Ratings based on 7,703 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Old and dirty

Posted Oct 22, 2017
We were tired and unfamiliar with the city or we would have moved. The room was not clean and don't get me started on the bathroom. It was very convient to the train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Age not always a bad thing

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Room size and cleanliness.
Cons: Modernize the bathroom, increase shower size
While the Stewart is starting to show its age, that is a good thing in terms of size of room. They do have some small rooms, too, but the Deluxe is quite large. The down size is that the bathroom proportions come from an age when people showered once a week, so think small. The shower in my room was about 2’ square. And while the decor is definitely tired, the room was clean, carpet wasn’t spotted, etc. The staff with whom I interacted were very nice. Expedia users should be aware that the hotel charges service fees in addition to the amount that Expedia collects, apparently because the Expedia business model really cuts their margins. Same old story we know from Walmart and Amazon...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel in lower Manhattan

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Very nice hotel. However, beware the facilities fees. My girlfriend and I stayed two nights and were hit with $70 in facilities fees upon checkout. Expedia notified us that “additional fees may apply” when I booked the trip but, it was not made clear how much those fees would be - we just crossed our fingers and hoped for the best. We discovered that booking through the Stewart Hotel website will include the facilities fees into the per night price so you don’t have to settle up at checkout. This really bummed us out. Why Expedia can’t include the facilities fees in the full price for the trip I don’t know, but we will consider just booking with the hotel next time rather than going through Expedia. Part of booking a trip this way is the convenience of having everything taken care of and paid for through a single website. Being hit with additional fees after the fact for things like “free” wifi as advertised on their website just doesn’t feel good and puts a huge damper on the convenience factor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia beach, VA

Way too little for way too much money.

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Room was New York City typical size and adequate. Nice bathroom and shower. In room frig and 2-cup coffee maker were appreciated. Dinner and breakfast in Niles, the attached restaurant, were great and well served. Best feature is right across from Penn Station for our train, 7th Ave & 31st St. CONS: Room air conditioner allowed in all street noise which included copious horn blowing. We were on 9th floor. Not sure what was"superior" about our queen size room. The only window was above the air conditioner and while there was no view whatsoever the unit allowed in plenty of street noise. Bed comfortable but only 3 pillows and no extra blankets to be found. We were cool at first. I could not be sure whether the carpet was horribly worn down the middle as we walked the hallway from the elevator but it was ugly at best, in desperate need of replacement at worst. Front desk staff were efficient but not terribly friendly. This was our last night of a 12 day trip. At $400 the room and experience were terrible compared to our other 2 hotels which were equally convenient to our travel connections --one in Boston on waterfront with view of harbor, heavenly bedding, gracious staff, no noise for $237; the other in Montreal again airy, view, plenty of comfort and gracious staff at $327. Beware come on pricing--$35 entertainment fee added automatically after all taxes inflated the quoted price from $309 to 397. My bad for not checking the cancellation window-48 hours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2017 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Joyshare. We were disappointed to learn that the condition of our hotel did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that this is not the standard that we aspire to and we will share your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you allow us the chance to share a more positive experience with you soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, needs some improvement

Posted Oct 17, 2017
The front desk staff is great, but every single day the cleaning people would forget basics like shampoo, body wash, toilet paper and wash cloths. Once you called the front desk, they were right there with what they should have supplied. The bed sheets were not changed daily, and we're not changed over a 4 night stay. The ac was a rattling window unit that made noise, and alternated between blowing directly on your face in bed to being hot. Overall, the hotel was nice, and in a good location. The Stewarr is definitely not a 4 star hotel, and has work to do to improve. Next time, I will go to the Roosevelt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us. We are deeply disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. We pride ourselves on our welcoming, kind staff, so it is upsetting to hear about this kind of housekeeping service. We will let our management team know about your experience and see what we can to ensure this won't happen again in the future. If there is anything we can do to accommodate a future stay with us, please let us know. We'd love another opportunity to show you how amazing we are so we look forward to hosting you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

great hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
I picked this hotel for my birthday getaway . First trip ever to New York. We've arrived fairly early before check in time and I appreciate the front desk "will" for allowing us to check in early without a fee. The hotel was spacious and clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. P.s Good price as well
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thanks for the amazing review, Brittant! It's excellent your time with us was so fantastic! We take great care in providing top-notch service for all of our guests. Your praise for our team lets us know we're doing our job! We look forward to hosting you again soon so we can share another splendid experience with you! Have a stellar day!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Pleasant hotel with a very nice staff.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Good location, safe with a good restaurant attached.
Cons: It could use a little upgrading to its rooms--air conditioning and heating systems are a bit out of date. Bathrooms are small but functional.
Location: Close to Times Square and the Javits Center and across from Madison Square Garden.
Every year I bring a team to work the NYCC at peak tourist season in the city. We have stayed at a variety of hotels, all near the Times Square area so that we have easy access to the Javits Center and good restaurants. The Stewart provides that in a nicely refurbished older hotel. It's lobby is beautiful and provides a good central meeting place. Their restaurant, Niles, has great breakfasts and a good bar for evening drinks. My air conditioner never did work, which fortunately wasn't really an issue the week we stayed there. The concierge had solid restaurant recommendations and the front desk is always friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4/5 review, Sandy! It's excellent you enjoyed your time with us so much! We're delighted you appreciated beautiful hotel and friendly service. We care deeply about the happiness and satisfaction of our guests so we'll address your concerns regarding our room accommodations with our team moving forward. We strive for excellence so we look forward to sharing an even better experience with you soon! Have a beautiful day!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, UK

Converted apartment block in need of refurbishment

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Hotel reception is beautifully decorated with very nice public restrooms and staff at reception were nice on arrival. Unfortunately when we entered our room on the 16th floor there were stains on the floor, walls and on the blinds. The bathroom was extremely small with cracked tiles on the walls and in the shower with the shower drain covered in mould. When I asked to move rooms the receptionist said no and when pushed he told me I could change in the morning. When I returned to reception in the morning his colleague had no note of my request (even though I have been told they would be prepared) but did move us room. Bathroom was bigger and cleaner which satisfied us for the rest of our stay. There was no information pack in the room which meant there were queues at the concierge desk and when I enquired about laundry I was faced with blank stares and she couldn't tell me anything about it apart from the floor it was on. The cleaners did the best job they could but are fighting a battle they can't win with the products and equipment they have been given. The professional pictures of this hotel are misleading and the property is in desperate need of upgrading and complete room refurbishment including the noisy air conditioning system, windows, bathrooms, decor, beds (too hard for me but that's a personal thing) including new items in the room that still have the previous owners branding on it. A very disappointing second part of our honeymoon - not worthy of 4 its star rating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Anna. We were disappointed to learn that the condition of our hotel did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that this is not the standard that we aspire to and we will share your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you allow us the chance to share a more positive experience with you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First time in New York in 40 years

Posted Oct 8, 2017
First time in New York in 40 years. Margaret the receptionist and all the staff that helped us were perfect. They know hospitality as it should be. Location was perfect. They even brought me a birthday cake to celebrate my 65th birthday. So lucky to find this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thanks for the splendid review! It's fantastic you had such an excellent experience with us and that our team took such great care of you. We want you to feel right at home as soon as you walk through our doors! Our team will love to hear they made such a wonderful impression on you. We look forward to hosting you again soon so we can share another amazing experience with you. Have a beautiful day!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Hotel only OK

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable bed!!
Cons: The hotel is looking a bit tired and requires some re-decorating and the windows in our room looked like they hadn't been cleaned for years
Location: The location was ideal for all main attractions such as Times Square. Opposite Madison Square Garden and Empire State Building very close by
The Stewart Hotel was ok but I have stayed in much better hotels in New York. It's location is ideal for all main attractions in the city but unfortunately very noisy area
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Andy. We're disappointed to hear you were unsatisfied with your stay. We strive to provide our guests with a wonderful experience from beginning to end so it's great you enjoyed our location. Please know your feedback regarding our decor will be addressed with the appropriate members of our team so we may improve for the future. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to provide you with the quality experience we're truly capable of sharing with our guests. Thank you again for the feedback.