Ratings based on 1,418 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

family emergency

Posted Aug 30, 2016
i had to come to Chattanooga due to a family emergency, where my stepson wound up in the CICU at Erlanger hospital, the staff at Read was vary accommodating and understanding to out needs and when out of their way to make sure our stay was pleasant. i would recommend staying at the Read for the hospitality they provide
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Murfreesboro, TN

Nice clean hotel close to the downtown area

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Room was not huge, but comfortable, AC could have been a little cooler...room was clean....Porter's restaurant was fantastic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guntersville, AL

Great place , full of old school charm

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location, ambiance, service, amenities
Cons: Nothing
Location: Downtown Chattanooga, you name it, just about everything is walking distance.
Great value for a historic hotel with all the charm and ambiance missing from everywhere else. We will definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Awesome hotel to visit but not stay at

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Cons: Hotel DEFINITELY is due for some room updates.
If you want to see a piece of history, the historical aspects of this hotel are beautiful from the lobby, there are even some local tours that go through here. The staff is definitely not the friendliest or most responsive. The rooms were extremely disappointing. Chipped paint on the walls, old toilets, showers, etc. When I got to the room I felt more like I was in a cheap motel than how the hotel is presented on the main level. Ick.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S, Nashville, Tn.

A very beautiful era

Posted Aug 24, 2016
It feels almost like walking back in time...to a bygone era of quiet, beautiful and simple understated elegance...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced

Posted Aug 22, 2016
I think what the only thing you're paying for here is the history of the place. My wife and I had to call maintenance a couple of times because our room would not cool off. When he showed up, he had a box fan in hand And that it's blowing as it should be blowing. For the amount of money spent to stay at this place and be offered a box fan was a bit insulting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh

Cool older hotel in downtown. I liked the vibe.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
It's a little worn and some of the room furniture has been replaced with cheap laminate but its a really nice place and the staff are great. My room was very clean. It was a nice stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mount Juliet, TN

Fabulous hotel!

Posted Aug 20, 2016
I felt like we were back in the 1930s. It is a gorgeous, absolutely neat hotel. The lobby is awesome with cool phone booths, a mail shute starting a top floor to lobby ha is still operational. Huge ballroom with silver on the wall... Our room was great.. We were upgraded to a Kng Deluxe at checkin just because it was available... I was clean and bed was great... Felt so cozy... Valet crew was hardworking and very nice, desk clerks were nice and shared some hotel history....bar in Porters was so quaint... We ate the BEST crab ales we have ever had, and Sarah, the bartender was so friendly... She suggested several restaurants...2 of which we visited... Both great!.. I had read a few poor reviews in need for updating when I booked, but I did not see that... Read House is almost 100 years old and that's the charm... Sure, all hotels have to update won't the way, but this place will be my new PLACE in Chattanooga if I get a good deal again.... FABULOUS !!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Quick Getaway

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Me and my boyfriend had a few days off and wanted just to get away and relax and Chattanooga was the perfect place he has never been and it was a great and quick location why not! But the hotel was great everything was walking distance and convient! Will be returning
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from knoxville

Close to everything downtown but update

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Very old obviously.. historic. The bed was amazing but the air conditioning needs help. Very nice staff.