Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with all facilities

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Provides everything i needed to stay overnight. Can only put ok for review against hotel staff as there is no staff at the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Major cleanliness issue

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: No further comment
Cons: No further comment
Location: No further comment
Major cleanliness issue which was handled well by staff in emails afterwards. I hope it is resolved for future guests
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old fashioned but clean

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Basically it was cheap and fine for a single overnight stay.
We were in the garden suite, a euphemism for the basement at the back of the house. So it was pretty dark but on the other hand very quite as we were away from the busy road at the front. There are no staff on site so it's a DIY experience but all worked fine with the codes sent ahead by email.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Victorian rooms

Posted Jul 3, 2017
If you like your own space this is perfect. Owner very helpful and easy to contact
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands UK

At least it was a bed!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: It looked okay from the outside
Cons: Just about everything
Location: Located about 10 minutes walk from the centre and Promenade
Lovely looking hotel with very grand appearance which flattered to deceive. Our room was the grandly titled 'Garden Room' which was accessed down some basement steps in the back garden. A keypad code gained us access to a dingy corridor and then to our room. The door looked as though it had been kicked in and repaired fairly recently and the door itself rattled loosely in it's frame. We daren't leave anything of any value in the room. There was a fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle etc with some supplies (described as a continental breakfast) but the room was so pokey and dingy, we didn't feel like indulging. We did have a cup of tea before leaving. The bathroom was clean but old fashioned. We dropped off our stuff and went out with no intention of returning except to sleep since the room was no place to relax comfortably. The bed was a fold away bed which folded back into a wardrobe. It was reasonably comfortable though. Check out was by 10.00 am and, to be honest, we were pleased to be out of there. More of a flop house than a hotel. Possibly okay for contractors working locally.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So shabby it was almost chic !

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Excellent free WiFi. The Regency building has many original features intact.
Cons: Key less access meant you needed a different code for every door.
Location: Close to Pittville Park and the Assembly Rooms. Gustav Holst museum is just around the corner and well worth a visit
Had a good nights sleep in this quiet, well located hotel. We didn't see any staff and the self catering breakfast was amusing.
3 out of 5
by Mr. Jeremy E

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
There was a fold out bed rather than a permanent bed, so was not as comfy as hoped. Having a kitchen was nice, however expected the continental breakfast to be prepared fresh, rather than having to make it ourselves.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Basic but acceptable

Posted May 6, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Cheap, and location and spotless shower, with plenty of hot water
Cons: Table in the room to eat breakfast. Decor. Carpets. Larger TV.
Location: Stayed in Cheltenham for a work assignment. 20 minute walk to the town centre and the racecourse. Recommend the Lido for a swim.
Difficult to know how to review this hotel. There is no staff, and you receive an email the day before arrival with the codes for the keypad access locks to the public areas and your room. Initial impressions are that it is tired and could do with a facelift. I was in the garden suite area, which is the basement looking over the rear garden. It appeared dark, and a light bulb didn't work. (It was replaced while I was there). The room, a double with 2 single beds was larger than I expected. The beds were comfortable. The en suite was small, but clean and and the shower was spotless, and that counts for a lot. Breakfast is provided by way of self service in the room in a cupboard with a microwave, kettle toaster, and fridge. There were tins of grapefruit (tin opener provided) packaged chocolate croissants, muesli, cornflakes, bread in a Tupperware with jam and butter. Orange juice in small cartons, UHT milk, bottled water, together with tea coffee etc. I can't abide UHT, so first day didn't eat much. However I bought some fresh milk which went in the fridge and then had a satisfying continental breakfast. Fresh fruit comprised 2 apples and 2 bananas (which were past their best but still re is a small TV, cupboard, wardrobe and shelving. Overall I had a pleasant stay, but I was by myself on a work assignment, and spent little time in the room. For the price the hotel was fantastic, but I wouldn't recommend to someone else, because it wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea.
5 out of 5
by Martin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Russell

Grim

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
I had low expectations, but I wish I had stayed a few miles out of town in a travel lodge, it was dated, very and the bed was basically a plank with a mattress, it was a few very small rooms and it was basically pretty grim. The lights went when I was there and the door was round the back past the bins, if you had any mobility issues you would struggle . I wont stay again ..I think you can do better elsewhere