Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Unexpected Treasure

Posted May 3, 2017
Location: Gem Mine, and Paul's restaurant located across the street. Short distance from shops, museum & Unto These Hills.
If you are wanting a modern hotel chain, this is not for you. If you are wanting a peaceful, relaxing stay by the river this is definitely for you. The staff at River's Edge could not be any friendlier. It's the kind of place that reminds you of roadside motels in days gone by. The room was extremely clean, the private balcony overlooking the river is amazing. There is a campground across the river, but honestly, it's not a big deal. The motel is within walking distance to Paul's restaurant (another Cherokee gem). It is true that the office closes at night, and the ice machine is not available. A non-issue considering the value and peace you have during your stay. The only reason I could think of not leaving a great review, would be so that I know a room would always be available when we go back to Cherokee. Seriously, this is where I will always want to stay when we are in the area. I hope it stays just the way it is for a long time to come!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was great. Would stay here again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful gem

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful to wake up to a cool, crisp, fall morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bama

Great view

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Off the main strip, so it is quite. But still some nice restaurants, shops and museums within walking distance.
Hotel was nice, and right on the river. As stated in other reviews parking is real tight, and I have a big truck. Only downside was lobby closed (ice machine, and manager) at 8 pm and was not open when we had come back from breakfast and wanted to check out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chico, California

There are better places to stay in Cherokee

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: It was clean and the staff was nice and helpful. I have nothing more to say about this topic.
Cons: The room is worn and the whole place is sort of rundown. It's right on the road so you hear trucks at night. There are quite a few newer hotels that I would stay at instead.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable & clean, but small

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms, beds and bath are all fairly small. Each has two full size beds (smaller than a queen by 6"). Every room also has a private balcony that overlooks the river. Our room was clean and comfortable but the AC did put off a funky smell. Opening the balcony door for some fresh air did the trick. The caretaker was very friendly and accommodating. The area is quiet and very close to The GSMNP. The only complaint I have about the area is that dining choices are limited especially after 4pm. Lots of meat and potatoes, but hard to find much for the vegetarian other than a basic salad.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Lovely view, peaceful stay

Posted Oct 20, 2016
The location is so peaceful, right on the river. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. Beds are so comfortable. The balconies overlooking the river are spacious and comfortable. This was our second of many more future stays.