Ratings based on 2,732 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Nice hotel rooms are very tiny no where to put your stuff, tiny bathrooms, was nice to have breakfast available each morning, subway was just next block over, everything in walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Mi , Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay at Holiday Inn NYC Chelsea. We apologize about the room size, unfortunately NYC hotel rooms tend to be smaller than other cities. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and convenience of our location. We invite you back next time you are in the city! Kind Regards, Mi - Guest Service Agent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet and good base

Posted Aug 6, 2017
The hotel is located close enough to walk anywhere but also to be able to catch tour bus nearby. Quiet for sleeping. Wouldn't want to hang out there all day though. Room was smaller than expected. Staff was friendly and informative whenever we had any questions. Check in was ok. We booked a room fridge over the phone the week before we arrived and were told it would be in the room. It wasn't and we had to request it again. It was placed in the room but not plugged in. We had to rearrange the furniture to plug it in ourselves. Check out was smooth with no hassles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Mi , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express- NYC Chelsea. We spoken with our houseman and front office agents to better communicate with requests, and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. NYC hotel rooms tend to run smaller than other cities! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and staff members. We appreciate you letting us take care of you and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Mi - Guest Service Agent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from MD

Great location

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast
Cons: Room size
Location: Highline Park, cute shops
The hotel staff were very nice. The room was quite small for a family of 4. The breakfast was excellent. The location was close to Highline Park. The restaurant in front of the hotel had a live band on a Thursday night, so it was nice to sit in front and listen to the music.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Mi, Hotel Management
Thank you Benjie for your awesome review and choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Express Chelsea. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. I do apologize about the rooms being small, unfortunately NYC hotel rooms tend to run smaller than other location. However, we are glad that you enjoyed the nice music across the street and happy to invite you back to stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards, Mi - Guest Service Agent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Good location, easy access to the subway

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: This place is a stone's throw from a red subway station. You can pretty much go anywhere in Manhattan from there.
Cons: The mattresses are probably ready to be replaced.
Location: Madison Square Garden is maybe two blocks away. Food of all kinds is everywhere you turn and all of Manhattan is a Metro Card away.
The room was a bit small and a bit dusty but otherwise clean and in good shape. No off odors, and the air conditioner worked well. The mattresses were not very supportive and you could feel the springs within. Breakfast was very nice and the staff changed the selection of the items from one morning to the next. The staff was extremely helpful and polite. There is no on-site parking (it is in Manhattan), so be prepared to drop another $50 a night to park if you park it yourself or $65 for them to valet park your car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Mi, Hotel Management
Thank you Thomas for your detailed review, which helps us continue to improve the hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our convenient location. Unfortunately, NYC hotels tends to be smaller than other cities. We do apologize about the mattress not being supportive. The hotel frequently changes its mattresses, or when needed. Please do not hesitate to contact the front desk next time you are here to correct the situation right away. Parking is a hassle in NYC, but we do offer 24 hour valet parking garage for $55 (sedan) and $65 (SUV), which is a better deal than the hourly self-parking spots nearby. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to NYC. Kind Regards, Mi - Guest Service Agent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family Trip

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Decent location, very friendly staff
Location: close to MSG and Penn Station
Easy check in, very decent breakfast, nice staff, clean facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Mi, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us at Holiday Inn Express NYC Chelsea. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit NYC. Kind Regards, Mi - Guest Service Agent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola, FL

Great hotel, small but cozy room

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Nice room, great staff.
Cons: TV quality - cut in and out a lot.
Location: The hotel is steps from some great pizza places, and .5 blocks from fashion ave
I was in NYC for business and while you won't find a quality room for cheap anywhere in the city, the HIE was a great stay. very clean room, professional staff, and free breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Mi, Hotel Management
Thank you Chris for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Express NYC Chelsea. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location and amenities provided. We do apologize about the TV issue during your stay. The hotel does have a 24 hour Engineer on duty to solve any problems, so on your next visit please notify the front desk who can help solve any issues right away. We appreciate your review and look forward to having you back. Kind Regards, Mi - Guest Service Agent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Reasonably priced NYC hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Room was clean, breakfast was good. As a smoker, it was very nice to have the courtyard with comfortable seating.
Cons: There was NOT a mini fridge in the room like the website stated. We brought drinks to keep cold and were disappointed because there was not one there
Location: Good location on a one way street. Easy to get a cab. Plenty of places within walking distance to eat.
Room was a little cramped for 4 people, but probably expected for a NYC hotel. Good location. Nice courtyard. No mini fridge that was stated in the website. Breakfast was fine. Iced tea and water in the lobby was nice to have available if we wanted it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Mi, Hotel Management
Thank you Julie for your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Chelsea. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the courtyard and breakfast spread. We do have refrigerators upon request! We invite you back for your next visit to NYC. Kind Regards, Mi - Guest Service Agent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad and Tobago

Really good hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Location, price
Location: Times Square is a few blocks away, there are a lot of restaurants and stores nearby.
Checking in was a breeze, they even gave us a cookie which was delicious, the room was small as expected, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was a good size and I have no complaints about the room. The breakfast was good too and the location was perfect. The only issue we had was on the last night when the wifi was down for our floor but we survived.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Mi, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Chelsea. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Express Check-In and the cookies that are available in the evening. I do apologize about the wifi being down at night. We do have a 24 hour engineer on duty to resolve any issues. If there is anything I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact us personally. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind Regards, Mi - Guest Service Agent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and affordable hotel in the middle of the cit

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Excellent customer service and the rooms were clean and in good condition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Mi , Hotel Management
Thank you for your awesome review and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit at Holiday Inn Express NYC Chelsea. Kind Regards, Mi - Guest Service Agent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new York

Great location, space and breakfest

Posted Jun 30, 2017
I didn't interact with the staff too much. But the room was spacious, a good location, and free breakfest. The AC worked, I had a tub that had a switch for Jacuzzi jets. Good stay.