Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 香港

位置武侯區,

Posted Sep 23, 2016
位置武侯區, 非常方便, 酒店非常好, 服務很不錯 到達時間晚了, 但酒店更幫我們安排好了更舒適套房, 真的太好了
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

地理位置很棒!

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
房间很舒适,地理位置超级棒!有洗衣机和干衣机,简直可以常住!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
尊敬的客人,感谢您选择入住成都盛捷江畔服务公寓,非常高兴能够收到您的好评,公寓位于中心城区,位置便利,期待您的再次光临!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your high praise for our hotel. We will keep professional attitude and offer best service. I would like to thank you once again for sharing your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

The hotel is right next to the river...

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: To us, this is a bargain from our US standards.
Cons: The plumbing from our 32nd floor room. Just this room or the whole floor, I don't know.
First stay for 4 nights, and an overnight stay 5 days later. First time, we were upgraded to a room on the 32nd floor. Spectacular view of the city. But, the toilet was all plugged up from the plumbing. I did not even know how to explain this to the front desk staff. Because of that, we just had to make sure that the toilet seat's cover is down. All the time to cover the stanch. Other than that, the hotel ground level entry has a brand new juice bar. Nice high end coffee house and 7 Eleven and Subway right next door. I really appreciate the front desk staff to arrange a private car for us to go to the Pandas' Preservation. Getting there at around 830AM, half an hour before the official opening time. No lines to queue, get to leisurely walk around. When we left at 1130AM, the place was jammed packed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2016 by GRO, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We will focus on the checking of guestrooms and ensure a clean and comfortable environment for our guests. Your feedback has been shared with the relevant departments for further action. We hope to welcome you in the near future and feel the difference in our improved service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Great hotel! Great location! Very comfortable stay
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2016 by GRO, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to share your reviews. It is very encouraging for us to know that you were highly satisfied during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geelong, Australia.

Very clean and comfortable accommodation.

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Very clean and quiet, ... easy access to subway stations, etc.
Cons: Breakfast food was a little disappointing. The selection was limited and food that should be "hot" ...... was barely warm.
Location: Position was very good, ... easy to access and convenient with respect to subway stations, etc.
Staff were excellent in every aspect. Well greeted and assisted at arrival, ... everything was in place for a quick check-in. Room cleaning was spot on everyday, including laundry service. Very helpful at check-out, ... I left my bags at the hotel for the day as I had a late flight, and the staff were very helpful arranging transport to the airport in the evening even though I had already checked out of the hotel much earlier in the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2016 by GRO, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to share your reviews. We highly appreciate your constructive feedback and we will continue to improve our food and beverage selection to offer guests better breakfast experience. We will keep the most professional attitude and we look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A quick 3 nights stay. Front office staffs ...

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Very helpful. Called a private car for us to go to the Pendas Base Preservations. We went early b4 the crowd at 845AM. No lines. Such luxury to enjoy without all the noise commotions. They even offer breakfast to go, for folks who need to be on the move early. Love our room on the 32nd floor
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2016 by GRO, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your high praise for our hotel. We will keep professional attitude and offer best service.I would like to thank you once again for sharing your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, facility
Cons: we stayed on the 16th floor which was a bit noisy since the hotel is near a major road. they charged 32 Yuan for a broken glass which is a bit pricey.
Excellent hotel with very good facility, underground station nearby, 60 Yuan taxi ride to panda center, 15 yuan to major city sightseeing, we were traveling with a seven year and 2 year old, they really enjoyed the playroom and swimming pool, playroom is near breakfast bar, they can go off play after breakfast while we were enjoying a cup of coffee. after a day of sightseeing, we would use the swimming pool which was very quite. my boys spent some lovely time there. Front desk was very kind and helpful especially a young lady called Emily . breakfast was basic but sufficient and reasonable given the price they charge. overall, excellent hotel, we will be going back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2016 by GRO, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to share your reviews. It is very encouraging for us to know that you were highly satisfied during your stay with us. We are sincerely hope you were feeling at home during your stay.We look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big Room, Clean inside but not outside

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
The room is big. Kitchen, living room, bedroom and washroom. Many big mirrors making it feel extra spacious. The interior is clean. HOWEVER at arrival 2 windows were opened (both with window gauze shut). Both of them had 20+ insects flying between the window and the gauze. You really need to shut the windows to sleep because the traffic noise of the nearby busy roads. Hope the hotel will have more frequent insect control.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to share your reviews. It is very useful for us to know the inconvenient in our hotel service and facilities. We will work harder to offer the best facilities, especially the personalized service and provide more pleasant stay during your next stay. I would like to thank you once again for sharing your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Somerset Riverview Chengdu! it's our honour that we could receive your good reputation. looking forward to you.