appealing. However looks can be deceiving. Our room was lovely. Much better than expected. It was clean, well decorated, had a lovely modern bathroom and a very large balcony over looking the Marina which was beautiful to wake up to. The staff were very friendly, especially the young lady on reception (think her name was Emily). Breakfast was included in our room rate and the menu choice was extensive. As we'd been to a Wedding reception the previous night and were probably still inebriated in the morning, needless to say we opted for the full English which was superb and certainly did the trick. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend this quaint little hotel.
5 out of 5
by Sandra

Outstanding

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
Great food service staff location
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Disappointing breakfast

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
Overall a lovely hotel. Bit disappointed with breakfast. had omelette which looked nothing like an omelette and burnt at edges and very tough. This really was the only fault we could find.
5 out of 5
by david

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
Lo
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing views of harbour , free upgrade ...