Ratings based on 2,468 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very disappointed

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: It was easy to find
Location: Free electric bus to the downtown area but hotel was pushing the paid trolley tour and did not let you know about the options
We stayed in the train car room and it was dirty,dated, and smelled of mold. Fiberglass in the tub was cracked and homeless people were sleeping in the garden right outside the room. Paid extra to stay in the train and will never come here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Chesney C., Hotel Management
I'm so very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We are currently undergoing renovations and the train car rooms are next. I will get with our staff about making sure to let guests know of their transportation options. The Trolley Hop just opened and is based inside our hotel, which is why we are promoting it. We do have ambassadors that here around the clock roaming the property, however our property is open to the public. I do hope you reconsider coming back once renovations are complete.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Train Car was the best!!!

Posted May 11, 2017
We've stayed here three times now, but this was our first time in a train car. It was so perfect! The beds were comfortable, the shower had good water pressure, and it was surprisingly quiet! This is our new favorite hotel and we'll always sleep on trains again! :-)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Chatanooga Choo Choo Hotel disappoints

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: It was directly across from Conference location. The staff was very nice.
Cons: Bedspreads.
Location: Nothing, if you were not attending conference. Some upscale restaurants.
Very sparse. Just sheets and thin blanket on bed. Not a place to, safely, walk to from hotel to get reasonably priced food. I was alone and just really did not feel safe there. I should have asked for 2nd floor room. At check in, I did not realize that there was a sliding glass door to patio that opened up into area that was assessable to anyone who wanted to enter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

Dated, but a fun novelty

Posted Apr 7, 2017
We had a good time staying in one of the train cars at the Choo Choo. It is a fun experience, but just be prepared that the rooms feel very dated and have a musty smell to them. Also, the bathrooms are tiny and very outdated. Lastly, each train car has two rooms in it and the walls between them are paper thin! But we still enjoyed it just for the experience of staying in the train car! Probably a one time thing :-) The lobby and common areas were beautiful and the staff was very helpful and friendly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Historic train car

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Have you ever stayed in a Pullman train car made famous by the legendary Glen Miller? Well, you should! Our family of 4 was comfortable in the car. The station itself is gorgeous. If you want to have a unique experience and you like fine visuals and history, this place is for you!
4 out of 5
by Ananda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Riley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Cindie

Weekend getaway

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
A must once in your Life! Very clean but rustic, which is what you are looking for when you stay there. Bed VERY comfortable. Must get a Pullman car to get the full affect. The grounds are very family friendly, but not so much that couples don't feel welcome, which was the case with my husband and me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Muldrow Ok

Cold and wet

Posted Mar 19, 2017
My room was at far end and had to walk a long ways to restaurant and lobby in the cold rain and wind. They charge you separately to park on their lot 7 dollars a day.
3 out of 5
by Alice

Ants at the Choo Choo!

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
We had ants in the bathroom. The lobby is amazing and the grounds but you do not have to stay at the hotel to experience the beauty and history of the depot.