Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice and extremely cheap hotel.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
A little out of the way, but good staff, large rooms, hearty breakfast. Very Soviet in its design. Recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine Hotel, Two Quiet Blocks Off Main Boulevard

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Apelsin Hotel is a fine hotel, two quiet blocks off Shevchenka Blvd., the main street with ATB supermarket, many different banks' ATMs, restaurants, Palace of Culture, and a minor bus station. Main bus station and railroad station require taxi to get to hotel, but about 40 UAH ($1 is 26 UAH) fare. Most front-desk clerks at the hotel speak English. The room was very nice, clean, with great bed and bathroom (shower cabinet did not leak). Free breakfast, all you can eat, wide choices. I ate 3 dinners there (20% discount for hotel guests), and the cooking was all right (good 2 nights, fair 1 night) with good service. When I left Cherkassy, my bus was at 10:30 PM, and the hotel staff let me wait from noon (check-out) until 9:30 PM in the lobby, plugging in my laptop -- typical nice treatment. I ate dinner in their restaurant again. Then the front desk lady called a taxi for me, to the bus station. I recommend this hotel, and I would be pleased to stay there again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

suitable hotel for stay in Cherkassy

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
large room, comfortable, friendly and English speaking hotel staff (not standard everywhere in central Ukraine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashdod Israel

Clean hotel

Posted May 17, 2016 on Orbitz
The best hotel in Charkasy. A simple but clean room. Very quiet.
5 out of 5
by lingleis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location in Cherkasy

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Pros: The room I rented was fairly large and so was the bathroom. So these features along with the location of the hotel are probably its best.
Cons: I had problems with laundry. English communication needs to improve.
The hotel is centrally located in Cherkassy which is probably the best feature. However, there are two things you should note: There are six floors in the hotel and the elevator only goes until the fifth floor. You will have to take stairs to the sixth floor. It is ok if you have help carrying your luggage or you do not have big pieces but if not, this will be an inconvenience. As in other smaller hotels in Ukraine, the elevators here are tiny. So be ready for that. I saw several stains on the carpets - so cleanliness is not its forte though the bedsheets on the bed were clean. I saw a cockroach in the bathroom too.. hopefully they did not immigrate to my home country.
5 out of 5
by Leslie from Honolulu, Hawaii

Great Value for the Money

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed 3 nights. They gave me room 517, whose windows faced south, so it got the morning sun and burned hot on the glass throughout the day. I had to run the air conditioner to make it tolerable to stay in the room in the day. Maybe I should have complained after I discovered this (the next day after check-in), so I could be moved to a room across the hall, facing north! // The room had a queen-sized bed with a wide-enough, but not-long-enough blanket. It was too short to cover my feet and my body to the shoulders or neck. / Desk has no free electric plug nearby. I had to move and unplug the TV, use its cabinet for my laptop, and use the TV's electric plug. / Maid service was really good. They did the room while I was out. / Bathroom has tiny, slippery hooks to hold towels. No towel bars, and very little space to hold clothes or personal-care items. / Breakfast included in room rate. Saturday, great. Sunday, like Saturday's leftovers. Hotel restaurant for dinner was fine cooking and service. / Front-desk clerks spoke English, gave directions, and called an honest taxi when I departed. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Fl

Upgrade to the suite!

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: It was clean and close to center
Cons: Breakfast isn't what you would call USA friendly. It is normal Ukrainian cuisine. Well stocked if you are used to this type of food.
Location: IT is close to city center and all restaurants...They have one onsite and another behind plus a bar.
When I arrived the staff spoke English, Hotel is close to everything in city center! Upgrading to the suite was well worth it. I can not say about the regular rooms but my room was wonderful for Ukraine, and the hot tub was refreshing after a long day of walking and touring the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

passing thru

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: staff friendliness
Cons: small bed, very uncomfortable. Matress too thin. Old furniture. breakfast very unappetizing
Location: of center town, not safe neighborhood
Not very nice hotel, But staff was excellent. Enjoyed their company
4 out of 5
by mahboob from atlanta,USA

Good

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
Nice,would def. stay again,very friendly and helpful staff