Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Holiday get away

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Beautiful room, to bad we missed our dogs and traveled home instead of staying the night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Runaway Heat

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Location on the river
Cons: Add a snack Bar
Location: Nothing to do near by, restaurant prices are very high for what you get. Food is good but overprices. No options near.
78 deg in the room. It took a call to Maint to shut the system down
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Botched 35th anniversary weekend

Posted Oct 14, 2014
We made a reservation to be on the 2nd or 3rd floor with a water view. When we checked in they gave us a room in an out building on the ground floor.... The room was very moldy, so we had to return to DC. Drove 240 miles round trip that day... They blamed the issue on expedia, but details were on my confirmation.....they just double Booked the room and gave it to someone else.... Never again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Lovely resort and spa on the water.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: It's comfortable, relaxing and in a beautiful setting.
Cons: The five seat bar is too small. It would benefit from repurposing some space to have a "real" bar.
Location: Many water activities. Some shopping nearby. Dining: Hope & Glory, Nate's Trick Dog, Merrior.
We've stayed at The Tides previously and always enjoy our visits. It's a beautiful property with many activities. Great place to get away and relax. Be prepared for uneven service. On the one hand, the bellman wouldn't allow me to hang up a single thing when he escorted us to the room but on the other the young man working in the booth at the pool area was reluctant to assist us in finding lounge chairs and providing towels, he told us: "we're not like that here." The "cove cruise" was a real treat, Captain Bill did a great job of providing a spin around Carter's Creek. I called to make dinner reservations one night and was told they were booked for that evening, but when my husband and I went in to see if we could eat at the bar the casual side of the restaurant was only half full for the entire time we were there. I can only speculate that the person I spoke made the assumption that we wanted to be seated in the formal side of the dining room but rather than assisting me, she simply transferred me to the conceirge where my call went to voice mail. Disappointing that the person who answered the phone initially didn't try to help me. On the good side of service, the phone in our room didn't work but engineering fixed in short order and similarly when we reported a shaky railing on our balcony, it was repaired that afternoon. To be fair, part of our stay fell over a busy holiday weekend and the staff was stretched.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vienna va

Needs update

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Free bikes and kayaks Great dinner
Rooms were very dark, paid extra for rooms with a water view but view was blocked by trees. Noisy air condition units outside rooms,had to deal with noise even though we were not using AC. Broken balcony rail. Not a bad place if you get a room with a good view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Family
Cons: NA
Hotel was excellent, although we used Expedia and NEVER again as it is advertised as saving money; NO WAY and it was actually a hassle as the Expedia rep told us when we made reservations that EVERYTHING was included ; taxes everything! WRONG!!!! I would have been better off going through hotel, much less hassle and at least the hotel information was correct and they were upfront, not so with Expedia!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorktown, VA

A relaxing place to snuggle up together

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: We really like the friendly but not overbearing service, as well as the live entertainment.
Location: A short walk to some unique shopping, and other yummy restaurants.
This little getaway spot has it all. Fun for couples and families.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the Hotel We Expected

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Spa and personnel.
Cons: 1. Schedule the oil change for the van so that the guests are not effected. Be flexible with availability times when maintenance is required.
Location: Steamship museum closed. Oyster and Dog Vinyard was the highlight, well worth a visit - and on the way to this hotel.
While there are lots of good stories about this hotel, our visit found the hotel was not what we expected. First, van used to take guests to town was getting an oil change and the hotel would not deviate their travel schedule so by the time the bus was ready, we could stay in town one hour. Second, Spa told us about a saltwater pool, she said it was nice and quieter. The Marina manager said that was for Marina guests only, not hotel guests, then he said there was no way to get there now anyway. Third, the a/c system made a racket and kept the room very cold. Overall, the hotel was not what we expected. While the manager tried to tell me why certain things were not available,the staff was very firm in certain things not available and there was nothing that could be done. Very inflexible hotel, won't be back. The spa was nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was nice.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: It was quaint.
Cons: The bathroom needs to be caulked. Towel rack and toilet rack both feel off the wall.
Location: There wasn't much to see. Very quiet. Nice farmer's market on Saturday.
Was disappointed about the extra charges. They keep saying this and that were free use them, but everyday you stayed they added about a $30 extra charge on top of your hotel room. That's not free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dale from Arlington, VA

Beautiful bay-view suite

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: We were upgraded to a bay-view suite from our Expedia reservation; everything in the room was beautifully chosen and decorated. Very friendly staff
Cons: Only small complaint was that our bathroom floor was very slick, almost dangerously so.
Location: Enjoyed a 20-mile bike ride out to Windmill Point arena at the valet's recommendation. Otherwise it's a place to kick back and relax.
Just spent one night there on a weekend getaway from DC. Arrived late afternoon.