Ratings based on 1,561 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tarrytown, New York

Modern comfort

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Cons: Upon checking out, I was told that there will be a $9.95 resort charge. I was surprised and told the staff that this should have been included.
Location: Chelsea Market is directly across the street from the hotel. There are clothing shops and restaurants. Starbucks is one block south on 15th Street.
I was initially intrigued by this hotel's modern design and the location was good too. The round windows remind me of giant passenger ships and I had the view of Empire State building.Loved it. The front desk staff was young, good-looking and friendly. The room was in decent size by any standard and I loved the designs of the modern fixtures, from lamps, clock radio, to furniture. The bed was soft to the touch but with good firmness. The sheets were relatively new and made from good cotton. The standard items, such as ironing set, safe, hangers, and hairdryer were there, but no coffee maker, so you can't even make tea. Although there were no complimentary slippers, the carpet on the floor provided enough comfort, so that you you don't walk on the cold floor. The toilet seat was high. The room was very quiet with occasional sound coming from the hallway when people walk by. You will hear someone near you closing the door. The carpet in the hallway helped a bit. No traffic noise whatever and it's unusual for New York City. Unless you look out, you feel like you are in a countryside. A small restaurant was near the front lobby with typical North-American/Latin-American dishes. I did not use the swimming pool, which's on the second floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Mallory Matoush, Hotel Management
Dear Thomas, What a wonderful review! We thank you kindly for your feedback, and am overjoyed we were able to exceed your expectations of your stay with us! I noticed you mentioned there was no coffee maker in the room, please note some of our room categories do not come with them already in the room but we can certainly place them there for you upon availability as we have extras on property for moments like this! I thank you again for your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back to The Dream Downtown! Warmest Regards, Mallory & The Dream Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Rooms are a little small bit over all it was great. People are friendly and nice. I would go there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Dear Myrlene, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dream Downtown! I am overjoyed that we were able to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable one. We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back to Dream Downtown! P.S. We have 14 different room types, should you want to try a different layout for your next stay :) Warmest Regards, Mallory & The Dream Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO VIP services - loud and tacky

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: styling, soundproofing, expedia vip services
Location: chelsea, galleries, whitney, high line
My VIP 'perk' was the same free wifi everyone else gets. There are no Expedia VIP perks. Expedia needs to REMOVE this hotel from their VIP list. This hotel has no soundproofing - you will be up until 3am with the three clubs out on the street. The styling is cheap and tacky looking - waitresses in skin tight red tube dresses to their mid thigh at most and lacy over the knee hose with leather boots (no whips included). Geared toward 20 somethings and drunk businessmen. Only good thing is the location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud, tacky, VIP services suck

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: sound proofing, VIP services, styling choices
Location: middle of chelsea, close to galleries and the whitney, across the street from the chelsea market
I'm Expedia VIP. I was told I would get 'free wifi' - which is the same free wifi EVERY guest gets. To be clear - there ARE NO Expedia VIP perks or upgrades. The room I had was on the 5th floor. There is NO soundproofing to the outside. The noise from the 3 clubs out on the street was so loud it was impossible to sleep until about 3am each morning. The staff are friendly enough and the interior is actually quite good looking. However the club on top is really geared toward 20 somethings and businessmen with waitresses in super tight bright red dresses, lace knee highs and leather boots (no whip included). There is an utter lack of sophistication I like to see in better NY venues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Mallory, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write an honest review of your stay with us at Dream Downtown. Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. It seems as though you do like parts of our hotel and there are some parts you're not as keen on. I do understand that certain areas and features of our hotel are a required taste. We are forever changing to better suit our guest's needs, thank you so much for your feedback! Please note that we love our Expedia guests, and always offer what we can upon availability for their VIP's, we apologize you feel this was not done. We hope to have the opportunity to make this up to you in the future. We are committed to providing our guests with a restful night sleep, as well as a wonderful stay/vacation. I do hope you give us another chance with some of your preferences listed so we can make your stay a seamless and restful one! Mallory & The Dream Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in a trendy area

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Really nice hotel and friendly staff. Close to interesting places to visit in Manhattan.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Dear Raquel, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dream Downtown! I am overjoyed that we were able to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable one. We are forever changing to better suit our guests needs, we thank you kindly for your feedback! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dream Downtown! Warm Regards, Mallory & The Dream Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego california

Posted Nov 6, 2017
It was great! Slept well! Perfect location. Fun club .. overall wonderful
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Dear Lourdes, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dream Downtown! I am overjoyed that we were able to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable one. We are forever changing to better suit our guests needs, we thank you kindly for your feedback! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dream Downtown! Warm Regards, Mallory & The Dream Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really cool hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Trendy hotel, great location, the club downstairs was so fun, Tao next door was awesome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Dear Missy, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dream Downtown! I am overjoyed that we were able to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable one. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dream Downtown! Warm Regards, Mallory & The Dream Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island NY

Never called us when room was ready,@ check in

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Nobody showed up to help with lugages at check out At check in, room not ready so we walked around the area( really nice location!), and they never called as they promised when room is ready. We got tired walking and called the hotel and asked of room was ready and it was!! We had to tire ourselves walking so far!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Dear A, Firstly Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write an honest review of your stay with us at Dream Downtown! Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your check-in with us. It seems as though you do like parts of our hotel and there are some parts you're not as keen on. I do understand that certain areas and features of our hotel are a required taste. We are forever changing to better suit our guest's needs, thank you so much for your feedback! We do call our guests each time as their room is ready, there is a chance we had the wrong contact information on file, we do apologize for that, and we will certainly address this with our staff. Warm Regards, Mallory & The Dream Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no sleep

Posted Oct 30, 2017
We had to call the front desk three times from 2am-4am... the music from downstairs was so loud the beds were shaking. We got no sleep! We asked to be refunded and they would not! Great place to party but stay somewhere else!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Far too noisy

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: The location was convenient.
Cons: Not playing loud music. Soundproof rooms. The ability to get cold water from the taps.
Location: Chelsea Market and Greenwich Village, and The High Line, are all a short walk away.
The room was a bit shabby, with carpet only around the bed area. The taps and shower would only give out scaling hot water. The TV did not have many channels. These were annoying. But the main problem was the noise. Loud thumping bass music from somewhere else in the Hotel, until long after midnight, sometimes at 4am. This was on the 11th floor. Totally unacceptable.