Ratings based on 2,320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lis angeles

Unique hotel but needs update

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Building 3 needs to be torn down wish I could have stayed in the other buildings or train cars. I loved the history of the place. Beautiful old architecture and friendly staff made for a pleasant stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs renovation! To far from downtown

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Very outdated room with toenail clippings on the floor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

total disappointment

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: The best part of our visit was the staff and garden.
Cons: In desperate need of a complete facelift. This once beautiful hotel is decaying.
Location: In a great location with many attractions within walking distance. There is also a free bus service.
Hotel is in desperate need of remodeling. Room did not resemble web photo. The pool was unusable, totally green. The air conditioning was horrible. Bathroom outdated we left a day early.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ringgold, Ga

Business and pleasure

Posted Sep 1, 2016
I stay here on the weekends with my twins. Usually I am working and they play in the pool. I love the atmosphere. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Our favorite is Stacey. She works 3rd. We had an incident where we needed sheets, blankets and pillows and she was the sweetest thing. We love coming here and hope to see you all again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Old and wanting.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Was booked on a whim and staff was very friendly. Valet transported guest from lobby to back of the property (old building) to guest rooms.
Cons: Everything. Breakfast buffet was not what it used to be. More like Motel 6. No more waffle makers and fruit toppings. Cold eggs and meats
Location: Lots to do but we were passing through.
Room was not ready at check-in. Beds were not made or cleaned. Housekeeping did respond fast but it took over an hour to prepare the room. $7.00 dollar parking was over the top!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor

Bare bones

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Not much. The name is the best part. The lobby is nice, but very loud and echoes!
Cons: Desperately needs updating!
The train is very expensive to stay in. The building is far from the front of the building. It is made of cylinder block and is not very inviting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Two issues

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: The pools are not maintain (ie) water not clear and main drain could not seen from deck at indoor pool. The carpet in the Pullman was worn and dirty
Location: The free tram and the dining
I enjoyed it since I had never been before but the weather was too hot
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel in downtown

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: hotel staff was nice and friendly. my little girl like the indoor pool alot.
Cons: maybe put so microwaves in rooms and have some eating places on site.
Location: the location was in middle of downtown. not to much we near to do had to either drive or take the shuttle to get to were you needed to go.
We have stayed here as a family alot of times. This time was not good. The rooms were great but had no good eating place like they used to. Only thing food on site was morning breakfest. I hope they get this fixed or we may not be back at this hotel again. They also didnt have a microwave in room, you had to go down to the pool area just to warm something up which is crazy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel stat

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Fun hotel. Outdoor pool too cold. Buffet good! Close too downtown activities. More of a variety of food places other than brewery's!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Childhood memories

Posted Aug 2, 2016
My family stayed here each year traveling to FL growing up; it looks nearly identical. The new restaurant was very pretty, gardens were well kept. Interior lobby very pretty. I suspect they are limited in updating the facility because of its historic site listing. It would take a large capital expenditure but the facades to the outer buildings need updated! They look no different than they did my first stay in 1976; the rail cars are the same....that should not be the case. The room was very basic and need of an update. I was disappointed to see the model railroad had been removed. St. Louis Union Station is currently going renovation; I recommend s trip there by management to capture some ideas? Both faculties have endless possibilities.