Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Hotel is very pleasant

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: It is handy for us, as we have family within a few miles.
Cons: Just to have air conditioning in the rooms.
Location: Handy for meeting up with family. The cotswolds is a beautiful place.
Food was so much better this time (Breakfast). The staff are very helpful and polite. The room very clean and comfortable bed, but it was far too hot in the room, although we had two fans on throughout the night, and window open as far as it would, The rooms do need air conditioning, as it was far too hot. Otherwise cannot fault anything of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kings lynn

children could not swim

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Cons: let the children swim
hotel was so lovely but sadly we booked hotel so we could swim but this was not to be due to the greed of the hotel selling spa packages and this means no children in the pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Charlotte , Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Diane. Thank you for leaving us feedback with regards to your stay. We do allow children to swim between set times Sunday - Friday 10:00-18:00 and Saturday 09:00 - 11:00 & 15:00 - 18:00. I am sorry that you were not made aware of these at the time of booking. Kind regards Charlotte
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Happy

Posted Jun 4, 2017
It was a nice stay but some problems. The satires were really irritating. The staff were friendly and helpful but because the hotel was busy they couldn't change our room to a room in ground floor or first floor and hence the second floor was not good because of satires. The room is smaller than what it looks like in the photos. We got the family room but it was really small even for two let alone for three persons. The restaurant had a great view towards the garden. Our room was the opposite side and hence didn't have a good view. The tv was great as it was smart TVs with access to browser.
5 out of 5
by Tom

Lovely staff, great value for money.

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Newly opened as a Hilton. Staff were brilliant, very helpful and nothing was a problem. Probably the most comfortable bed I've slept in. Buffet breakfast great. Only negative is that spa is too small to allow outside members in and so gets very overcrowded. Overall great value for money and would definitely recommend at the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Easter stay

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
What we didn't like: 1/ Reserved the largest bed, we were given the smallest double for the same price. Took an hour to resolve, had to make multiple trips to reception 2/ Initial room was very noisy, not double glazed, road traffic 3/ Decor feels outdated. No air conditioning (just wall fan). No fridge in our room 4/ Had to do room service since restaurant closes at 9pm 5/ Room service burger had low quality meat 6/ During check-in and check-out, we heard 2 separate complaints. First, cleaning team took away couple's half-finished champagne bottle from the fridge. Second, a group of people reported the beef to be unedible, and everyone sent it back to the kitchen. Overall, disappointing stay, expected more from Doubletree/Hilton, especially for the price of 169GBP, with no breakfast included.
4 out of 5
by Glyn

Beautiful location and close to Cheltenham

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
The room was quite small and lacked electrical sockets, to plug the kettle in it had to be moved from the shelf onto the floor near to the bed side lamp, poor planning!! The room also smelt of paint when we first entered but then we must of got use to it or opening the windows helped. Breakfast was slow and staff unhelpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Quite and clean hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Nice quaint location
Cons: Staff though polite can be more proactive instead of just giving directions on how things can be done.
The hotel is nice and clean. Supposedly dog friendly, which means a corner room on the first floor. I imagined it to be a room closer to the lawn/ garden on the ground floor esp. since you pay an extra £50 for brining your pet in. Staff were polite but i think overworked as the same reception girl was working late and in early morning next day. Spa facilities are ok as well.
5 out of 5
by Stewart

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We were not told about the change of name of hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The food excellent.we
Cons: We booked a double room,but didn't expect a small double bed !!
Location: Thought it was nearer to Cheltenham
Spent half an hour looking for the hotel .disappointed with room very bacic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Needs lick of paint but everything else good

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Enjoyable stay. Great swimming pool with good jacuzzi and sauna. Rooms were good. Mix up with rooms was sorted out. Good breakfast. Restaurant food was ok. Place could do with lick of paint but I'm sure with the recent takeover by Hilton that will happen.