Ratings based on 445 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very cheap and you get what you pay for.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
The hotel was old and unclean. Paint peeling everywhere and stains on the floors and walls. The shared bathroom had a clump of hair in the shower the entire week so I know it wasn't cleaned. Will not stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Mouse in the rooms

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Hey, First of all, Iam aware that we did not book an 5 star hotel and that this hotel would be a bit "uncomfortable" baring in mind that it is in New York and relatively cheap. 120 pounds for one night. Although, first impression of the hotel was that the lobby was quite nicely decorated. When being delegated a room we found the second that we opened the door a BIG mouse (or rat) running across the bed..! I felt sick, went down to reception, which at first did not believe me. And said that pestcontroll just been there. However, I said at least give us another room. They gave us another room which was filthy, and pretty sure they had not changed the sheets. I could literally HEAR the squeaks from the mouse/rats from the walls. And not to speak about the smell of the rooms. HORRIBLE experience... :( Bare in mind, Iam normally very nice with reviews. Considering being in big cities the hotel standards can vary a lot. BUT, my line is drawn when having filthy rats in the room, since that is a possible health issue. So please, do not book this hotel unless you are okay to live in symbiosis with rats. I did not sleep one second, I sat on the plastic chair next to the bed entire night. All through horrible experience, don't make the same mistake as I did to book this! :(
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Moe, Hotel Management
Bummer - we did not put our best foot forward. No excuses. This being said, your candor has led to numerous new standard operating procedures including an intense property maintenance program that allows us to address items like those you noted in your feedback BEFORE they become an issue. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your (or our) expectations and do hope you'll give us a second chance so we can show you, first hand, how helpful your feedback proved to be.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very small and filthy.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Shared restroom & bath. Smallest room I've ever seen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Moe, Hotel Management
Your criticism is appreciated. Feedback ALWAYS paves the way to improvement and we, no doubt, will be better because of your candor. We are happy to hear that you have alternative economical hotel options - we know how few and far between they are in NYC!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Good location

Posted Jul 8, 2017
It's hard to find a room in NYC that can accommodate 5 adults that is semi affordable. I found this suite and it had plenty of room (king bed, 2 twins and a sofa and a small kitchen). Check in was different that im used to. The building is pretty old and it's kind of a dive but the room was all right. Except for the bathroom. It was gross. Mold in the shower, hair left by the mop all over the floor, etc. And we had a mouse running all over the place. But it's across the street from Madison Square Garden so it's a great location for navigating the city. It was tolerable for 2 nights but I wouldn't book it again unless I had to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Moe, Hotel Management
Constructive feedback is absolutely critical to our long-term success and we cannot THANK YOU enough for taking the time to send your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Nice hotel great area

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room had a nice view of 34th street
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Moe, Hotel Management
You ROCK! Thank you so much for sharing your experience and leaving such awesome praise. Based on your detailed feedback, we have a hunch you are a well-traveled individual which makes your commentary even MORE valuable (and flattering!). Please don't be a stranger and let us know next time you are coming back to town so we can show our appreciation first-hand!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in mid manhatten

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Really nice hotel. Great location. Staff are really helpful. Perfect location for all new york has to offer. Rooms could use a bit of a spring clean but on the whole a really great hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Like the plague

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Very scary place
1 out of 5
by lea

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by MELVIN

So so place to stay but the cost was good

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
The room was good however the air conditioner/heat was plugged in using an extension cord that ran along side the mattress. The common area was dirty but the room was clean
1 out of 5
by Ed S from NYC

Problematic every step of the way

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
Awful, arrived and the lady told us the credit card was declined. My bf said he'd be back in a minute and came to find me (I was waiting with the luggage outside) and I checked and our card had been charged and reservation confirmed. He went back and the lady said that she had voided the reservation because she didn't think he'd be back (it was less than 2 minutes later). I went and she told me I'd have to book again because she cancelled and the card was declined. I asked for a manager and called hotels.com. She called the manager and 8 minutes later looked up at me and apologized, she said it was her fault and we were actually all paid for, she'd check us in now. We ended up leaving early anyway as there seemed to be a lot of questionable activity going on around us and we didn't feel safe. Staff had no problems letting themselves into our room without cause. Extremely cold since they left the air conditioning running at full blast even when it's 40 degrees out, no heat, two thin towels are all that was provided, no food or drink allowed in the rooms, no elevators, no closets