Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Disappointing island accommodation

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Room that we booked was not as advertised...no twin beds,but trundle bed which was not made up upon arrival.The receptionist was unaccommodating. We had to wait until next day to move to new rooms,at additional upcharge. Our original room was falsely advertised as overlooking gardens, in reality it was overlooking the trash cans and food exhaust vans.We came over a thousand miles,and we were so disappointed w/lack of service and very little interest in righting their wrongs. Quite expensive which we were okay with since it was out on an island,but to be treated so poorly was inexcusable.The inn was very nice, but from the RUDE bellhop who picked us up@ the ferry,to several of the other staff,we think that the owners need to be aware of the indifference of the staff...they ruined our stay.As a former owner of an inn myself(14 plus years),I would hope the owners would appreciate this info.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spencer,ma

Exceptional staff

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Very warm ,inviting experience,every staff members we encountered were interested in making our stay a stay to remember and they succeeded.The dining experience was exceptional from service to presentation to taste. The Inn ,s porch is large and loaded with big comfy wicker to take off your shoes and put your feet up while sipping wine or munching on hot from the oven cookies generously passed to each guest during the afternoon. A roaring fire in the over sized stone fireplace after dinner put the perfect finishing touch to our day.
5 out of 5
by Irene


Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great time celebrating our wedding anniversary at this place. The staff was awesome, they even gave us a little celebration treat of free drinks. Overall this place is beautiful & relaxing. The room is immaculate. The grounds is surrounded with a prestine views & flowers. Highly recommended for romantic getaway.
5 out of 5
by Courtney

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
It was great!
3 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler

No Food at the Inn??

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Views were amazing. The food we were able to order and ate was very tasty. Hotel and grounds were clean.
Cons: Better planning by staff for guests coming off the ferry and a long drive. Such as...have enough food and staff available to serve the hotel guests!
Location: Not much to do. But a great place to relax and unwind.
Arrived off the ferry at noon not expecting to be able to check in, but definitely assuming we would be seated for lunch. My wife and I, along with two other couples who arrived the same time as us, were told there were two large parties in the restaurant at the hotel and the staff could not serve us...at all! This was very disappointing. We were directed to another "restaurant" (the only other on the island!) for lunch down by the harbor and no reservations were needed. With a positive attitude, we hopped on the "complimentary" bikes and headed to the harbor. What we found was the harbor store with numerous touristy type items to purchase. The kind girl behind the register pointed us to a refrigerated case that had sandwiches for us to purchase. We took the last two ham and cheese (gouda!) sandwiches and a bag of chips and had lunch down by the harbor. I must admit it was a mumble, yet nice experience. Back at the hotel I shared with the manager what had happened and I hoped his dinner staff would make our 30th wedding anniversary dinner (yes, we had reservations thankfully!) a little extra special for the inconvenience at lunch. She said, "Of course! You are staying here and we want to accommodate your needs to the best of our ability" Dinner was superb, but there was not extra special effort to make the $250 (wine and tip included) meal a special one. Overeall...the website we used over exaggerated the wow factor for this establishment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
This historic property is amazing with plenty of interesting stairways, hallways and architectural features to appreciate -- perfect for sipping a glass of wine and walking among the grounds. Even our small room (as it was listed) exceeded our expectation and was quite roomy and charming. Staff was pleasure and the entire grounds were very well maintained. Wish we could've stayed longer than just the single night we had planned.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York (upstate)

old time inn

Posted Jul 5, 2017
the inn aas nice but dining choice overpriced and many people told us not that good, we did not eat there. Bathrooms shared with the whole floor but bever anyone in there and very clean. No elevator so prepare for stairs. The island had no choices fir food ir other hotels and a car would have helped to get around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Service was a bit disparate - most of the waitstaff was very nice but some were unhelpful and not respectful.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod, MA

Nice room, great porch

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: The room and the porch.
Cons: Dinner entrees could have less esoteric side dishes.
Location: It's a bit of a pain to get there and not much to see or do on Chabeaque. Once was enough for me. I go to Monhegan about twice a year however
The room was very nice with a good size bathroom. Sitting on the porch was a great treat. Dinner was OK but rather pricey. The island itself was not very interesting which I toured from a bike provided by the Inn. The Island Inn on Monhegan has more charm and that island has more sights to see from it's trails.