Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Paradise

Posted Feb 22, 2017
We spent a lovely week. Everything was beautiful and wonderful. All the staff were friendly and kind. The grounds offer a variety of activities and restaurants yet with such a stunning beach all needed is there. The kid's club appealed to our 7 and 10 year olds. They toook our kids fishing and on a field trip....our kids begged to go to the kid's club...leaving us a few hours to hit the amazing spa or beach. We cannot wait to go back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing week in Mauritius

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
We spent 5 nights here and had a great stay. The service we received was 5 star, there's a lot of activities to keep one occupied. The beach is spectacular and the food is delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SAO PAULO BR

Fantastic hotel for honeymooners

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Staff, room, views, everything was perfet
The most perfect honey moon ever!!! We loved to be there!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Leena , Hotel Management
Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you for your reviews. We hope to be able to welcome you for your wedding anniversary celebration next year. Thank you & Regards
3 out of 5
by Rani from Dubai

Very good, but could improve

Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel landscaping is great; scenery is amazing. We had a few issues on arrival to the room, but the hotel staff responded quickly and rectified it. There is not much variety of restaurants, although the food we tried at hotel was very good. There are special culinary nights almost daily. We did not try it as we thought it was very expensive, and that it was more about the rum/alcohol (which we don't drink). A cheaper package could have been handy, with no alcohol included. The hotel is a bit remote, and hence you are at mercy of taxi services and hotel concierge for transport. We though these were very expensive. The concierge service probably needs improvement. The hotel entrance is nice, but the actual reception and waiting area was very plain and could be much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic resort in a secluded part of the island

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Well run, French and Indian themed resort in Chemin Garnier. Staff is attentive and discreet. Spa and yoga classes were excellent. Go for the beachfront villa.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Quiet atmosphere but room for improvement

Posted Sep 23, 2015
We enjoyed clean beach and quite atmosphere at this hotel. But I think there is still room for improvement in staff and restaurant. Hotel staffs always talk to us `Nihao!` . Even after we told them that we are not chinese at check-in and breakfast, they say 'Nihao!' anywhere and anytime!! We have not had such experiences in top tier hotels like Aman resorts, Raffles, Banyan tree and Four seasons etc... I understand there are many Chinese customers in this hotel. But we cannot bear being treated like this. Therefore, we never recommend other Asian guys to visit this hotel. Also, the number of towels is limited to one or two for each room in this hotel. Generally, hotels located in the beach provide some additional towels in the room. Because residents use them for beach chairs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Pleasant resort hotel with great food

Posted Sep 16, 2015
The hotel is nice and clean, service is good, staff helpful. Trip however was dissappointing which was a shame as was a special occation. Some issues were as follows: Chose pay at hotel option thru expedia because needed credit card to book onward travel flights however hotel rushed to charge card causing great difficulties. The lighting around the resort walkways is spooky rather than romantic and needs to be looked in to. The villa was uncomformtably small and the shower and wc had huge glass windows looking out onto a small private courtyard with no curtain. Anyone from outside could access the courtyard as there was a small gate with latch and no matter how many times we locked it, someone would magically undo the latch and leave the gate open which added to the spooky feel. The villas private pool was a waste because it was to cold to use without risking falling ill so we had to just look at it for a whole week. The hotel insisted it couldnt be warmed to more than 27 which would have been fine if the weather was warmer and it wasnt so windy. Sure its expensive to warm we have our own pool at home but if youre charging so much to guests you cant be so frugal with youre electricity and gas. Pool really should have been 29 or 30 degrees especially if guest requests. Finally beach looked really nice but be aware its quite shelly and rocky and you cant really walk around bare foot.
5 out of 5
by Christel from London

Fantastic hotel for family stay

Posted Jun 4, 2015 on Hotels
One of the best hotels we ever stayed in. Everything was perfect. We had a junior suite and half-board rate, it was good value. The food is very good (similar to a one michelin star standards) so you don't mind to explore the menu every evening and it's pricey so better to have it included. I advise to ask for lower floor if you go for the junior suite to have direct access to the beach. The Spa is known as the best of the island and I recommend the Shanti fusion massage. The kids club is really nice and so well equipped, it's very convenient. As regards to facilities and activities, there is a program of fitness/ well-being activities you can do for free or with supplement. And the hotel is well placed to do local visits e.g. crocodile reserve, swim with dolphins at Riviere Noire, Chamarel, lots of watersports clubs around. My husband did kite-surf at Le Morne. I recommend to rent a car for a few days to go around though. Very friendly staff and the grounds are beautiful. We loved Shanti hotel and will definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Nice hotel, but not beach

Posted May 15, 2015
Nice boutique hotel on a remote and peaceful part of the island. Only downside of this hotel is the beach is not ideal for swimming; water is shallow (knee height only), full of sea urchins and stones.
5 out of 5
by Neville from Norwich, UK

Tranquility, quality and a truly memorable stay

Posted Apr 3, 2015 on Hotels
The lush grounds gives The Shanti Maurice a tropical feel and its position right on the beach is unbeatable. The lagoon formed by the coral reef means that sea bathing is safe and you are never out of your depth. The swimming pools are well maintained and the infinity feature can be mesmerising. You will not meet more naturally friendly, welcoming people anywhere and the hotel staff almost anticipate your request before you make it. Guido, the General Manager is a true gentleman and leads by example, often to be found helping clear or reset tables at busy times and he and his team soon learn your name and you feel that you are one of their personal guests. The rooms are modern and very comfortable (ours was 15 paces from the beach) and they are serviced twice daily by extremely obliging young ladies. The food quality is superb with two menus to choose from and all is cooked and served on an individual basis. My wife and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We have stayed at some top class hotels throughout the world and this has to be one of the best. As an example of their customer focus, I rang a few days ahead to ask for a ground floor room because my wife had suffered a leg injury - no problem. On departure, our flight was put back to 23.30 and we therefore asked for a late check-out, if possible - no problem. We were able to use our room until 7.30 p.m. with no additional charge. That's customer service at its best.