Ratings based on 336 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great vacation stay near US consulate

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Two day, two night stay. Breakfast buffet was impressive, and complimentary. Staff were professional, were willing to give me flexible checkout options as I had a visa interview scheduled for the last day. The only off-putting things were the predatory rikshaw walahs lined up outside the gate, ready to surround you and overcharge (by an order of magnitude). My recommendation is to use the 'ola' app to hire autos or cars instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean hotel. Morning breakfast was superb.

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Only problem was average housekeeping service. Staff very courteous. Beds very comfortable. Shower was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hong kong

A poor choice for a 3 stars hotel in Chennai

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Chennai is not an easy city to navigate. It is dusty hot and traffic congested. Savera Hotel is in a busy main road and there are a motorway flyover just near the hotel. The air is dusty and the vista around is not attractive. The hotel itself is quite old, the recently renovated rooms are acceptable but the majority of the rooms are dated, in a state of disrepair. The lobby and the dining room will not look out of place in a 1970's movie, the choice of the breakfast buffet is limited. Most of the guests are local Indians, workers and people apply for US visa, as the US Embassy is just near by. It is away from any of the city's major sights, and good restaurants and shops are scarce. The security of the place is good, and there are plenty of taxis available to take you anywhere, but ensure you agreed on a price before taking the ride, as all the taxis drivers and auto rickshaws drivers do not use meters. Don't wave the taxis on the street and it is likely you will get ripped off. Use one of the taxis app like "Ola", it is easily downloaded vis wifi, and it is safe to use. There is a rooftop Indian restaurant but serves dinner only. It is expensive but the cold breeze and the open view makes this an enjoyable experience .But for US 55 per nights for a twin room, it is overpriced..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Location and the swimming pool.
Cons: Although they renovated the place, it's already deteriorating. Paint peeling. Do they ever clean the air-conditioning?
Location: Beach and Indian music within walking distance
Quite good except that we had just arrived and needed to do a lot on the internet but the connection was sporadic. Hotel said that it was because of the rains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trichy

CLOSE to many important place

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: xcellent food
Cons: service during rainy season can be improved
Location: can visit beach
It was nice experience and there is always room to improve , food was xcellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan, USA

Good hotel in the heart of the city

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Close to down town
Cons: Non smoking could be separated from the smoking rooms in the A/C system
Location: Close to city and US consulate. Lot of restaurants nearby
Good hotel close to US consulate and city down town. Breakfast buffet is pretty good with wide varieties. Hotel staff were courteous and their response is good. I stayed in the renovated room, which is good, not sure about the old ones.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Executive superior room = Executive room?

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
The reception was not that kind. The room I was given was different from the website description. I booked for executive superior room based on the picture shown on the website and did not pick normal "executive room." but when I opened the door of mine, I saw the bed and room feature I saw as "executive room," not "executive superior." Even worse,the bed as squeeking making noises everytime I seat on the bed or roll over. Considering the fact that I paid extra for the superior room, I asked for changing the room, but they said THAT room WAS executvie superior.. I gave in and demanded to change to other room with proper bed consdition. Fortunately, the bed in new "executive room" did not make any noise, but I convinced myself that I should not be fooled by online booking on this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Mysore

It has been a very good stay at the hotel.

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: Location and facilities.
Cons: Room service.
Location: Excellent location.
Nice. Had a pleasant stay at the hotel. Good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Christophe from France

bonne hôtel

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Séjour agréable.Bonne hôtel dans l'ensemble. Le petit déjeuner buffet est décevant et mériterait plus de choix de plats continentaux avec du bacon ou du fromage. Il y a beaucoup de plats indiens pour presque aucun plat continental. Il y a une salle de sport très bien équipée avec des coach. Ce n'est pas mon premier séjour à Savera et j'y retournerai très certainement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Britt Maria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels