Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointment & Inconvenience

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Well located for visiting Chateau de Chenonceau.
We had stayed at this hotel ten years before under different ownership. By coincidence, we had the same room. There had been some changes but not in good taste. The toilet was out of order for the first 24 hours. The new lavatory was wide but ridiculously shallow with no overhead light. No towel racks or hooks. Miniature chairs in the bedroom. In my opinion, the new owner is not suited to being an inn-keeper. All the parking was situated in the back of the property with the only access down a side drive and through a car port. The owner decided the dig a huge hole in the carport floor one morning which precluded our party from using our car for half the day. On the day we checked out we set our car on the driveway while we loaded the luggage. The owner drove up and parked behind our car, boxing us in, and disappeared into the hotel. Time was of the essence for us but we had to spend much time tracking the owner to get him to remove his car. No apologies. We can no longer recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty and comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great room, very comfortable hotel. Breakfast was delicious - excellent croissants! Wi-fi in the room was mostly non functional, but worked well in the lobby. We were surprised by the policy of no food in the room - difficult for us because traveling with a little one meant we sometimes can't get out to eat dinner. We had dinner one night in the hotel and both food and service were very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Our favorite hotel on our trip.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Everything was exceptional food, facilities, room ,location, and hosts.
Cons: It could not have been better.
Location: The location is nearby to many Chateau in the Loire. Probably the most beautiful and historic chateau Chenonceau is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
The La Roseraie was our favorite hotel on our recent trip to the Loire Valley. We felt very welcome by the wonderful owners and staff at this great hotel. The owners and staff speak impeccable English. They are both welcoming and helpful. Each day we were there we simply told them where we were going and the owner pulled out an information sheet about our destination showed us how to get there and even where to park. Our room had a nice size balcony above the restaurant we were able to sit out there every evening and unwind after a great day of touring. Chateau Chenonceau is only a 5 min walk from the hotel. The breakfast each morning is an exceptional value and the food is delicious. The restaurant serves meals in the evening too and they are absolutely delicious as well. If you are planning to go to the Loire and visit the chateau this is an excellent place to make your home base. Stay in this nice village of Chenonceaux and get a real French experience. Forget the big cities like Amboise and Tours. Stay here. I know the next time we go we will stay most of our trip at La Roseraie
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salisbury UK

Second time round

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Second visit this year as a stop off on journey south. Ideal for purpose. Dog friendly but this time felt the evening meal not quite up to standard of May visit. However compensated by a much improved breakfast arrangement and actual breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Russell from Birmingham

We'd Return

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely hotel with great staff. Great location, especially for visiting the chateau. Downside - no lift or Internet. Super outdoor pool. We'd recommend and stay there again if in the area.
5 out of 5
by Lynn R. from Longboat Key

A Wonderful Hotel!

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
It was absolutely fabulous. Very friendly staff who put us in an upgraded room since we were staying for three nights. The meals were fantastic and we took EVERY meal at the hotel. The setting was very beautiful and full of roses. If you want to see the chateau, this is the place to stay since you can walk a short distance through an authentic ville to it. Loved it!
5 out of 5
by Patricia

A perfect place to stay

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
We had visited Chatteau Chambord in the morning and then drove to Chenonceaux in the late afternoon. This hotel was very easy to find and park at. You can then easily walk to the Chatteau in 5 minutes. It even has a pool that was very clean. The staff was super friendly to these non French speaking visitors.
4 out of 5
by andy from Stratford Upon Avon

A good over night stay

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
A good overnight stop. A little dated but comfortable with a lovely small pool which was well received in a hot day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A nice old hotel in the country

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is close to the castle, and very quaint--exactly what you might expect in the French countryside. The WiFi didn't quite reach to our room, unfortunately, which made sense in a way because the room looked like it was straight out of the mid-1940s (which was refreshing in a way). Still, reality: there were a lot of mosquitoes in the garden angling to get into the room, as well as landscapers in the morning using power trimmers who could have cared less about getting dirt in the eyes of passing guests. As with many things in France, the restaurant was also closed by the time we arrived just before 9:00 P.M. (when reception also closes).