Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
While it may be an older 5 star hotel, the staff is first rate and friendly - I won't stay at any other place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surfers Paradise

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Wotif
One of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great location

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Location was great. Good breakfast. Will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to lots of places to eat. Easy walking

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Very busy city so this is a great place to stay close to everything but nice and quite. Great base to go and see the pandas
3 out of 5
by M Daniel from Doha

Not Up To Shangri-La Standard

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Windows filthy, breakfast buffet mediocre, room layout awkward (TV hard to see while in bed).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

We loved it.

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Staff upgraded us to a room w windows galore on high floor when our AC wasnt working. We were in Horizon club which was well worth it, excellent service and food. Nice breakfast, excellent coffee! Super cozy beds. We had guide and driver each day so cant comment much on location. We did spend one afternoon at nearby shopping pedestrian street, quite amazing, just 10 minutes by taxi. Staff lovely, service was great, all in all, a great stay.
5 out of 5
by Renaud from Geneva

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
My girlfriend and I stayed at the Shangri-la for three days to visit Chengdu. The hotel is in the center in walking distance from one of the big shopping areas in Chengdu and with easy access to the metro. There is a nice area to go out nearby along the river. Nice views over the city from the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2016
This is a lovely hotel, high-end, luxury with great facilities, comfortable beds and amazing bathrooms. Well placed for exploring Chengdu.
5 out of 5
by Ignacio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Excellent Services as Always

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Great services
Cons: There is not much to improve, but money talks at this kind of place. You show up with a bag of money, you get treated better.
Location: It is a business trip for a one day stay. Did not have the chance to explore.
Shangri-La has been my favorite hotel for years. Though each stay at this hotel gave me different experience. Mostly good, but not always. It all depends on who you run into during the stay. For this stay everything was good as usual except: 1. Hotel staff failed to recognize my Golden Circle Elite status upon check-in. This means I have to ask to get the benefits of frequent guests as promised by the hotel. 2. I got the smallest room this time. Probably due to the fact the room was a package including airfare from Expedia. The hotel can be unfriendly for budget travelers. I got better treatment if I book directly from the hotel web site. So, beware, the hotel possibly works against travel agency in order to maximize their revenue.