Ratings based on 1,103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 18, 2016
All was good. Good location to ride RR. x x x
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Very nice!

Posted Oct 16, 2016
We only stayed one night, but it was very nice! The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The air worked great! I would definitely stay again. The breakfast buffet was awesome!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta


Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Staff and breakfast.
Cons: Complete renovation.
Location: Not walking distance, but close to the casino which is why I was there.
The outside, lobby and dining room of the hotel were fine. The room was dingy, there were a couple of insects, the carpet was dirty and the mattresses were not very comfortable. The walls were very thin, and the linen carts during morning cleanup were very loud.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The restaurant was good breakfast very good but why no bacon?
Cons: Fix the elevator
Location: Lovely location we went to the Cherokee museum very informative
I booked this hotel more than 7 months in advance. Arriving early to the hotel I was told we could not have a ground floor room as they were fully booked. The car park at this point was almost empty so other guests had not arrived so we should have had the choice of room.Normally this would not have mattered as usually there is an elevator. As there was not it meant climbing outside stairs to the room which were quite steep, as I have some mobility issues I found it difficult and as we are in our seventies I was worried about my husband making several trips up and down to bring our luggage up.I think we should have been made aware of t,his. The receptionist was not at all helpful telling me that they were fully booked so how did the other guests get priority for the rooms on the ground floor?.apart from this we enjoyed our stay breakfast very good. Just remembered that at some point they had an elevator which was closed off so why can't this be fixed and put back into working order.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hickory, NC

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The lobby was beautiful and the staff was really pleasant. The rooms were clean, just wish the bed was a little more comfortable. It was too soft.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blluffton, SC

Suited my Needs

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: no elevators. lots of parking.
Cons: little more variety with the breakfast. Example, fruit.
Location: Casino and shopping
Friendly staff; location ok; room clean. Free breakfast. Would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Not up to par.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Good location.
Cons: They could fix outlet and make sure housekeeping cleans all rooms. Breakfast needs to have more choices.
Location: Lots to do in Cherokee.
Room was shabby and smelled musty. Outlet for lamp did not work and plug would not stay in. Plug to clock fell out during night as well. Staff forgot to clean our room. When we called for clean towels, they were not delivered. I had to go to desk and pick them up. Breakfast was biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs and sausage. No choice of yogurt or cereal. Staff were polite but not very responsive to our complaints.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stuart, FL

Good hotel.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Overall the hotel was good. Staff was friendly. Appearance was great. The hillside location was not the most convenient. Had to walk up two flights of stairs to get from office to room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Stayed at this hotel several times. Breakfast is good and hotel staff are always friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Road trip through mountains

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Wifi could be better
Location: Located perfectly for exploring Cherokee and mountains
We based our mountain road trip at the Chestnut Tree. The hotel check-in was easy and the breakfast was satisfactory. We spent our days in the Smokey Mountains, Gatlinburg, TN, and the Blue Ridge Parkway. We arrived late at night, took showers, and went to bed. We rose early the next morning, had breakfast and went out for the day. The hotel was adequate for our needs. The wifi is spotty so if you need to work, this is not the place to be. If you need to shower, sleep and explore, you cannot beat the price. If you are looking for a resort with lots of amenities, this is not the place to stay.