Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent

Friendly

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: Sash windows do not fit properly
Location: 15 minute walk into town
Not too far from town ; very good meals; comfortable room ; friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with character. Nice friendly welcome.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Lovely characterful hotel a short walk fron the town. Nice friendly staff. Functional room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Stay

Posted Aug 30, 2017
We stayed in a family room for one night. Huge room with king bed, two sofa beds and modern bathroom. Hotel is well located just a few minutes walk from town one way and Pittville Park the other. It is situated on a lovely quiet street across from some gardens which makes for a pretty setting. The staff at the hotel were very welcoming and helpful giving it a homely feel. Breakfast was delicious and service excellent. Would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over rated

Posted Aug 9, 2017
The hotel is at best a 3 star. It is outside the downtown in a residential area. Just a 15-20 min walk to good restaurants but its not a nice walk... thru some bad areas. Hotel was worn and a little dirty. Worst part was there as no Air Conditioning. Just a fan. But bed was comfortable despite the room being too warm. Staff where very friendly and helpful and the food was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, I am sorry you did not publish your name so I could respond directly to you. I do not know where you walked but we are 5 minutes walk to the high street! Cheltenham is a very safe and beautiful town I have no idea where you walk to think it a 'bad' area. We do not advertise air conditioning and being a historically listed building it would be very difficult if not impossible to install. If you want air conditioning when travelling in the UK then you should perhaps look to the big new build chain hotels. Regards Chris
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Classy, refurbished hotel in quiet part of town

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Comfort and cleanliness of rooms
Cons: fans in all rooms during summer; handles/anti-slip stickers in bathtub
Location: Not a huge lot to see and do in Cheltenham city on a Sunday evening. We had a hard time finding an open restaurant.
Very comfortable and large rooms, although they were very hot during a particular warm day. Would have been great to have a fan in every room to help air circulation. Excellent refurbished bathroom, but bathtub very slippery and dangerous for elderly people. Breakfast was good and location was good although a bit removed from the town centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hi Destuck, thanks for your 5 star review I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. All rooms have fans in the room, they are in the wardrobe. In hot weather we will make sure that we put them out to make easier to find. A lot of Cheltenham restaurants close on Sundays which is why we make sure our restaurant Joules is always open. Next time you are with us do give it a try all the food is made freshly in house and we get excellent reviews for food, service and value for money. Thanks again for you great review, Regards Chris
4 out of 5
by Steven

Good location.

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is well situated and staff were pleasant and helpful. Only complaint would be that the shower was ridiculous as you couldn't fail to soak the whole bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A wonderful hotel in a good neighborhood.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
We enjoyed our stay and we would definitely return to this hotel. We enjoyed both our dinner and breakfast at the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Trevor

Best stay in Cheltenham

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
First class service by very helpful and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well-located hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017
This is a nice hotel, around 10 minutes walk from the main shopping centres in Cheltenham and five minutes from the lovely Pittsville Park. Our family room was spacious, and there is a nice bar and restaurant downstairs. The only drawbacks came with the fact that this an old house; the shower was more of a light drizzle (weak water pressure?) and although the ceiling was high, noise carries from the room above; it sounded as if the people upstairs were re-enacting Napoleon's retreat from Moscow. The hotel was also a bit overwhelmed by the number of people coming to breakfast when the place was busy; a good hotel should be able to cope
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful located with friendly staff

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Quiet beautiful location with parking but only 5 min walk from town centre
Cons: Suggest you're clear about the room you are booking. A classic room on Expedia is actually a small room. Even standrard rooms are quite small
Location: There is so much to do within a 5 minute walk
Loved it. Can sit in the sun in the grassed square opposite hotel or on their table and chairs outside the bar