Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockport

Good value short break

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Very pleasant wedding and conference venue in the country, but when not hosting one of those also a quiet and good value short break hotel, close to Amersham. Pleasant gym and pool with sauna. Self service coffee-and-muffin stop by reception if you want to avoid the time, calories or cost of a full English.
4 out of 5
by Jane

So much better than i was expecting

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
After reading reviews online i wondered if i'd made a mistake by booking at this hotel. I checked in really late but was met by friendly staff, my room was clean and comfortable with lovely views and when i checked out the young lady could not have been more professional, polite or better presented. I stay again without a doubt.
5 out of 5
by David

Godd hotel with lots of potential

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Little confusing on the sat nav and general signage on the way in. Also not exactly clear where you park in relation to reception. However, the hotel and grounds were very impressive. The bar food was a tad basic but suffice. I would stay again
4 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in the annex. This could be an issue if you have mobility issues or a heavy bag. We were on the upper floor and had to climb the spiral staircase (see hotel website photo). The corridor is rather narrow and slightly claustrophobic. The seating area on the landing and ground floor is a good idea. I found the rooms rather dim even with all available lighting turned on. The room is comfortable and cleanliness was excellent. The bar downstairs is very convenient. Breakfast was good and staff were both efficient and pleasant.
5 out of 5
by Anita

great break to get away from it all

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
friendly staff, evening meal was very good and we asked for some alterations to the menu, which was no problem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BISHOPS STORTFORD

DEVERE LATIMER

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: ROOM WAS A BIT DATED
Location: BEAUTIFUL LOCATION IN A VERY RURAL SETTING GOOD WALKING BASE AND PUBS NOT FAR AWAY IN SOME WONDERFULL VILLAGES
WONDERFUL AREA TO STAY IN GOOD FACILITIES AT HOTEL STAFF WERE EXTREMELY POLITE AND HELPFULL ROOM WAS VERY SMALL AND COULD HAVE BEEN A BIT LESS DUSTY ALSO LACK OF BOTTLED WATER
3 out of 5
by Richard

Meh

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Pros: Nice area Clean rooms easy parking Cons: (I only put negative feedback as when you work hard for your money you want to spend it well) Inflexible attitude. It was very quiet and we wanted to eat in the restaurant as we work nights in hosptial during the week so we were super tired. The bar menu had what we wanted but the staff were unwilling to serve us that food in the restaurant as it was the same kitchen but two serving stations (the bar and restaurant are literally 5m apart) so we would have had to go eat our starters in the restaurant then go to the bar and eat our mains and then go back to the restaurant to have our dessert. Instead we went to the Bedford Arms 1m away where the food was fantastic. Just a poor decision by the restaurant manager on that one. Then the corridor outside the rooms was very noisy in the night (not hotels fault, just bad luck) There's lots of choices and when you work hard and just want an easy stay we were let down. You may have a different experience and they seemed to accommodate groups very well. I dont think I will stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

De Vere Latimer review

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Good location for Harry Potter world, but the venue is clearly designed for conferences. But if an atmosphere vacuum I the bar and restaurant