Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In a lovely cotwold village very well kept

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location ,quaint old Hotel with character.
Cons: Well we were quite happy with everything.
Location: Beautiful village Walking Burton on the Water a short drive away with plenty of things to do in the village, can be busy though being popular .
Had a great stay ,made welcome with friendly staff Polly our dog was given little treats. We opted to have a stable room for the convenience to take our dog on the green for tiddles,although a little small. But nicely furnished with everything we needed and a hot shower . Peace and quite in this village After going walking during the day and on returning what delish food we ate in the evening, But not forgetting the breakfast it was yummy, first taste of the Gloucestershire old spot sausages spot on .
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Gabby, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, thank you so much for posting your complimentary review, we really appreciate the time you took in doing so. We do hope that you will come back & visit us again on another occasion. Kind Regards The Lamb Inn Team.
5 out of 5
by Emma

Fantastic stay

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
It was a fantastic stay !! Really pleased with the stay couldn't fault anything. Can't wait to come back to visit
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Paul, Hotel Management
Dear Emma, thank you so much for posting your complimentary review we really appreciate the time you took in doing so. We are delighted to read that you had a "fantastic stay" & we look forward to welcoming you back to The Lamb on another occasion. Kind Regards The Lamb Inn Team.
5 out of 5
by Chris

Perfect Cotswold Stay

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely small pub with amazing food and very comfortable rooms being an old building, the ceilings were a bit low - standing in the shower was impossible for anybody 6 foot tall - but that just led to the charm only down point was the amount of midges, having them floating in your wine was not good - apart from the old waiter joke
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by Paul, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, thank you for taking the time to post your complimentary review following your recent stay at The Lamb. We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed our "lovely small pub with amazing food & comfortable rooms". We also note that you appreciated the ambiance of an old Inn that is over 350 years old & the quirkiness of such an old building. Sorry about the midges & we like your reference to the old waiter joke. That aside, we do hope that you will come back & visit us again on another occasion. Kind Regards The Lamb Inn Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Cosy & lovely but noisy

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Room 11 is small (just big enough for a double bed & wardrobe with separate shower room) but has everything you need. In a converted stable block, along with Room 12. Excellent breakfast in the adjacent pub. Staff are very friendly. Only downside is the proximity of the pub's smoking area and the back gate to the bottle bins etc, so it's quite noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by Paul, Hotel Management
Dear Caroline, thank you for taking the time to post your cordial review following your recent stay at The Lamb. We do advertise the Stable Room you booked as the smallest we have at our Inn, but as you say it is very "cosy". We are pleased that you enjoyed an excellent breakfast & please accept our apologies if the smokers outside the pub affected your stay. We do ask all smokers to go into the garden to smoke, but we can't force them to do so. We do hope that you will come back & visit us again on another occasion. Kind Regards The Lamb Inn Team.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Fantastic food and lovely room

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely staff, great food, good wine list
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by Paul, Hotel Management
Dear Richard We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Lamb & thank you so much for posting your complimentary review, we really appreciate it. We are glad that you found everything to your liking & we do hope that you will come back & visit us again on another occasion. Kind Regards The Lamb Inn Team.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable short stay

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Overnight stay for school speech day , character inn good food and beer. Comfortable and large room
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting your complimentary review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope that you will come back & visit us on another occasion. Kind Regards The Lamb Inn Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely period inn well placed to explore Cotswolds

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
The Lamb Inn is a rambling, quaint, ancient inn on the green in the centre of Great Rissington. The interior is immensely interesting and higgledy-piggledy in that pretty way. Our room was lovely, with open stonework walls, a lovely bed and bathroom with very powerful shower, though I'd mention that over 5'9" you're going to be stooping in there, as the ceilings are of the period, and naturally quite low (we had not much bother with this). The staff were lovely on welcome and made sure we got some dinner in us (we arrived relatively late, just before the kitchen closed). The bar attracts locals as well as guests, and has a really warm vibe about it, with the bar staff chatting away to the regulars while you can sit in a comfy armchair and read in the corner. The food was amazing - really fantastic. I had the salmon on the first morning and the full cooked breakfast on the second, both tremendous with local produce (Severn and Wye salmon, local sausages, bacon... so tasty). In the evening, I had a rib-eye steak on the first night, pigeon and lamb on the second night and yet again was not disappointed. Great Rissington itself is pretty small but it served as a great base to get to places like Burford, Bourton on the Water and Stow on the Wold - all well worth a visit, and it's very easy to get to - just about 10 minutes drive off the A40 (mind you, in the dark, the single track wending road was a little hairy to say the least!) All in all a wonderful stay and
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you so much for posting your complimentary review, we really appreciate the time you took in doing so. We all work hard to make our guests visits as memorable as we can & it is always so nice to receive an appreciative review such as yours. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay & found everything to your liking & we do hope that you will come back & visit us again on another occasion. Kind Regards The Lamb Inn Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lancing, West Sussex

Jewel in the Cotswolds

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Great nights sleep, and the food is fantastic
Cons: Cannot think of a thing
Location: Nearby is Bourton on the water. Very picturesque Cotswold town, with all the amenities and attractions
Attentive staff. Great location. Room to die for. Food was bliss. What was there to want, only that we wished we stayed for longer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean , friendly good food

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great stay at the lamb inn the staff were really friendly and the meal we had at night was A star and the breakfast was to
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting your complimentary review, we really appreciate the time you took in doing so. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Inn & hope that you will come back & visit us again on another occasion. Kind Regards The Lamb Inn Team.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for awarding us the maximum review score, we really appreciate it. Kind Regards The Lamb Inn Team.