Ratings based on 2,290 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Old and wanting.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Was booked on a whim and staff was very friendly. Valet transported guest from lobby to back of the property (old building) to guest rooms.
Cons: Everything. Breakfast buffet was not what it used to be. More like Motel 6. No more waffle makers and fruit toppings. Cold eggs and meats
Location: Lots to do but we were passing through.
Room was not ready at check-in. Beds were not made or cleaned. Housekeeping did respond fast but it took over an hour to prepare the room. $7.00 dollar parking was over the top!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor

Bare bones

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Not much. The name is the best part. The lobby is nice, but very loud and echoes!
Cons: Desperately needs updating!
The train is very expensive to stay in. The building is far from the front of the building. It is made of cylinder block and is not very inviting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Two issues

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: The pools are not maintain (ie) water not clear and main drain could not seen from deck at indoor pool. The carpet in the Pullman was worn and dirty
Location: The free tram and the dining
I enjoyed it since I had never been before but the weather was too hot
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel in downtown

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: hotel staff was nice and friendly. my little girl like the indoor pool alot.
Cons: maybe put so microwaves in rooms and have some eating places on site.
Location: the location was in middle of downtown. not to much we near to do had to either drive or take the shuttle to get to were you needed to go.
We have stayed here as a family alot of times. This time was not good. The rooms were great but had no good eating place like they used to. Only thing food on site was morning breakfest. I hope they get this fixed or we may not be back at this hotel again. They also didnt have a microwave in room, you had to go down to the pool area just to warm something up which is crazy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel stat

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Fun hotel. Outdoor pool too cold. Buffet good! Close too downtown activities. More of a variety of food places other than brewery's!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Childhood memories

Posted Aug 2, 2016
My family stayed here each year traveling to FL growing up; it looks nearly identical. The new restaurant was very pretty, gardens were well kept. Interior lobby very pretty. I suspect they are limited in updating the facility because of its historic site listing. It would take a large capital expenditure but the facades to the outer buildings need updated! They look no different than they did my first stay in 1976; the rail cars are the same....that should not be the case. The room was very basic and need of an update. I was disappointed to see the model railroad had been removed. St. Louis Union Station is currently going renovation; I recommend s trip there by management to capture some ideas? Both faculties have endless possibilities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Great experience.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Ambiance, location, price.
Cons: One elevator down in building where we stayed. Not really a problem as other one seemed to be able to handle traffic fine.
Location: Aquarium and zoo are great. Good selection of dining and drinking venues. Lots we did not get time for.
Chattenooga is a fun place to visit. Lots to do and see. Location of the hotel was very good. Good restaurant and brewhaus selection within walking distance. Lot's of amenities at hotel (pool, dining, entertainment, etc.). Plenty of parking, although there is a small charge.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Rude staff and horrible manager

Posted Aug 1, 2016
I reserved a room for 7.30.16 and somehow the room booked through Expedia website incorrectly for 7.28.16 When I arrived at 6pm on 7.30.16 to check in the staff could my find my reservation The manager was called and all he could say was well you booked it wrong and we are sold out. Could care less about my situation. No one gave a crap that my reservation was screwed up. I had a 3 yr old and a 1 yr old screaming to be let out of the car. Thanks Chattanooga Choo Choo, we will never be back So I had to call Expedia and my "non-refundable" reservation was refunded Expedia could not find another hotel in downtown area for me so I had to find one myself. Luckily I am a Marriott member and was able to book a room even though Expedia said there were no rooms available at the Marriott.... Strange
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Not the experience I was expecting

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Staff needs to appreciate customers.
Location: Great downtown location.
I have slept in a lot of hotels and this has to be the worst experience that I have ever had. Staff was horrible. Had no idea where registration was. Didn't even acknowledge me and I had to ask them if I was in the right place. Couldn't get into the hotel after parking. Key card would not work. Got to room 2001 and it was the dirtiest mustiest smelling room with lots of carpet stains. Called front desk and it took them 40 minutes to bring a replacement room key. Had to walk in the dark, with no lights, to find new room. Very scary with no security. Hotel worker with golf cart passed me three times and never offered to help me with my luggage and find new room. Totally disappointed. Pool was also closed due to chemical treatment over 24 hours ago.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tn

Run down

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Old, run down, smells bad. Not good for the money. have stayed in better places for less money. 30 dollars for breakfast for 2 people.