Ratings based on 1,616 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Downgraded with no compensation

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: the pool area and service by the pool was great
Cons: As an Expedia gold + member we were offered an "extra" this hotel offered free wifi - which they offer to everyone..... not impressed.
Unfortunately our stay was not what we had hoped for. Upon arrival we were informed that our room was being "downgraded" - the guest services manager came to inform us personally and we were told that she was going to make sure to take care of us because of this. We had a Platinum Suite room booked,(separate living room/balcony) and were downgraded to a platinum king (no balcony/no separate living room). We were very understanding despite never being offered any partial credit or refund. The guest services manager had a cheap bottle of champagne sent to the room. Even still we were very understanding until later that night when we asked to have the sofa bed made up. No one ever showed up to help us, and when we attempted ourselves we found that the bed was broken and unusable. We call for help multiple times and were not able to speak with anyone. We had no extra blankets for the sofa bed, and one of us slept on the cough with no blanket. The next morning at checkout we nicely brought up our concerns and were told the guest services manager was unavailable and would contact us shortly, days later we still haven't heard from anyone. The staff at the front desk didn't seem to care about our concerns and just kept smiling and saying there was nothing he could do to help us :( The pool was wonderful, the rooms were very nice but for the money the service was far below what we were hoping for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

A Quick Visit

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Dream Downtown is an interesting experience. The hotel has been nicely done and is very vibrant, but with the roof top bar, it can become somewhat of a night club at night given the location. This isn't a bad thing, it's just something to be aware of; the noise from the party on the roof doesn't impact your stay in any way. Speaking of the noise, given that this is an older building that has been renovated, the walls are quite thin. You can hear everything. I mean EVERYTHING. More than once in only 3 nights, we heard things we'd have rather not, both in our room and in the hallway walking back to our room. Dream Downtown is a great place and I'd stay again, but go in with knowledge, because you should know what you're buying. Bodega Negra is a great place to eat and the proximity to both Chelsea Market and many other restaurants/cafes/bars makes the location unbeatable. You can pretty much walk anywhere in New York from here (depending on how much you like to walk), with the High Line and shopping close by.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel in meatpacking disteict

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Nice bonus with pool and Rooftop Bar, but this hotel is too loud with minimal privacy. The rooms are incredibly small as well. Music blared onto pool speakers every morning at 7am and the music from the bars could be heard in your room all night. If you are going to New York for a Las Vegas experience, this would be the place to stay, but otherwise, I would chose another hotel for a NYC experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking time out of your day to write an honest review of your stay with us here at The Dream Downtown! Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. It seems as though you do like parts of our hotel and there are some parts you're not as keen on. I do understand that certain areas and features of our hotel are a required taste. We are forever changing to better suit our guest's needs, thank you so much for your feedback! We are committed to providing our guests with a restful night sleep, as well as a wonderful stay/vacation. I do hope you give us another chance with some of your preferences listed so we can make your stay a seamless and restful one! Mallory & The Dream Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Guests are an afterthought.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Couldn't use the pool for 3 days as they sell loungers to paying outsiders. Clubbers swarm the lobby and the lifts. How can a hotel at this price not have pay movies or Netflix on TVs in rooms? You need to be drunk to enjoy this place and a lot of people swilling around it are.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Dear Will, We receive your feedback with great regret, our guests are first and foremost always our number one priority and i am so sorry if we did not make you feel as such! We agree that guests should be able to rent movies or watch their Netflix while staying with us, we now how important these factors can be comfort-ability wise. With that said we have recently installed a new system into all our TV's that will allow guests to watch their previously downloaded iTunes films and shows as well as login to their Netflix. Again i am so sorry you did not feel of the utmost importance during your stay with us Will, i assure you that is not our goal! We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope we can welcome you back sometime in the future. Warm Regards, Mallory & The Dream Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Very fun and access to PHD was awesome Staff was very pleasant and the pool was great. Truly enjoyed my stay room was a little small but other than that I was satisfied
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking time out of your day to write an honest review of you stay with us here at The Dream Downtown! I am overjoyed that we were able to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable one. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dream Downtown! Warm Regards, Mallory & The Dream Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hackensack nj

Very nice me & my wife had a great time

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Very nice Hotel with a great atmosphere. Everybody was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Dear Steven, Thank you for taking time out of your day to write an honest review of your stay with us here at The Dream Downtown! I am overjoyed that we were able to exceed your expectations and make you and your wives stay a memorable one. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and look forward to having you back to The Dream in the future! Warm Regards, Mallory & The Dream Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
No thank you, beds are horrible & hotel sevice sucked!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Front desk did not know I needed a double bed Then put me in room with no view
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AU

Great location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Great hotel, large rooms, big bathroom for NYC, little balcony was a plus! Staff were friendly and helpful. The pool area is too small and you have to put your name down on a waitlist to get a pool lounge chair. Inbelive it's open to the public for a fee which fills it up and makes it impossible to just wonder down and bask in the sun. Overall, it was a nice stay and the location can't be beaten!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Mallory, Hotel Management
Dear Pat, Firstly thank you for taking time out of your day to write an honest review of your stay with us here at The Dream Downtown! We are over joyed we were able to exceed your expectations, and make your stay a memorable one! We do allow non-hotel guests to the pool on weekdays for a small fee, but for our guests comfort we limit the amount of people we allow to the pool daily, as well as we do not allow them to obtain chairs. In hopes of being a safe haven for our locals as well as a little Oasis for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Dream in the future! Warm Regards, Mallory & The Dream Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to Meatpacking District

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Great location, very close to Chalsea Market and High Line. Great party pool for those who like it (wouldn't recommend for kids). Plenty of nightclub and restaurant options attached to hotel or in walking distance. Minibar seemed overpriced, luckily there are stores close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Dear Traveler. Thank you for taking time out of your day to write an honest review of your stay with us at The Dream Downtown! It seems as though you do like parts of our hotel and there are some parts you're not as keen on. I do understand that certain areas and features of our hotel are a required taste. We are forever changing to better suit our guest's needs, thank you so much for your feedback! We will certainly take all of these points into consideration! And look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Warm Regards, Mallory & The Dream Team