Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Historic and golf!

Posted Sep 14, 2016
The location was historic - complete with an old chapel and cemetery between the hotel and the golf course. Rooms were comfortable, on-site food was great, and golf was excellent! The friendly staff rounded out a fine stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant country hall location

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Was as expected. location - quiet.
Cons: maybe some of the bedroom decor could be updated but not immediately essential
Not the most up-to-date decor but a good atmosphere and the staff were all very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with excellent facilities

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Lovely setting. Facilities are very good and the golf was excellent
Cons: More space needed in the breakfast dining room. Reception staff need to be more customer foccused. It's about those first impressions.
Location: Great location good motorway access. Chepstow is a bustling market town with nice individual shops.
Enjoyable stay. Reception staff however not very engaging which was a shame as this is your first impression. Reception staff encouraged us to eat off site in the evening which was strange. Staff involved in running the golf courses were much more helpful and professional. At breakfast the staff in dining room cleared are table whilst we were getting our next course. They apologised and quickly relayed it. Dining room appeared small for the amount of people trying to eat at breakfast time. Food though was very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Room service
Cons: Overall staff management and food variety at breakfast.
We stayed just for one night. Room was fine but corridors to rooms were quite shabby - considering the high standards in the main building. Breakfast was a shambles. The staff didn't appear to have any direction at all. The cooked buffet was fine but there was a distinct lack of variety for cold food. I.e. Only white bread for toast and a very limited selection of fruit. Room service staff and food were excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke

Pleasant stay but could be better

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: The grounds and the staff.
Cons: Some rooms need a little care, starting to look a little shabby in places.
Location: There are some nice local restaurants and the nearby Wye Valley area is stunning for walks and cycling.
Overall this is a nice hotel, if a little over priced. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The room was nice and our view of the golf course was great. There have been previous comments about hot rooms, we off set this by keeping our window open most of the time, otherwise it would have been really uncomfortable. Breakfast was very good. One minor point, the bathroom was clean however there was a brown stain on the shower curtain and the sink area and mirror could have been better maintained, looked like it could have done with a lick of paint. Not something I expect from a luxury hotel. All rooms should be maintained to a high standard. We didn't dine at the hotel opting for local restaurants, which were great. Some lovely walks around the grounds after the golf had finished, which was the real highlight of the place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Hotel in herrlicher Lage. Anschlagzeiten rechtzeitig reservieren.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Poole, Dorset

Comfortable facilities though high priced

Posted Aug 4, 2016
A very comfortable stay, quiet and very clean room. However it was not what we had expected, the room was not air-conditioned as we had been told when I called in advance of booking to verify this. "Ryan" at the hotel assured me that ALL the bedrooms were air conditioned. That was NOT true - only a small fan was available to use in the room! Had I known the truth before I would have booked elsewhere. Disgraceful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Excellent accommodation

Posted Jul 30, 2016
We had three rooms for a family holiday. Excellent staff, service and accommodation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting. Lovely staff. Relaxing stay.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Had a relaxing visit catching up with a friend. Stunning setting. Almost made me want to learn to play golf. Had a lovely meal in the Zest bar; although only 2 cheeses in the cheese selection.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
first time I've ever complained about food in a restaurant, and i had the worst night sleep for a long time due to tired building without soundproofing or ventilation.