Ratings based on 1,659 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Great hotel. Great location. Terrific staff.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Location, history, amenities
Cons: Bathroom size
Location: Champy's fried chicken,! Simply the BEST!!!
Excellent experience, we'll be back ! Staff is friendly and professional. Great bar and restaurant. Room size is great. Our 4th stay on our way to Florida. Great location. Lots to see and do in a very interesting town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Air conditioner in the wall!!!'

Posted Feb 22, 2017
In our room the air conditioner was in the wall the bed was attached to so it vibrated like crazy! My wife and I couldn't sleep there and had to sleep on the fold out couch. I told the staff and they said oh yeah some of the rooms are that way. I told them we had to sleep on the couch. They could've cared less. This place sucks don't come here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Good amenities, tired building

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Nice work out amenities and pool
Cons: Cleanliness. And if they're not offering breakfast (which seems commonplace these days) hot coffee in the lobby would be nice
Location: Nice option is you're visiting Rock City and/or Lookout Mountain.
While I appreciated the "old world" charm of the building, and my children enjoyed the pool, I found the overall appearance of The Read House disappointing. The carpets were dirty and buckling (in both the corridors and guest rooms), the wallpaper was water stained and peeling off the walls (in both the corridors and guests rooms) and most of the surfaces felt dirty. That said, I was pleasantly surprised by how clean and comfy the bed was! Upon check-in our attendant failed to inform us that there are multiple elevator bays within the hotel and that ignorer to access our room a specific elevator needed to be used; a frustrating experience as I wandered around with five tired kids. The attendant also failed to provide us a sheet that I saw other guest received regrading hotel amenities, wifi, and local attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is very old, does not Look any renovati.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Is located in a good location, is ok for the price. Don't expect luxurious room, they are simple and basic. I like the lobby arquitectural, but room need to be updated. Bar area is wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from livonia

great location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Loved the old architectural details left in place. Great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Repeat customer

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Neat, old hotel. Right in downtown Chattanooga, walking distance to a lot of great restaurants! Read House is just cozy and a feeling of being in the early 1900s. We love it. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Bathroom tile floors could use some heavy scrubbing, but other things are clean. We will continue to try and stay here while in Chattanooga-AH
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Such a great place to stay....

Posted Feb 11, 2017
So nice...elegant. Wonderful staff and fantastic accommodations. Truly our most favorite place to stay in Chattanooga!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Very clean and if your into historical sites this is an awesome place to stay they don't build like this anymore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rainsville, Alabama

close to everything

Posted Feb 9, 2017
The Read House is an excellent hotel right in the center of downtown Chattanooga. It is close to many restaurants, attractions, and the free shuttle that travels through all downtown. The hotel is old and historic and very lovely on the inside. We really enjoyed our stay and come back there each time we have things to do in Chattanooga.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

I will not be returning to the Read House

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The hotel was old and needed updating. We were unable to contact the front desk for more linens because the phones were not working properly. Also, the hotel was very loud and made it impossible to sleep in. The only positive about this hotel is the close proximity to downtown. I will be staying at the Chattanoogan when I return.