Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Splendid stay

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Clean and spacious room. Family room is like a house. Very friendly staff and good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location and for everything

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Very relaxing atmosphere with friendly staff. Clean and spacious hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kobe

Totally Worth it

Posted Aug 25, 2016
I liked every bit of my stay. The rooms are grand sized. Quite big for 2 people. The property is 160 year old and the South Indian charms are oozing every bit out of the amazing staff who make your stay so wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Didier from Pondichery

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Arrive tres tardivement et répartis en fin de matinée, je n ai pas eu le temps de tester toutes les installations mais le petit déjeuner était copieux et parfait
5 out of 5
by UDYEN from INDIA

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent stay and food
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Service, Good Food, Nice Location

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent Service. Excellent Food. But the rooms were pretty old and not spacious.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Très bon hôtel mais pas le restaurant

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
Bel hôtel mais un peu défraichi. Piscine magnifique et chambres très agréables. Le restaurant Raintree est très cher, service et repas très moyens.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nanjing China

Ideally located

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Buffet breakfast
Cons: Better front lobby
Location: City Center with good malls
Staff friendly and helpful. Room service was good.
5 out of 5
by Dev from UK

I stay in this hotel every time I visit Chennai!

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Ebookers
This hotel combines classic elegance of bygone days with modern facilities. This hotel is quite unique. It has character unlike more modern hotels which all look and feel the same.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Colonial gem about to get much needed facelift

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Location: Great location near Anna Salai (Mount Road). Shopping malls round the corner - Express and Spencers craft shops like Poompuhar and VTI.
We always stay at the Vivanta by Taj Connemara and enjoy its colonial tranquility in the midst of the hustle and bustle of Chennai. It has a great location and is a lovely hotel but very much in need of upgrading. This is about to happen - it is closing shortly for 18 months to get a complete overhaul. We had a lovely stay having been upgraded to one of the top suites. The staff everywhere were lovely - pleasant, helpful and attentive but never intrusive. The food was fantastic with great variety both in the restaurants and from room service. Room service did an excellent job. Can't wait to return when the refurbishment is complete!