Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Sophia

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
An older hotel, good friendly service but the windows didn't close very well without the right knack for closing. Comfortable bed.
3 out of 5
by Melissa from Atlanta, GA

Great Chengdu location

Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was average. We had a "deluxe" room but it was very small. The neighborhood was what made the hotel great - easy to walk anywhere - lots of nearby shopping, great restaurants, safe, friendly people. The breakfast buffet was also wonderful - its good quality Chinese food for breakfast, but there were Western options as well (eggs, toast, fruit)
4 out of 5
by Chris from California

Comfortable, great location for a 2-night stay

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
My family and I (five people) stayed at this hotel for two nights. Though we stayed in rooms that advertised King-sized beds, they were probably the size of Queen beds by North American standards. A roll-away bed costs an additional $30 per night. Rooms were quite spacious and relatively clean (maybe at the 3-star level in the U.S., but definitely far from the 5-star level). The staff spoke minimal English, but were quite friendly. I had little difficulty communicating with them, but that's probably because I have studied Mandarin for just over a year. The location of this hotel is great, with Leanna's (a Western cafe and restaurant) literally across the street from the hotel, and there were plenty of taxis (we saw probably 15-20 of them every minute) to catch when we had to leave for the airport in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Toronto, ON, Canada

Great stay

Posted May 1, 2013
Pros: location, courteous staff
Nice location with a lot of restaurants and shops nearby. Great value for money. Breakfast buffet was above expectation and a really nice touch on a great stay.
4 out of 5
by Phil W from Texas, USA

Southwest, Chengdu, Sichuan

Posted Mar 20, 2013 on Hotels
I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights to check out this city. Overall, the hotel is a good value. The room was clean and of a decent size. It is close to 'local' types of street markets and a few sightseeing spots. The breakfast is a good start to the day with a variety of veggies and other Chinese styled foods (I figure that I'm visiting China and want to have the local cuisine. I can always have home cooking when I go home). There is also a cafe, where I sat and had coffee and pastries one afternoon, just to take a break from sightseeing. I speak some putonghua so I did not have too much difficulties. The staff were helpful but there was no real travel assistance at the hotel. There was, however, a travel agent shop next to the hotel. Again, the beds in this country are beyond firm. What I have been doing is sleeping on pillows, making it a 'real pillow top' mattress. Aside from the hotel, I've noticed that there is a large population of Tibetans and others from small villages close and far. I'm not sure if that is a reason, but there seems to be lots of scammers here. Beware non licensed taxi drivers and over paying at convenience stores. You can bargain (it's actually expected) in the street markets. To get the most out of Chengdu, I would suggest going with a tour group.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2013 on Hotels
Nice hotel and very good location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Place

Posted Oct 31, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed for five days in the hotel. It was very convenient to the sights in Chengdu. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Several of the staff spoke very good Englsh and the non-English speaking members of the staff were very good about summoning one of the English speakers whenever necessary. The inclluded breakfast was fantastic. We highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted May 15, 2012
Pros: Bathroom is very clean.
Location: abit far from the airport but closed to the CBD
The room is very clean with comfortable bed, staffs were quite friendly and helpful. definitely value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Language problems

Posted Mar 4, 2012
Unless you speak Chinese, this hotel is not a good choice. Although the staff tried very hard to be helpful, many did not speak English and the ones who did had a very limited command of the language.
3 out of 5
by Xibing from 北京

老牌饭店,房间小点,也还OK!

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
一到前台check in就出了问题,酒店说没收到我的订单,又给hotels打电话 打了半个小时电话才解决!房间比较小,整洁度还OK