Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice hotel friendly staff

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Stayed for one night as attending a party clean and confortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Penrith

Comfy hotel close to town centre

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Large room.
Cons: Heater is rather noisy.
Location: Close to city centre and within ten minutes walk of the railway station.
A pleasant, quiet hotel with helpful staff. Food excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfy beds, bathroom looked brand new

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Beds
Cons: Heating
Arrived at 9pm after a 3 hour journey and was told the restaurant was fully booked as they were having a Xmas party !! Not impressed. So had to walk into town which took only 10 minutes but there wasn't much open but managed to get a burger . Apart from that comfy rooms but heating was a bit hit and miss and old fashioned .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Based on our room, not a great hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2017 on Hotels
Room 110. This room is on the ground floor right next to the entrance so you hear all the noise of guests coming and going. This room has a door to allow access into the next room, it's not sound proofed and we could hear everything from next door. It appears we had been given a wheelchair friendly room, with all the grab rails and open space. Weirdly though the bathtub was really high up and hard to get into. The shower is decent but when you pull the shower curtain back you can hardly see anything as there are no lights above the bath. Only 2 lights above the sink, which is tiny and really low (for wheelchair users), no place to put toiletries. Picked this place over premier inn because of the free car park. Next time I would prefer to pay for the parking.
4 out of 5
by nicholas

Weird decor, but comfortable enough

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
The corridors are lit pink with silhouettes of Mohammed Ali wearing lipstick on the walls! The room itself is fine. You have to be very careful with the shower curtain to avoid getting the floor soaked, but the heat and pressure are both good. Reception service was perfunctory, but overall everything was okay and I would stay again.
4 out of 5
by Jason

Need to improve check-in process.

Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
Clean and convenient, the only issue was that I had 3 customers booked in pre-paid but they were made to wait until I got there over an hour later to be able to check in. They were not overly happy as you can imagine so this needs some serious thought by the hotel. They had their names in the booking so I don’t see why they could not have got to their rooms. Also caused a restaurant reservation to be late also. Need to address this before I think of staying again, particularly as we were looking to use this for all business travel.
5 out of 5
by WILIIAM

Spot on for town centre.

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Weekend visit to Chelmsford for the first time. The hotel was modern and comfortable. The location was great for the town centre. room and facilities were very good. Great value for money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stay however...

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
It was a nice stay however I was rather annoyed that due to a private function we were not allowed to use the restaurant or bar area. I feel that I should have been told this at time of booking or had some money off for not being able to use all facilities
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nr35

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Hotel bathroom was not clean there was a tap running a bit and I found hairs in the bath the bathroom bin was not emptied and there was loud music down stairs due to a private function which went on until gone 2 in the morning
5 out of 5
by David

Great stay, great food, great people

Posted Sep 27, 2017 on Hotels
I had an executive room for 2 nights whilst away on business. Best night's sleep in a hotel for ages. Ate in restaurant and food was excellent, staff very friendly. You have free use of the gym next door so I will definitely be going back.