Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Good hotel to stay to meet with the great pandas.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The friendliness of the staff that handle issues on the same day when requested.
Cons: As sum of all services provided, I do not see any improvement needed.
Location: This hotel is on the top of the hill, shops in medium of the hill and small park, more restaurants and shopping down the hill, a 15mins walk/climb.
We booked two rooms for 3 nights, one for me and the other for my parents. This is our first stay at this hotel and the purpose of this trip is Vacation. A warm welcome by the hotel staff at check in, as I said, 'hello', they welcomed me back in my language which is English. They helped us with our luggage and introduced us to the corner suites on the Twentieth floor. To our surprise, a welcomed fruit basket is found in both of our suites. The entrance hall is huge, filled with pandas everywhere, even inside the rotating doors. There are all sizes, huge, large, medium, and small,. However, there are no live pandas inside the hotel, as they are only 10 minutes away from the, ' Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda breeding' by the complementary shuttle from the hotel which leaves every hour and the return trip is provided upon request. Buffet breakfast is good, a mixer of westernized Chinese, Japanese, and American, attended all 3 days. There is also a small gift shop which sell souvenir pandas and candy. The friendly staff at the check in counter, the helpfulness of the bell people, who help us with our luggage, complementary shuttle service to/from the Chengdu research base, which made our stay in Chengdu a pleasant one, in that I give this hotel a full 5 out of 5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Exellent staff very helpful

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Orbitz
They went above to arrenge my panda encounter . English is not as good but they are very helpful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Coast, California

Great value!

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Great value for the price! Very elegant hotel with lovely infinity pool, great food, and excellent service. All amenities included in room. WiFi was sporadic and VPN did not work however. Still enjoyed immensely.
5 out of 5
by Anne-Catherin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hobart tasmania australia

panda heaven

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: I recorded this info in previous section
Cons: I recorded this info in previous section
Location: I recorded this info in previous section
lovely hotel lovely staff close to panda breeding base good breakfast distance from city and airport is a problem but hotel provides a shuttle bus service to panda base and city like most Chinese hotels catering for foreign guests staff need training on white wine service white wine on menu did not match white wine available ( happens in many Chinese 4+ stars and above) need to supply staff with shadow menu so they are not caught on the hop if you want proximity to pandas and a family friendly hotel this is the hotel for you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Panda Center

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Great staff, nice rooms and close to Panda center.
Cons: Taxis from the airport are readily available. Meter fare is about RMB 150 but drivers will demand more. We settled for RMB 200.
Location: Panda Center (15 minutes - hotel has shuttle) and Sanxingdui Art Museum (1 hour - rural area)
This hotel is a little out of the way but is situated in a beautiful park setting. The primary reason for this visit was to see the Panda Center so the location was perfect. We did visit the Chengdu city center which was congested and busy. We were happy to return to the tranquility of our hotel.
5 out of 5
by Julie from York

Excellent service, lovely hotel!

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
From the moment we approached the Crowne Plaza Panda Garden Hotel we were totally impressed with the décor and with the welcoming friendliness of staff. Public areas were spacious and clean with cuddly toy pandas displayed in the foyer, at the entrance and also climbing the bamboo in the restaurant! The room was clean, warm and comfortable and service was amazing right from the start to the finish of our stay. Breakfast was nice with a good selection of luke warm (would have been better if hot) and cold food. We really appreciated the hotel's free shuttle bus service to and from the nearby Chengdu Panda Base and Chengdu city centre. This is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in and the service we received was sincerely the best. We hope to return to Chengdu one day and will definitely stay at the Panda Garden Hotel.
5 out of 5
by Junyu from Chicgo

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
It is a great to stay there.
4 out of 5
by Milinda from Larkspur, CA

Wish we had stayed longer

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here to visit the pandas. We only had one night, and I wish we'd stayed longer in order to see more of Chengdu. The bathtub was marvelous! The grounds were beautiful. The staff were very nice and spoke fairly good English, particularly Jenny and Loren (whose English was excellent). A few negatives: 1) The hotel is far from downtown, so we might have chosen a different place to stay to explore Chengdu's surroundings if we had more time. 2) Food choices are limited to the hotel restaurant; the surrounding neighborhood did not have any restaurants. The room service pizza was awful! Not as bad as ketchup and American cheese on a bagel (which we had in Xi'an!) but close. 3) The front desk staff were very picky about accepting US dollars for exchange; they would only take pristine bills. Thankfully, the hotel had an ATM and we were able to withdraw money from our US account. Also, they did not understand that we wanted two adjoining rooms (i.e. connected with a door, not just next to each other), but since it was just for one night we just separated the family with one parent and one kid in each room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Forty minutes from airport.

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff.
Cons: Airport transport.
Location: Pandas
Great stay. Nice hotel and great service. Breakfast buffet is satisfactory. Beware of taxi fare... the forty+ minute trip should cost RMB 120 but drivers will demand more (RMB 200 - 300). We paid RMB 200 for 2 trips to the hotel and RMB 150 for 2 trips from the hotel to the airport. We like this hotel and the hotel staff.