Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Al Leamson Resort

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: How understanding the manager was.
Cons: The bathroom, air con and safe facilities could be improved. We had difficulties with the safe and didn't feel confident leaving our valuables in it.
Location: Location is at the furthest point away on Chaweng beach approx 1/2 km away from the central part of Chaweng beach and the main night life/facilities.
We booked this hotel based on its location through Expedia. However, when we arrived it was not in the central part of Chaweng beach and at the furthest point away. It is located next door to Casa De Mar. The rooms are little huts and the air-con didn't work. The bathroom was also dark and dingy and the shower was outside but attached to the main bathroom through a door. If you do not like walking long distances or have difficulty walking up steps; this 'hotel' is not for you. After discussing our concerns with the manager about the location, he offered to move us to Al's resort which is located more centralily. However, we decided this place was not for us and only stayed one night. I cannot fault the manager who refunded us the other nights that we had booked to stay.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Cincinnati, Oh

Peace and quiet...

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Love this place!! Nice and quiet bungalow setting. Beautiful beach access and the food was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Jeff from Ojai, Ca

A work in progress

Posted Mar 13, 2015 on Hotels
I was expecting a resort on the beach, but the walk to the unappealing dirty beach took a few minutes. The new bungalow style rooms are like fishbowls and the entire property is a work in progress. The staff was very cordial, friendly and helpful. They quickly offered a room at their sister hotel in central Chaweng Beach Al's Resort.
3 out of 5
by tanye from aus

Pleasant stay

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels
It was overall an okay (3.5star) experience. Just a few issues in regards to water pressure and termites. We didn't notice the termites until the next day, as they were hiding behind the tissue box in the toilet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Nice Resort with own beach

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: The rooms, the swimming pool, the breakfast buffet and the free shuttle service to the city centre.
Cons: The staff can open up umbrellas at the pool area in the morning so that the lounges aren't too hot to lie on when fequenting the pool.
Location: About 15min from main city with shops/markets/mall/bars/main beach. Free shuttle service provided at allocated times.
The resort has a very nice layout of rooms, pool area and breakfast area overlooking it's own 'private' beach with lounges and umbrellas. It's modern, neat and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast buffet. The WiFi did not work from the rooms or the pool area from our mobiles, but we were able to connect with iPad and there is a PC available to use to connect to internet. I highly recommend the resort for it's service, rooms and breakfast, the only setback is the location. It is not located on the main Chaweng beach; however they provide a free shuttle service at allocated times during the day to and from the centre of the city where all the restaurants/markets/shops/nightlife and main Chaweng beach are. It is not in walking distance from the city centre but it is a short drive. There are some local restaurants, laundry service etc. close by. Also a hospital which I visited everyday to clean wounds from a scooter accident. There is a bar at the pool-side, so you can order whilst in the swimming pool - it is very nice but expensive.
4 out of 5
by LeeLee from Liverpool

Good hotel, shame about the location

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was lovely, the hills to the rooms not so much. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the centre or a 5 minute taxi ride, costing THB50 per person (£1). The hotel has lovely facilities, big rooms, and a lovely pool and restaurant. This hotel is ideal if you want to get away from everything and chill out for a few days, however I would not stay here again, just as we where unable to walk into the centre as much as we would have liked, it had to be planned.
4 out of 5
by pki23 from New Zealand

Clean and comfortable

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable hotel with great service. Slightly further away from the main street than expected, but free shuttle service is handy as is hiring a motorbike/scooter from Reception. Pool and pool bar is fantastic and a great way to watch the hours go by. Private beach access although the beach isn't as nice for swimming as in main Chaweng.