Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Super stay

Posted Dec 9, 2017
We arrived very late after a day out in London. Check in was easy and quick. Rooms were lovely and warm and the beds very comfy. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were friendly. Would recommend this Hoel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A quiet location with excellent breakfast

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: All good
Cons: A bit expensive for my budget
Location: all good
Excellent with very helpful staff. Good breakfast easy parking good sleep
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely place, great setting, good service.
5 out of 5
by MR M A

Just one night

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
Wife and I stayed Friday night in an Executive double room. Room was spacious, clean, well furnished with a large, well equipped bathroom. One slight downside was no heating (evenings get chilly in September)- reception said it "comes on a little bit late evening/early morning, but it didn't. Fan heater in the wardrobe worked hard and succeeded to relieve the situation. Maybe we're especially cold mortals, being of a late age. Dinner was very good and price-wise in line with quality and service. The hot food at breakfast was a bit of a let-down in so far as it was pre-cooked, not to order and this has never worked in all the years I've experienced it. Eggs need frying and eating with minimal "stand time" and barely warm bacon, tomatoes, hash browns etc., are a turn off. In fact, it ruins the quality of the otherwise good quality raw material. Fresh hot food would set you up for the day and leave a much better taste in the mouth not only for the food but the hotel as a whole. Staff were on the ball and seemed committed. Overall a good experience at a competitive price. Attention to points raised would raise our rating to a .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stafford

nice hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
only stayed overnight very nice place would stay again very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Devon

Like a family run hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: It's location in the countryside and its staff.
Cons: Breakfast could be improved with perhaps kippers and black pudding being available. Also Expedia need to sort out its invoicing procedures with hotel.
Location: No time to explore as it was a business trip.
Quiet location and pleasant drive way to the hotel. All staff helpful and friendly. Not sure if this is a family run hotel but it felt like it. Good amenities and easy access wifi. Evening meal was very good and breakfast was buffet style but ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, UK

Beautifully peaceful stay

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Stayed at Pontlands Park for 2 nights, one before and one after having surgery at the nearby hospital. Cleanliness, peacefulness and comfort were absolute priorities and I could not have asked for more. An exceptional stay in beautiful surroundings. Can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike & Lorely from Köln

Very comfortable country house hotel.

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Location, style, bedrooms and staff were all just what we wanted
Cons: The weather! Nothing really.
Location: Maldon and and Heybridge Basin. Pin Mill. Sailing venues.
Very comfortable, geared up for conferences but ideal for a quiet break and a good base to explore the Blackwater and Crouch Estuaries. Lovely staff, good food, excellent breakfasts.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over rated and over priced

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Outside and drive in was nice.
Cons: Never asked if had a good stay as they knew we weren't happy. We were supposed to be in a refurbished room so hate to imagine the others.
We arrived at the hotel and lovely outside. Got up to our room and had 1 towel which was dirty. Asked for a replacement and as a double room needed 2 which had to ask for again. No shower cap which they had run out of and not not once said sorry for anything. Door to bathroom looked like it had been kicked in and chiped and split. We commented on it being very expensive and didn't even include breakfast which they said that is what it is even though not busy and during the day saw it was cheaper. We were recommended this hotel as friends got married there and they were upset to hear it was poor. Even a Premier Inn or Travelodge would have been much better for a lot less. Won't stay there again.