Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Nice Located Hotel

Posted May 19, 2017
The stay in Greentree Inn Hotel could be characterized as sour taste. In one hand, the hotel´s location offers well-connected public trasportation and a walk just 5 minutes away from either Tianfu Square or People´s Park. As for the room, I found it clean, fresh and really comfortable. As aspect to improve I would pointed out the need to respect the no-smoking signs. Even in the lift, the smell was disgusting. Another aspect to improve is the customer service. When I ask the receptionist for call a taxy, she told me that it would be impossible, and I just need to approach to the street. With 5 luggage, and two of them without wheels, it was not a pleasent answer, knowing that everyone here is connected through weChat or weibo. So, if you are staying some days with a light luggage and you do not feel bother for the smoke smell, this might be a really interesting offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In City Centre

Posted Dec 29, 2016
We stayed for 7 days. Overall it was ok. Nearby lots of food. Room was a bit cramp. No place to put luggage. Walking distance to Tianfu Square and Remin Park. Bed was a bit hard. Breakfast provided. Certain hours very difficult to get Taxi. Staff was friendly. But you need to know Mandarin. They dont speak English. Overall it was 3*.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.peoples park, museums etc..

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: breakfast..baozi
Cons: the coffee..yuck
Location: almost everything is near
I loved the local food breakfast and walking everywhere..booked online 2nights less the 50 bucks!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic stay will be back.

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic location everything was right on the doorstep which was fantastic me being a solo traveller. I was a little hesitant because of other reviews saying that the staff didn't speak any English, however the staff went out of their way to help me. Check in was fast and easy which was much appreciated after a long flight. The room was clean, Air conditioning fantastic, WIFI speed very good and water and toiletries replenished every day. One member of staff spoke very good English and she explained to me location of temples etc and how to use the public transport. I will most definitely be booking this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by alex

dirty washroom

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Orbitz
dirty washroom dirty washroom dirty washroom dirty washroom dirty washroom
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would stay here again!

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels
The staff was very friendly and patient, and everything was well worth the price. I will certainly stay here again. The only potential downside is of you don't speak any Chinese (I do); the staff speaks no English, so please plan accordingly.
4 out of 5
by Duke from Canada

good location but wrong address/location on map

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels
A good budget hotel. Great location but the address and the location on the map is completely wrong. If you ask the locals according to the address, no one will know because there is no 34 Shang Street. There is no Shang Street. The hotel is on 34 Dongchenggen Shang(Upper) Street. The hotel is between Tianfu Square and People's Park metro station. It takes about 10 minutes to walk from either station. The hotel is on the northeast side of Dongchenggen Upper Street and Renmin East Road intersection. It's a about a 1-2 minute walk form this intersection.
4 out of 5
by crazybob0 from California

Clean, Nice, but small

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels
Hot water was not very hot. Receptionist did not speak English. Room was spotless, small. No wifi, but had Ethernet cable.
3 out of 5
by rachel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kate from Calgary, AB, Canada

Good for the price!

Posted Aug 21, 2012
I just needed to crash overnight in Chengdu for one night before a flight, and the GreenTree hotel was just fine for a mid-range Chinese hotel. The room was small but clean, the air conditioning is good, the plumbing is odd but works, there's free wifi in the lobby, the staff are friendly though unsurprisingly they only speak Chinese, and it's right off Tianfu Square. For the cost, if you're looking for a cheap place to lay your head in Chengdu, you're getting a good deal. GreenTree is a chain in China, and I will probably check out their other hotels in other cities next time I go.