Ratings based on 1,238 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pre-digitalf

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Staff and breakfast. The room was clean.
Cons: Install microwaves and electrical outlets
There were no luggage carts on the top floor and the external walkways were very long. Electrical outlets were insufficient, we had to play musical chargers for our phones and iPads. The room had no microwave ovens.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Diane, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, the property will begin renovations in Nov. hopefully some of these issues will be resolved. We apologize for the luggage cart....that should not be the case and I will investigate. Thanks again hope you will return
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia charged more then the regular rate!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Needs up grades.
First of all, when I checked in I noticed on my receipt the price of this hotel for my one Saturday night stay was less then what Expedia charged me. Regarding the hotel: Pros: Nice guy at front desk. Wonderful Hot breakfast is free and wait staff was very nice. The beds were very comfortable and sheets were clean. Cons: Hotel needs up grades. No towels when we got to our room so we had to call for them at 11:30 at night. Door lock needed fidgeting to make it work. When I moved the night stand to plug in my phone charger, it looked like it hadn't been vacuumed back there for years. Sink and facets very old and loose. Carpet was very grimy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Diane, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, renovations begin in Nov. of this year, we hope you will return and try us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Everything great...but did request early check in... but 3pm was earilest...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by diane, Hotel Management
thank you eddie for taking time to review our property.....as with any check in the availability of clean rooms determines if we can check in early. Sorry if you were inconvenienced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hickory, NC

Fantastic Staff With Customer Service Priorities

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, easy parking, beautiful scenery.
Cons: The carpet in my room was threadbare.
Location: Home to the strong Cherokee Nation, there were many cultural events happening as well as secular events such as Harrah's Casino. Beautiful scenery!
Most of my opinion and subsequent loyalty to a business is determined by the human interactions I experience while there. Despite an extremely busy event and guests checking in, I noticed all employees remained graceful under pressure, as well as friendly and professional. I was impressed. When I return to Cherokee, NC, I will certainly look to the Chestnut Tree Inn for vacancies first.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by diane, Hotel Management
thank you so very much Duane, we appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Expedia/ Chestnut tree inn

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: 0
Cons: remodel
Location: 0
Expedia led me to believe this was the last room available for the evening before the eclipse which we waited for months to see. Upon arrival at the chestnut tree the front of the motel looked like it was shut down for business. Upon entering the lobby the smell of moldiness hit you in the face. This was a very old establishment. I was very unhappy and dropped my stuff in the room and left to look around and found there were other much newer and nicer rooms available in Cherokee for less money than Expedia negotiated this for me which you know the price was raised to take advantage of the event happening.. Finding out there were nice rooms available and this place was way overcharged i went back and asked for a refund. I was told to deal with Expedia., They did not do much to try and get my refund. never use them again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Diane, Hotel Management
So your giving us a 1 out of 5 because you are upset with Expedia.....I am sorry I don't understand. The lobby does not smell of mold, yes we are an old establishment we have been in business since 1972 and we sure didn't get here by bad business practices. Have a nice day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thomasville, NC

Eclipse Viewing in Cherokee, NC

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: The lobby area had an Indian theme as you'd expect in Cherokee country. It also had a log cabin decor perfect for the mountains.
Cons: Our room could hold 4 people. Breakfast shouldn't be advertised a limit of 2, but rather for the number of guests. But we didn't pay for our 3rd.
Location: Harrah's is just a few miles down the road and all things Cherokee. We briefly stopped at Bryson City, but continued to Fontana Dam for the Eclipse.
My wife found this room at the last minute for the Total Solar Eclipse. Cherokee and the surrounding area was in the path of totality. I stayed with a friend and my daughter in a double room. Check in took only a few minutes and the staff was very pleasant. The room was small, but that was expected. A typical motel-style room that you enter from the outside. The facility has an outdoor swimming pool that we took advantage of. The pool was adequately stocked with towels and it was not crowded. The pool was very clean. The room was only stocked with one bath towel which was easily rectified by a quick visit to the front-desk, again the staff member on duty was very pleasant. We slept and woke up bright and early. We took advantage of the free breakfast...I was a little concerned that the sign said only two free breakfasts per room, but all three of us ate for free. Breakfast was a buffet style consisting of the usual fare of eggs, pancakes and sausage but also had a few southern items like biscuit and gravy and grits. Our stay was short. We checkout fairly early with only a few minute wait exchanging a few pleasantries with the clerk and we were off to our destination to view the eclipse.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Diane, Hotel Management
Thank you Andrew, for taking time to review, we hope you will return. We appreciate your honesty
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eclipsed

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: location- it was close to the eclipse
Cons: need fridge in room
Location: i don't think i have ever seen so many tourist souvenir shops selling the same or similar items.
The hotel and the room were ok. It would of been an ok average hotel except because of the eclipse they were charging exorbitant rates- at these new rates, the quality of the hotel, room etc...was no longer commensurate with the price we paid. So if you are being charged normal non-gouging rates, this hotel is adequate, clean comfortable, and i would stay there again. But at the rates we paid- i would definitely expect a lot more. The young breakfast wait staff in the morning was particularly nice and very upbeat- she is a real asset to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by diane, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you would stay again. I think your encounter in the dining room was with Keona and YES what a gem! We were in a real catch 22 with the eclipse....staying competitive with the other area hotels.....had we not ....they would have accused us of under-cutting.....so what do you do? We were lower than many area hotels in the same general range as us. Renovations begin in Nov 2017
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice facility, great breakfast

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Nice hotel, room was spacious, bed was very comfortable. Little mold on one wall but not smelly. Great place for hot breakfast (included with room, $7.95 otherwise).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Diane, Hotel Management
Thank you David for your feedback. Sorry about any mold....we will definitely get that taken care of. We will begin renovations this fall....hope you will return to see our fresh new look next summer!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cherokee, NC

HORRIBLE!!!

Posted Jun 21, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Put accurate pictures on the internet for people to see how this place really is. I'm sure back years ago this place was nice and clean but not now.
Location: The casino is the ruination of that town it is no longer about the Cherokee Indians and how things used to be.
This place was disgusting! The pictures are not accurate! The floors were greasy feeling when walking on them. Cleaning staff did not leave any toilet paper or any towels for bathing and also there is not a mini fridge or microwave in room. The table and chairs had dust all over them and also they were very stingy with their pillows. Furthermore, the "free" breakfast was ok but if you wanted milk or juice you will be charged for it. Overall this place was a complete disappointment for how much they are charging. I will never stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Diane, Hotel Management
We are sorry your experience was not what you hoping for.....the pictures on the internet are pictures of our property. It sounds like you took exception with the entire reservation not just our property. We do not advertize that we have a fridge and microwave in each room. If you were not left towels or other necessary items that is NOT acceptable and I am sorry you encountered this. I will always defend our free breakfast it is a traditional Southern full HOT breakfast, not everyone's taste but certainly one of our strong amenities.
5 out of 5
by John

Best deal in Cherokee, NC

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed at the Chestnut Tree Inn four times now, and each and every time we have enjoyed our stay. The staff is most accommodating and friendly. In our opinion, Chestnut Tree Inn is the best property for the money in Cherokee. It is not posh or luxurious, but it is clean and quiet. The breakfast is yummy and filling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by kellie, Hotel Management
Thank you John for your feedback....I was reading several not so friendly reviews this morning....so THANK YOU for some feedback that truly represents who we are!