Ratings based on 1,636 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing location and friendly staff

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Amazing location. And the staff was so helpful and friendly. Especially tenizen at the front desk! I will definitely stay here again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Loud. Overpriced. Nightclub music kept us awake until 4 am
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Amazing service, loved the location and pool.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Pool, location, decor, service.
Cons: Yes, we could hear a low vibe from the night club, but it did not really disturb us.
Location: Chelsea market is right across the street, High line is a few blocks away, C subway line is a block away. Can walk to Union square, Soho,
As soon as we arrived, someone greeted us, quickly helped us out of our cab, took our bags and led us to check in. Our room was ready (it was before noon) which was a bonus. All the staff were extremely warm and friendly. We had showers before we went out for dinner. When we came back, there were fresh towels in the room, and the curtains had be drawn. The pool is stunning. It was hot and sticky so it was great to be able to relax at the pool in the middle of the day. The lobby is also so pretty with the sunlight streaming in through the glass pool bottom in the morning. Drinks at the bar downstairs were delicious. Had a great view of the Empire State building from our room. Loved that Chelsea market was right across the street, and the subway was a block away so we could easily go uptown or downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Dear Rob, Thank you so much for your kind workds, and for taking the time to review your stay at Dream Downtown! I am overjoyed that we were able to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable one. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dream Downtown! Warm Regards, Mallory & The Dream Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Posted Oct 2, 2017
I loved having VIP access to the rooftop club PHD and downstairs club electric room. I am in my mid 20s, and this hotel was perfect for me. I was treated like a first class guest. The room had a cool vibe, and the location in Chelsea was perfect right across the chelsea market. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone that enjoys to have fun and dance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dream Downtown! I am overjoyed that we were able to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable one. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dream Downtown! Warm Regards, Mallory & The Dream Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Experience!

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Beautiful hotel, great lounges and restaurants in the hotel and around the hotel . Next to Tao, Chelsea Market and HighLine. Would stay here again ! Clean and comfortable great decor
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Dear Dreamer, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dream Downtown! I am overjoyed that we were able to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable one. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dream Downtown! Warm Regards, Mallory & The Dream Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT WORTH IT- Rude staff - dirty rooms

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Cool decor. Good location. That's it.
Cons: EVERYTHING. Clean your rooms and be nice to your guests.
I was really disappointed in my stay. The staff was pretty rude, especially the bartender in the lobby bar. The beds were uncomfortable, the carpet in our room was disgusting and so was the shower floor. Did not feel clean at all. We stayed at the hotel for access to the rooftop bar, but were told when we got there that it is not guaranteed. Luckily I didn't have an issue, but had I had an issue, I would have really been upset. Also, the alarm in our room was set for 6am and so we were abruptly and rudely awoken with no way of knowing how to even turn it off because their system was not user friendly. I had to completely wake up call the front desk who were ZERO help or kind about it and finally just unplugged it. It was a terrible place to stay. I have stayed at many places in NYC and this was NOT WORTH IT.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Traveler, We receive your feedback with the utmost regret. Absolutely this is not the standards you can expect from us here at The Dream. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as we do everything in our power to ensure this does not happen again. We wish we had the opportunity to rectify this situation for you whilst you were with us. Nevertheless thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review of your stay with us. We hope to be able to make it up to you in the future. Warm Regards, Mallory & The Dream Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Downgraded with no compensation

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: the pool area and service by the pool was great
Cons: As an Expedia gold + member we were offered an "extra" this hotel offered free wifi - which they offer to everyone..... not impressed.
Unfortunately our stay was not what we had hoped for. Upon arrival we were informed that our room was being "downgraded" - the guest services manager came to inform us personally and we were told that she was going to make sure to take care of us because of this. We had a Platinum Suite room booked,(separate living room/balcony) and were downgraded to a platinum king (no balcony/no separate living room). We were very understanding despite never being offered any partial credit or refund. The guest services manager had a cheap bottle of champagne sent to the room. Even still we were very understanding until later that night when we asked to have the sofa bed made up. No one ever showed up to help us, and when we attempted ourselves we found that the bed was broken and unusable. We call for help multiple times and were not able to speak with anyone. We had no extra blankets for the sofa bed, and one of us slept on the cough with no blanket. The next morning at checkout we nicely brought up our concerns and were told the guest services manager was unavailable and would contact us shortly, days later we still haven't heard from anyone. The staff at the front desk didn't seem to care about our concerns and just kept smiling and saying there was nothing he could do to help us :( The pool was wonderful, the rooms were very nice but for the money the service was far below what we were hoping for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

A Quick Visit

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Dream Downtown is an interesting experience. The hotel has been nicely done and is very vibrant, but with the roof top bar, it can become somewhat of a night club at night given the location. This isn't a bad thing, it's just something to be aware of; the noise from the party on the roof doesn't impact your stay in any way. Speaking of the noise, given that this is an older building that has been renovated, the walls are quite thin. You can hear everything. I mean EVERYTHING. More than once in only 3 nights, we heard things we'd have rather not, both in our room and in the hallway walking back to our room. Dream Downtown is a great place and I'd stay again, but go in with knowledge, because you should know what you're buying. Bodega Negra is a great place to eat and the proximity to both Chelsea Market and many other restaurants/cafes/bars makes the location unbeatable. You can pretty much walk anywhere in New York from here (depending on how much you like to walk), with the High Line and shopping close by.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel in meatpacking disteict

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Nice bonus with pool and Rooftop Bar, but this hotel is too loud with minimal privacy. The rooms are incredibly small as well. Music blared onto pool speakers every morning at 7am and the music from the bars could be heard in your room all night. If you are going to New York for a Las Vegas experience, this would be the place to stay, but otherwise, I would chose another hotel for a NYC experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking time out of your day to write an honest review of your stay with us here at The Dream Downtown! Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. It seems as though you do like parts of our hotel and there are some parts you're not as keen on. I do understand that certain areas and features of our hotel are a required taste. We are forever changing to better suit our guest's needs, thank you so much for your feedback! We are committed to providing our guests with a restful night sleep, as well as a wonderful stay/vacation. I do hope you give us another chance with some of your preferences listed so we can make your stay a seamless and restful one! Mallory & The Dream Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Guests are an afterthought.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Couldn't use the pool for 3 days as they sell loungers to paying outsiders. Clubbers swarm the lobby and the lifts. How can a hotel at this price not have pay movies or Netflix on TVs in rooms? You need to be drunk to enjoy this place and a lot of people swilling around it are.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Dear Will, We receive your feedback with great regret, our guests are first and foremost always our number one priority and i am so sorry if we did not make you feel as such! We agree that guests should be able to rent movies or watch their Netflix while staying with us, we now how important these factors can be comfort-ability wise. With that said we have recently installed a new system into all our TV's that will allow guests to watch their previously downloaded iTunes films and shows as well as login to their Netflix. Again i am so sorry you did not feel of the utmost importance during your stay with us Will, i assure you that is not our goal! We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope we can welcome you back sometime in the future. Warm Regards, Mallory & The Dream Team